We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely country hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
161 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lovely country hotel”
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Just back from a night at this hotel with my mum, a birthday surprise. We had a very friendly welcome on arrival and felt relaxed and at home straight away. Elegant but really comfortable hotel. Log fire with comfy armchairs just perfect for sitting with a pot of coffee and some magazines.The twin room was fine, tea and coffee making facilities with a fridge on the landing with fresh milk which makes a nice change from the usual, awful long life stuff. Also bottles of water were provided. Very quiet at night, the room was quite warm so we had to sleep with the windows open but it wasnt a problem. The staff are really friendly without being intrusive. We were meeting family in the village pub so didn't eat evening meal at the hotel but I would imagine it would be very nice. A great place for getting away from busy lives as all you can do is relax and go for walks etc. There are no shops or cafés that we found but an adequate pub with a limited menu, again very friendly. All in all a very pleasant stay. Give it a go!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allenshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
So pleased you enjoyed and so many thanks for your lovely words. Next time you visit, perhaps we can tempt you to a table in our lovely restaurant, complete with log fire?

Very best wishes

John & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    157
    37
    22
    20
See reviews for
72
331
34
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Dined here on Christmas Eve. We were told at the time of booking, that it would be a five course set meal, but we didn't request details, preferring to find out what was on offer on the night.

On arrival we were warmly greeted (which I have found to be unfailingly the case when visiting this establishment). Our coats were taken and drinks ordered. We opted to sit by the log fire in the lounge and enjoy our canapés, before going to our table.

The starter was a trio of salmon - gravadlax, smoked salmon and poached salmon, with a small salad. This was delicious - the gravadlax being particularly good. To follow was a lamb dish - very tasty, but sooo much of it!! We were pleased it wasn't turkey. Dessert was a creme brulee - very good and not over sweetened, just creamy and unctious.

Finally, there was coffee/tea and mince pies, which we opted to have in the bar. By the this point, there was only another small party of guests still in evidence, seated in the lounge, so it was almost like having the place to ourselves.

Was really very impressed with this meal - the best we have had here I think. The service is unfailingly good and the welcome is always warm and friendly. I'm sure we will be returning again soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orchid4841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarthingsHotel, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Thank you - so pleased you enjoyed and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back sometime soon.

Happy New Year

John & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We booked the hotel at short notice. The receptionist checked us in efficiently into the Oak Room. This was well furnished, apart from the sofa, and reasonably spacious with an ensuite shower room. The room was a bit run down with mould around the window frame and cobwebs on the lamps. The ducks and geese running in the back garden were delightful. Main problem was being woken up at 0700 by a very noisy pump (I assume) that kept running on and off for 20 minutes. We didn't have breakfast so can't comment on the food.

Room Tip: Oak Room is away from the road, but the noise from a pump is unacceptable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarthingsHotel, Director of Sales at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Firstly I would like to say how sorry myself and the staff were to hear that you didnt completely enjoy your time with us, I would also like to thank you for giving us your feed back which we feel is how we improve our service for our guests. The problems you highlighted to us have now been corrected. We hope to see you again shortly. Kindest Regards. Shaun Barnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

My partner and I had the 1 night with light lunch on arrival, 5 course meal, tea/coffee and breakfast Groupon deal at Farthings.
We arrived a little after 3pm and we were received with a warm welcome. Staff were attentive, polite and informative and showed us to our room - The Garden, which was an upgrade to a master suite.
The room was outstanding. One of the largest and cleanest rooms we've stayed in with fantastic views of the picturesque gardens, tea/coffee/hot chocolate with cookies and chocolates, plenty of wardrobes and storage space, freeview TV, extra heating and a large bathroom.
Our evening meal was delicious. Started with melon and Parma ham, followed by haddock mornay with a duck egg poached to perfection. The main was turkey and seed/nut stuffing with seasonal vegetables and a flavoursome jus which was so good that we requested more! Pudding for myself was creme brûlée and a chocolate torte for my partner followed by tea and coffee with mince pies. We returned to our room absolutely filled with some of the most delicious food we've ever had.
In the morning we were greeted with a paper at the door and breakfast was plentiful. Continental buffet followed by a cooked breakfast. Forgot to mention that most of their food is locally sourced from their gardens!
Before we departed, we had a look at the turkeys, peacocks and chickens in the gardens and had the lunch we missed the day before wrapped up and given to us to have on our journey home.
All in all, an outstanding hotel with attentive and pleasant staff, delightful grounds and fantastic food. Will definitely be visiting again!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank shellygreenidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. The team will be delighted to hear your kind words. So pleased you enjoyed. Can't wait to welcome you back. Just drop me a line when you are making plans and we will repeat the ame deal.

Best wishes and ofcourse, Happy Christmas!

John & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We recently stayed for two nights at the Farthings with our two little children. We upgraded to the Rowan Suite which was a high quality room with everything we needed including a great view of the hotels animals which the kids just adored watching.

The staff could not do enough for us during our stay which is such a change from the normal run of the mill brand chains.

We only ate in the restaurant for breakfast as the daytime activities tired the small feet out to face dinner but the breakfast was brilliant with all locally sourced produce.

The only complaint we had was we should have booked more nights without the kids!

We will stay here again in the future without doubt.

Thanks guys! you did yourself proud.

J Court

Room Tip: Go for the top floor as very quiet with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarthingsHotel, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Such kind words, you are so kind. The team will be delighted when they see your review, thank you. We hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We have just returned from a visit to this Hotel. We booked three double rooms all of which were cosy, clean and comfortable. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. The food was excellent and where possible with local produce, what could be better. We had a lovely day looking around the surrounding area which has many childhood memories. Thoroughly recommend this hotel ( regarding the comment below who wants wi fi anyway, look out of the window not at a screen that should satisfy anyone).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizandphilWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarthingsHotel, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Well, we know that you had enjoyed your visit and that was quite clear at the time, but your review was indeed very kind. So many thanks for your kind words and we really do hope that you keep your promise to return. Just drop us a line whenever you are ready and we will repeat the same deal. Until then, have a wonderful festive time and enjoy the New Year

John & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Cannot fault this hotel. We booked via Groupon and as such had not been expecting too much, but Farthings Hotel was absolutely perfect. Customer service was second to none and the room (Sandlewood) was beautifully decorated and so cosy!

Will definitely be making a return visit in January!

Thank you Farthings Hotel for such a relaxing break.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyEHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarthingsHotel, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you Amy for your lovely words. W will look forward to welcoming you cack in the New Year

Best wishes

John & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
5.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
635 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
5.5 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
6.5 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
135 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Village Road | Hatch Beauchamp, Taunton TA3 6SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Taunton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful Country House Hotel. The building dates from 1762 and carries many of it's original fetures. Delightful, individually decorated rooms, lovely restaurant offering the best of locally sourced & seasonal produce, log fires by winter and lovely gardens by summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farthings Country Hotel
Farthings Country Taunton
Farthings Country House Hotel And Restaurant Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing