We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden Party with a difference”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We held a retirement party at Farthings. The event was held in the grounds of the hotel.
The food was excellent the service fantastic and the hospitality first class. As good as any garden party at Buckingham Palace !!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farthingsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
There are newer reviews for Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

545 - 551 of 613 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2010

When travelling to Cornwall on holiday from Yorkshire we needed a place to break our journey and I found this haven by chance on the Internet. After a superb stay, we are now looking to spend a week there next year ,it is just sooo good!
From the warm welcome to the spacious tastefully decorated "Garden Room" to the excellent dinner and extensive breakfast menu, it is difficult in knowing where to start!

As we travel with our Jack Russell dog we are used to being in the last room on the top floor, furthest from the entrance but not at the Farthings. The room was more like a suite and the standard of fittings second to none with still lots of space to put all "our" things.
A lovely touch is that instead of having ageless UHT milk on the hospitality tray, there is a Smeg findge with cool fresh milk, just like at home.

The garden seating was a haven for a refreshing drink after we had unpacked before dinner. There is well stocked bar and even a cosy bed for the dog in the lounge which reminded him of home.

The menu offered a good selection of freshly cooked produce with each course complimenting the last. there is also a good wine list at reasonable prices.

As we both work in the hotels we do tend to be over critical and this was no exception - it is a star, a very good 4 or 5 star without being ostentatious. We have been telling everyone it is THE place to stay

Well done to everyone, keep up the good work and we hope see you again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j4ewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

Thank you for a lovely stay last Sunday and Monday night. We were very impressed with the rooms (HUGE) and the food (TOP CLASS). Also a mention to the staff that worked both nights who were excellent and very attentive.

I certainly recommend your hotel to anybody and will use you in the future should we wish to come back to the area for a break.

if your looking for a place near Glastonbury, Wookey Hole or Chedder gorge LOOK no further.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sumpy1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

I stayed at the Farthings recently with business associates. We arrived pretty late on in the evening and they kindly opened the bar for us. We were up early next day in preperation for our conference and breakfast was just fantastic, it set me up for the whole day.

It's not often you find a lovely place to stay so close to the motorway so it worked out well for our meeting being held there too. Trust me, it's hard to get business done when you're sat in a fully sunlit room looking out onto such beautiful gardens on a warm summers day!

Overall - A really nice stay, sadly I didn't get chance to eat there in the evening, but the menu looks really nice and not at all over priced. I will be returning with my wife for a weekend soon I hope.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Arrived to friendly front of house staff and a great bed room. Dinner was excellent and the I left feeling relaxed and well rested. Easy access to the M5 makes this a great place to stay if you are near Taunton.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeroboamlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Arrving at the farthings, was a little like arriving back to your childhood home,you are greeted by wonderful staff (and Sasha!) who are friendly and make the hotel what it is, truly outstanding! First of all i must comment on behalf of husband as well, how glorious the food really is, you havent tasted anything until you've had Farthings eggs, straight from their garden, where there is not only chickens ducks and geese, but the owner tells me their newest addition to 'the family' is three little piglets! The room we stayed in was lovely, with everything we needed, and ample space to live in, it alsohad super views of the beautiful garden! i really would strongly suggest to friends and family, as it is a lovely little place, which is far enough from the busy-ness of taunton to be quiet and peaceful, but still easily accessible. Lastly i must again comment on the standard of service we recieved from all of the staff, and the presentation of food and the hotel in general was really quite something! We certainly plan to return for a lovely break as soon as we have a chance!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodge2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Lovely small country house hotel with glorious gardens and charming rooms, some very unusual with spiral staircase to bathroom or internal landing to bathroom - even one with it's own front door and another that is actually a small cottage!!. Pretty sunny sitting room for morning coffee and chilling with newspapers. Dogs are welcome and love the large garden. Cosy bar for evening drinks before scrummy dinner. Pretty countryside around with lots of lovely walks. Very close to the A303 so easy to find and even convenient if en route somewhere else - a longer is stay is really needed to fully enjoy this lovely hotel, we have stayed 3 times now and will definitely be going back again!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldCausewayBakery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
5.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
661 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
2.4 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
393 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
823 reviews
6.6 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#8 of 17 in Taunton
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Village Road | Hatch Beauchamp, Taunton TA3 6SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Taunton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
Price Range: £57 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful Country House Hotel. The building dates from 1762 and carries many of it's original fetures. Delightful, individually decorated rooms, lovely restaurant offering the best of locally sourced & seasonal produce, log fires by winter and lovely gardens by summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farthings Country Hotel
Farthings Country Taunton
Farthings Country House Hotel And Restaurant Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing