We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant, Luxurious, Comfortable, Welcoming, Stylish, Expensive Dining”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2009

My family (2 family groups) were staying here and we joined them for the evening including a dinner. The hotel is stylish, comfortable and luxurious and the proprietors and staff are very welcoming. The ambience of the bar area and the lounge with it's wonderful open fire and deep sofas makes you feel like it is your own home. The food was exceptionally good, but even so, very expensive for this area at £25-£30 for a main course. Also very small portions - and some vegetable accompaniments would have been nice. On the whole though a wonderful evening and my family all loved staying there.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s0mersetsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
There are newer reviews for Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 613 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2009

I was travelling with my daughter. We arrived to the hotel and was greeted personnally by a lovely lady, then shown to our room WOW, it was amazing, we had a large twin room with its own front doo and a huge bathroom and dressing room, (just wished i was staying longer)..... all the trimmings i.e. tea/coffee, water, bisbuits, fresh milk in the fridge, even fresh flowers in the room. The grounds were also very beautiful. I did not eat there because we were visiting friends but the menu looked good,.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue1959Berkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

We are delighted to have found this charming hotel, set in a little sleepy village, yet close to Taunton and M5 motorway. Farthings Hotel is such a country idyll, with hens and ducks running around in the garden and a very friendly dog! It has drawn us back on several occasions in the past couple of years, as a perfect place to spend a relaxing few days, as the rooms and beds are so comfortable and the food and wine are superb. We enjoy the many different types of places to visit nearby and the coast and Exmoor are not far away either. We are hoping to be able to go again next year.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EastRidingVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

The Farthings hotel was a bit of a find, did not expect too much but was surprised by the service and the size of the well appointed bedrooms. I will be staying at the Farthings whenever I am down that way for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GordonFarnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

This is a chocolate box hotel to look at and the staff, surroundings and accommodation assign perfectly to this vision. It is an hotel to visit to recover from the rigours of the fast-moving world in which we wallow.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perrylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

This is a pleasant Hotel in a pleasant area, but nothing out of the ordinary, the bed in Maple Cottage where we stayed was so hard we could not sleep and I do not think that anyone had ever cleaned behind the sink. The food ,served is extremely good but pricey so one would expect it to be so. On ringing to enquire if they had any vacancies for the dates I wanted I was offered a 'special deal' of two nights bed and breakfast with dinner included on both nights. I thought the price quoted to be a bit more than I wanted to pay but as the Hotel took dogs I was willing to pay this. Imagine my surprise then on checking out to be told that my bill was over double what I had been expecting!! Apparently " I should have realized that the price quoted was per night," and " we must have been talking at cross purposes", (I don['t think so).. If I had wanted to pay £460 for a two night stay in an hotel I would most certainly have chosen somewhere other than Farthings.


after being quoted a price which I believed to be for the whole stay. Unfortunately, on paying the bill I discovered that what I believed to have been a quote for 2 nights was the tariff for a

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AbigailO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

We got married at ‘The Farthings Country House Hotel’ on 23rd August 2009. We live in the locality and visited other similar venues in the area when searching for the perfect place to get married. The Farthings was a clear winner; warm, welcoming and friendly and the overall costs were comparable too – just what we were looking for. We booked The Farthings on an exclusivity basis, having full use of all the hotel rooms and grounds for the entirety of the wedding day, including ceremony, wedding breakfast and evening reception. Overnight accommodation for our day guests was followed by breakfast the next morning. The Farthings was a perfect size for our wedding (32 day guests + 40 more in the evening). The weather was kind to us and we were able to make use of the garden for our evening reception, which added something special. During the weeks leading up to the wedding we were in regular contact with John (the proprietor) who was charming and helpful throughout the whole process. 'Don't worry about a thing' he kept saying. 'Leave everything to us' We'll look after you'. He was completely right on all 3 counts. The day itself was absolutely delightful. John and all of his staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The food and service were superb and all of our overnight guests reported their accommodation to be spacious and comfortable. Our room (Bay) certainly had the WOW factor with its spiral staircase to the bathroom and individual furnishings. The general ambience both inside the hotel and outside in the gardens made the occasion very special. In the words of one of our guests, ‘you could not have chosen a better venue’. We agree entirely and for anyone looking for a superb venue for a special occasion we could not recommend The Farthings highly enough. Our sincere thanks are sent to John and all the staff for helping to make 23rd August 2009 the day we will remember as ‘Our Perfect Wedding at the Perfect Venue’.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrandMrsSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
5.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
660 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
2.4 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
393 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
823 reviews
6.6 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#8 of 17 in Taunton
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Village Road | Hatch Beauchamp, Taunton TA3 6SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#4 Family Hotel in Taunton
Price Range: £57 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful Country House Hotel. The building dates from 1762 and carries many of it's original fetures. Delightful, individually decorated rooms, lovely restaurant offering the best of locally sourced & seasonal produce, log fires by winter and lovely gardens by summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farthings Country Hotel
Farthings Country Taunton
Farthings Country House Hotel And Restaurant Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing