We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Corner House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Reviewed 29 April 2011

I stayed here one night prior to a work meeting. The location was perfect for that. The room I stayed in was small but had everything I needed - the usual tea/coffee facilities but plenty of towels, pillows etc. It also had a iron and board. It was lovely to have the little touches like proper milk in a carton in the fridge rather than the little plastic cartons.
There was plenty of parking which is always something I look for. I ate at the restaurant which had a good selection and was very tasty.
My only gripe - very small - the traffic outside was a bit noisy but only to be expected on a busy road. The staff were all very helpful. I have recommended this to my work colleagues for next time we visit Taunton

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shazz000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and have passed your comments around the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

741 - 747 of 837 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2011

We stayed at this hotel about a year ago and the service and food was excellent - our room was not that brilliant as it was the last room which was a disabled room on the round floor adjacent to the reception and close to the main road. However, I chose to stay again on my own for a business trip and had a lovely quiet room at the back. The service and friendliness of the staff really make a difference to a hotel stay and the food was lovely. Coupled with great value for money I could recommend this hotel as it is within walking distance of the town centre. Entrance and exit to the car park is a bit tight but drive slowly and you will be fine. With free internet access it was ideal for my business trip - all hotels should provide this.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MABDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and have passed your comments around the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

we stayed only for 1 night,but the whole experience of staying at the corner house,was 10/10.from being greated at the front of house to all the staff they were friendly and more than happy to help with anything.
the only down side was that we stayed when it was very very hot and the room was very hot,could have done with air-con or a fan.
but apart from that i would highly recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markyparky57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and have passed your comments around the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Very nice kitchen staff did there best but under pressure as not enough of them.Manager rude when i complained that food ran out at breakfast.On another occasion chef was off sick so no cooked breakfast.Noisy late evening so difficult to sleep.No where to put toiletries in bathroom which was cramped given that the room was a standard double! Overal a badly run hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjpaul17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do appreciate all constructive feedback and may we apologise that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We have just returned from a one night stay and must say that the front of house staff and waitresses are excellent. The breakfast was superb and the quality of ingrediants second to none.

However I feel the rooms did not live up to the standard set by front of house. They were fine size wise but the housekeeping was not great. The shower curtain was pink with soap scum and the skirting boards and carpet were dirty. A fresh coat of paint and new bath panels/ shower curtains would make all the differance and ditch the flower on the mirror!

On a positive note I would come back if only for the food and good welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank everton78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Corner House Hotel. We do take all reviews seriously and appreciate the constructive feedback. May we advise that since your stay we have recently replaced the shower curtain and have given the bathroom a fresh coat of paint. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

I stayed at this hotel in feb 2011 for business purposes. Very welcoming staff greated me and only too happy to help with my things. Room was adequate with mini bar option. Food in the restaurant was phenomenal. Would defiantly eat here again. Even has a hair salon within the building. The only negative was that trying to get out of the car park was difficult due to proximity of the walls and such a sharp 90 degree angle to navigate. I wouldn't advise a large vehicle or wide one at that to park in the carpark. However parking else where would prove difficult. Great location with a 5 minute walk from the town. Overall very pleasant stay. Would defiantly advise people to pop in and see. Even if it is just for the food

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryNomur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2011

Dear Ms Nomur,

Thank you for taking the time to a write a review on the Corner House Hotel.

We were really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel in February and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Whilst the team do appreciate positive we also do value constructive comments from our guests. We have passed your comments around the team for their attention.

Thank you again for such a kind review.

Yours sincerely,

Nigel.

Nigel Parkin.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

We booked into this hotel to have a couple of days before flying back to Jersey after my partner had had a major spinal operation at Nuffield. As walking in general and especially up stairs was difficult, we asked for a room downstairs and were offered the disabled room next to reception.
The room had ample space for us and was very clean with an extremely comfortable bed, desk, television, tea and coffee making facilities, fridge with water and fresh milk and cupboard. Extra pillows and towels were provided. The bathroom had a walk in shower and higher toilet seat and lovely plush towels. The location was very close to town which was convenient and would save on taxi or bus fares.
One thing I feel I must comment on is the staff at this hotel. They were friendly and polite went out of their way to help where they could. As it was not possible for my partner to sit for longer than 10 minutes at a time, we needed to eat our meals in the room. This was absolutely no trouble for them, even breakfasts, which I understand are not generally brought to the rooms. The food was fantastic and choice of wines exceptional.
Although we were not able to eat in the restaurant itself, I felt a bit jealous of the people that were able to sit down for dinner in the cosy comfortable looking candle lit room.
I hope I have another chance to stay there at some stage and enjoy the atmosphere and good food in The Wine and Sausage (what a great name!).
I would like to say thank you to the staff and management at the hotel for making our stay such a comfortable one.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TattQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Corner House Hotel. Whilst we do not expect it, the team really appreciate positive feedback from out guests and as such we have passed your comments around the team.

We hope that your partner has now fully recovered after his operation and look forward to welcoming you both back soon.

Thank you again for such a kind review.

Yours sincerely,

Nigel.

Nigel Parkin.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.5 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#15 of 17 in Taunton
196 reviews
5.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#6 of 17 in Taunton
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
401 reviews
3 mi away
Days Inn Taunton
Days Inn Taunton
#16 of 17 in Taunton
399 reviews
1.1 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House Hotel

Address: Park Street, Taunton TA1 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range: £50 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned character hotel ideal for both business and leisure travellers. Within walking distance of the centre of Somerset's County town Taunton, this 45 bedroom hotel has been transformed to meet the demands of the modern day traveller. Late 2015 the complete refurbishment of the bar & restaurant has created a relaxed drinking and dining venue. Ideal for business or pleasure. Emphasis has been placed on developing a simple yet stylish and comfortable sleeping experience. All rooms have linen duvets, ample work space, refrigerators with complimentary bottled water and fresh milk, flat screen televisions and sparkling en-suite facilities. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. A flexible combination of meeting and eating rooms and excellent road and rail connections make the Corner House a convenient location for day and residential meetings. The hotel has on site car parking and is in an ideal location for visiting many of the nearby Somerset attractions or as a stopover en-route to or from the Cornish peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Corner House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hotel Taunton
The Corner House Hotel Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing