We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just not good enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just not good enough”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Room was spacious but very dated. Bed was so uncomfortable I just couldn't sleep.

Atmosphere was dead and this is due to the over priced drinks 1 baileys and a double jamesons £18. Come on that's greed. We were in bed by 1045, an hour later than anyone else!

The meal was lovely but incurred extra costs that weren't explained until checkout. Two course dinner with cheese at the end, bottle of wine and three drinks each plus £69 b&b ended costing £210 for one night.

The quality of the individual breakfast product was good but for £24 for two you expect more than 1 sausage, 1 bacon, 1 egg and some scabby mushrooms each. It is just not value for money and compares to far better establishment prices which have a great atmosphere.

We have stayed in many different weekend break hotels and if the food wasn't to the standard it was we would have walked out that evening.

We were bitterly disappointed in this place and see no reason why you would want to stay here for a weekend away if your under 70

We thought from the recent reviews compared to ones a few years ago the standards may have lifted but this is not the case the bar and lounge are very small bit due to the ridiculous drinks prices they were always empty apart from cream tea time which was included.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhijoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarthingsHotel, Director of Sales at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Sir,

When I first read your review I was honestly very shocked by your words and it's only when I had looked in to it and spoke to the department heads it become clear your review was shall we say for the sake of argument "very exaggerated"?

I will address the smaller points first, The Farthings Hotel is an 18th century Georgian property with antique furniture, art and tapestries so yes it is ''dated' as you would expect and what we obviously aim for, that being said we do have flat screen TV's and WIFi in our rooms as well as the use of DVD players and a movie selection to use. As for the bed in your room I can put hand on heart and say that in the two years I've been here I've never heard anyone say it wasn't fantastic and I have also stayed in that room many times and not had a problem but I do understand some people like hard beds some like soft so its impossible to get spot on but i respect your option.

In regards to it being quite, the hotel was full on the Saturday with many of the guests staying a second night on the Sunday, so after a late night on the night before most of the guest opted for an early dinner on the Sunday so had left the Resturant by the time you decided to eat, unfortunetly this happens and we have no control so to say it felt dead is I feel a little unfair.

Now comes what I feel is the more serious part of your review, you booked on a Groupon deal for £69 for two people bed and continental breakfast with a cream tea, at this point we send out a booking form with various upgrades which if you opt for when booking you get at a discounted rate, the prices for the upgrades are very clear and in the two hundred plus deals of this style we have done have not had a problem. You opted for a TWO course meal at £26 per person and upgraded to full English breakfast for an extra £5 per person, I have no idea where you have got the £24 from you say you paid as its not on your bill and hasn't been charged to you?

When you were give your menu that night with a choice of nine starters, mains and desserts there was a Suppliment for Fillet steak with Foie Gras and Seared Rack of Lamb you were both told at the time and it was clearly written on the menu that it was an added £7 for the fillet. That being said there was a steak on the menu included in your deal but you opted for the fillet. Then knowing your deal was for TWO courses your asked for a cheese board for two so again this was clearly an added charge.

In regards to your drinks bill you choose the wine off the wine menu, again prices clearly stated and again a large choice so you could have gone for a less expensive bottle. As fair as for the other drinks you had they were all DOUBLE Balieys and DOUBLE Jamesons as well as extra glass of wine, Again all prices clearly on our bar list and I must stress our prices are very much in keeping with all the other hotels and restaurants in our area your comment of being greedy totally unfounded.

All this being said I would like to thank you for your possitive comments on the food and will pass them on to the chef, if you would like to comment on anything I've said please feel free to contact me directly.

Kind Regards

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    163
    39
    23
    22
See reviews for
73
342
35
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Spent as couple of nights here and was well pleased with our choice. Friendly, helpful staff and comfortable room in the old country house. The food was excellent - a little out of the ordinary - and beautifully presented and cooked. The hotel is trying hard to source good ingredients and produces much of its own on site so it couldn't be fresher.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook the garden where there are ducks, chickens and peacocks so if you like th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roger680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarthingsHotel, Director of Sales at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words, it's always nice to hear as all the team do there up most to ensure everyone has a fantastic stay. I will ensure to pass your review on for them to read. Kind regards. Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Called in here on our way back from the Devon and very much enjoyed our stay. We paid for an upgraded room and were most impressed. The staff are really excellent, very efficient and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Good food, without being outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarthingsHotel, Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely words and terrific review. We very much hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon

Best wishes, Farthings Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My wife and i spent a memorable weekend here surrounded by lovely countryside.We had a rear facing room so we were treated to a beautiful garden with peacocks, ducks, chickens and others..The staff are all really friendly and the food is good. We intended to have one meal in and one out, but we ended up eating here the second day.as well. definately would go again.......roger and paula

Room Tip: rear facing, unless you don't like being woken up by cockrells.Not really noisy a sit is all dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarthingsHotel, Director of Sales at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
I would just like to say thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your kind works, I will be sure to tell the team. Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catcott, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Such a relaxing hotel, Exquisite food, such wonderful friendly staff. Excellent service all round.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and family. Two gorgeous dogs living there who are very friendly also.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny1989x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarthingsHotel, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely words, Sasha & Aonghas, the dogs, thoroughly enjoyed meeting you too. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back sometime soon

John, the team and ofcourse, the puppies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Read all the reviews on this hotel and thought I was in for a treat.... But I have to say it was a disappointment.
Maybe we got the worst room and all the others were lovely?? Our room was cold - the two radiators didn't work. There was a noisy fan heater to use or a hideous wall mounted electric fake fireplace (not in keeping with the building at all) which also had a fan heater in it. The radiator in the bathroom and pipe work had a constant hum. I think the heating system probably needs an upgrade.
The breakfast was disappointing. One piece of bacon, a few mushrooms, one sausage, one cherry tomato and a bit of black pudding served on a cold plate. Glad I wasn't paying £14 for that (we had a B&B deal).
Shower was very good - lots of hot water at least!
The lounge and bar looked very nice and cosy. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Marianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarthingsHotel, Director of Sales at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review and like to say how sorry we all were to hear that we didn't meet our normally very high standards, we wish you had said something at the time so we would have had a chance to put the problems right.

In regards to breakfast orders are taken from your table by our waiting team if you wanted more we would have been more than happy to do so, you only need ask.

Kind Regards

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed for the weekend using a Groupon voucher, having paid for an upgrade to a master bedroom as the standard ones were all gone. It was larger than the ground floor area of our house!! 'The best room I have ever stayed in', my husband said. We dined in the restaurant both evenings and the food was delicious. The downstairs lounge and bar areas were lovely and comfortable - even if we didn't need the roaring fires on an unseasonably warm spring weekend! The staff were very attentive and helpful in general.

Minor quibbles: we felt the continental breakfast could have been a little more elaborate, perhaps with croissants or pastries on offer, or a wider variety of fruit on the table. On both mornings the butter on the buffet table ran out, and we had to ask for it to be replaced (and also for more milk one morning) - the staff should have been more alert to this.

But overall, a lovely hotel - and we shall certainly come back, especially if we can get a similar deal!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarthingsHotel, Director of Sales at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
I would like to thank you for your kind words and taking the time to write your review. In regards to the breakfasts the menu dose say pastries are available and to ask a member of staff, we cook these to order to ensure freshness. Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
5.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
651 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
388 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
812 reviews
6.5 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Village Road | Hatch Beauchamp, Taunton TA3 6SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#4 Family Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful Country House Hotel. The building dates from 1762 and carries many of it's original fetures. Delightful, individually decorated rooms, lovely restaurant offering the best of locally sourced & seasonal produce, log fires by winter and lovely gardens by summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farthings Country Hotel
Farthings Country Taunton
Farthings Country House Hotel And Restaurant Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing