We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay with delicious food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Corner House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
London
2 reviews
“Pleasant stay with delicious food!”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I stayed here for a few nights in a room over looking the carpark - I could hardly hear the busy road at all and slept well, only being disturbed by the people in the room next to me when they were entering and exiting their room. The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. The only thing I would change would be to have bath in the bathroom. I would recommend requesting a room with a bath when you're making your booking if you'd like one.

I didn't have breakfast in the hotel, but had dinner and thought the food was delicious. Although the service could have been a bit quicker, the portions are big and I can't recommend the sticky toffee pudding dessert enough - absolutely devine!

Located just a 5 minute walk away from the town centre and a short taxi ride away from the train station (a single taxi journey cost £6), it's location is great.

Overall, I had a pleasant stay and would stay here again :o)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 711northerngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    277
    181
    111
    74
See reviews for
80
289
67
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We had to book a hotel at short notice near to Taunton hospital. This hotel fulfilled that function as well as being close to all of the amenities of the town itself. Good breakfasts in the restaurant.

Room Tip: We stayed in a compact room. It was small but was perfect for our needs for the two nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Thank you for your writing a review on the Corner House Hotel.

We have compact double rooms which are cosy, and the price is lower than our other rooms to reflect this. They are very popular with single businessman. We will be pleased to book you a larger room on your next visit.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Nigel Parkin.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

my partner and i had been travelling all around the south and west counties working, we came across the corner house hotel and what a lovely find it was,when we phoned up to book we were told they only had one room left and it was classed as a compact room, other words it was small, but we said no problem, on arrival i think his name was Wayne checked us in very charming and knew a lot about the area and the history of this hotel, the restaurant was well known for its sausages and wine! getting into our room was laughable as it was tiny but the bed was comfy and the room very clean with free mineral water in the room, nice change there! had a wonderful evening meal and the breakfast was fab! would stay again

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Thank you for writing a review on the Corner House Hotel. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay which we have passed around the team particularly Wayne for his efforts.

Whilst the Compact Rooms are very popular with the single business traveller with all the facilities needed including a carton of fresh milk in the fridge, we do have Standard Double Rooms and Large Double Rooms. When you next make a reservation we would be delighted to upgrade you to one these rooms which are more spacious.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Nigel Parkin.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Spent two nights at hotel in September 2011, first room had only half an interior double glazed window, room noisy from road as a result and only hotel room where I have had to sleep in fleece and socks as so cold (radiator did not work either). Changed room next day (fully booked on first noght so could not help me! but then was embarrased by staff as I HAD paid for Bed, Breakfast and Dinner, but they wanted to charge me for the food, eventually resolved when I produced my booking form.

Poorly treated, no real apology and no compensation, not even as a good will gesture for everything that was wrong with the stay. Would not recommend this to anyone. The Dinner menu was good and staff pleasent but breakfast was a joke, asked for scrambled egg on toast and got a salty omelette which was inedible!

Sorry folks but look elsewhere is my advice, if you have to stay here then make sure you take your booking forms etc as proof of payment etc.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Thank you for writing a review on the Corner House Hotel. We do appreciate constructive comments as this enables us to continue to improve the accommodation and service that we provide our guests so thank you for bringing these points to our attention. It is clear that you did not have a usual guest experience and as such please accept our apologies. We do accommodate a large number of single business travellers who are very happy with the accommodation however we are currently planning a full refurbishment programme for the bedrooms. When we investigated the radiator it was clear that it needed bleeding which has now been done and is all working fine. We do suggest that when you next book your accommodation that you book a room towards the rear of the hotel which are quieter or one of our larger rooms which are more spacious. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your evening meal. Thank you again for bringing these points to our attention and we hope that you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Nigel Parkin.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taunton hotels

Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed here in September 2011. It was a random choice on the internet and a good one it turned out to be. The receptionist was lovely on our arrival and although our room was very small, it was described as compact, so we were half expecting it. I loved the blue paint in the entrance/bar/restaurant areas and the white printed signs on the paintwork. The wall of wine was eye catching too. The 'early diner' menu was lovely although my husband's chocolate mousse was still frozen when it came and very amusing to watch him eat! Again the staff were super and very friendly which contributed to the atmosphere in the hotel. Breakfast was varied and good value. The room was ok although I had very little room on my side of the bed. There were however, lovely touches with cold milk and bottled water in the fridge. Parts of the hotel are tired but I really enjoyed my stay because of the staff.

Room Tip: Room 24 was over the hotel entrance. It was very noisy when early deliveries arrived.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inishrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
Thank you for writing a review for the Corner House Hotel.

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay particularly the service from the team. We have passed your comments around the team as they very much appreciate your kind comments.

It is the small touches that make the difference like the carton of milk and fresh water in your fridge which do make a guest experience and so we were pleased that you enjoyed these touches.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Nigel.

Nigel Parkin.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

I stayed here on business in September, this Hotel gets quite a lot right in that it has a small but comfortable bar area with a good range of drinks and the food in the restaurant is good and well presented, the breakfast is also good but the service could be sharper. There is an ok atmosphere to the place and the staff are friendly and mostly efficient, there is also free parking. The downside are the rooms which are very much hit and miss, the bathroom in my room was very cramped to say the least making it awkward and the room generally needed some modernisation. All in all its a reasonable place to have a short stay but could be so much better if the rooms were sorted.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LamcsMr-b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Corner House Hotel.

We understand that whilst you have some positive comments we did not meet your expectations and as such please accept our apologies.

We have discussed your constructive comments with the team to ensure that we continue to improve the guest experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon so that we are able to redeem ourselves.

Nigel Parkin.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

restuarant lovely both decor and food. early breakfast great The rooms are simply dreadful desperately in need of refurbishment. carpets stained, fixures and fittings really cheap. would never stay there again. Discovered that though restuarant and room appear to be under the same management they are not.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bertielucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Corner House Hotel.

We understand that whilst you have some positive comments we did not meet your expectations and as such please accept our apologies.

We have discussed your constructive comments with the team to ensure that we continue to improve the guest experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon so that we are able to redeem ourselves.

Nigel Parkin.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
644 reviews
5.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#17 of 17 in Taunton
182 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House Hotel

Property: The Corner House Hotel
Address: Park Street, Taunton TA1 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned character hotel ideal for both business and leisure travellers. Within walking distance of the centre of Somerset's County town Taunton, this 45 bedroom hotel has been transformed to meet the demands of the modern day traveller. Late 2015 the complete refurbishment of the bar & restaurant has created a relaxed drinking and dining venue. Ideal for business or pleasure. Emphasis has been placed on developing a simple yet stylish and comfortable sleeping experience. All rooms have linen duvets, ample work space, refrigerators with complimentary bottled water and fresh milk, flat screen televisions and sparkling en-suite facilities. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. A flexible combination of meeting and eating rooms and excellent road and rail connections make the Corner House a convenient location for day and residential meetings. The hotel has on site car parking and is in an ideal location for visiting many of the nearby Somerset attractions or as a stopover en-route to or from the Cornish peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Corner House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hotel Taunton
The Corner House Hotel Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing