We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Corner House Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Corner House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We were over all very pleased with this hotel, the staff were very pleasant and service very good. The rooms are of a good clean standard. The Bar was very nice for a few drinks before you go out but a little pricey. Also i can't comment on the evening meals but the menu looks good. The breakfast was of a continental buffet stile also if you preferred a full English it was brought from the kitchen, you could have both if you liked! The location was about 10 to 15 min walk from town center, fine for us. I would definitely recommend this hotel, its not a budget hotel but good value for money :-)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neilcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

692 - 698 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2011

The rooms maybe small but I don't think they hide that fact, they are clean and comfortable. We got a great price through Late Rooms. The bar downstairs is very good and run by effortlessly friendly people. We were in Taunton for a wedding and it was a great place to crash, they made no fuss about letting us check in at 12pm rather than the official time of 3pm.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

My husband and myself stayed for a night in the disabled room and it is excellent for both disabled and able bodied people. Plenty of room, a wet room and easily accessible. The room was clean and well equipped with fresh milk and confectionery. The breakfast was fantastic and our evening meal in The Wine and Sausage restaurant was faultless. Overall, an excellent establishment and we will be recommending it to others. Thank you for a lovely stay. Mr and Mrs Usher.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandi U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I loved this hotel despite us having a very small room described as compact and being on a busy road. It didnt spoil the experience however as we had got a very good deal on late rooms and indeed the room had everything that was needed including nice toileteries, flat screen tv, big towels, mini fridge which didnt cost a fortune, iron,fresh milk and even a fresh flower!!!! Probably could have done with a few more hangers... The hotel itself has a lovely homely feel to it and has a wonderful history with gothic revival features. There is a wine shop actually on site with special deals on bottles if you eat in the restaurant (wine and sausage) - which we did. We were glad we did as the food was extremely good and reasonable. The staff were extremely friendly and breakfast was second to none.Good for shopping as everything close and free parking at the hotel and walkable. Will definatley be staying here again.(might try a larger room next time)

Room Tip: If budget is important room 9 is VERY compact BUt has everything and has a big bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dramaqueen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

As we were in the area for a funeral,a quick search on the internet for accomodation and struck gold with the Corner House hotel in Taunton.The service was first class,the food excellent the rooms were comfortable and kept to a high standard of cleanliness and all at a very reasonable price .Advice from the friendly staff about the area was spot on as we had never been in the location before.
Will be in the location next year for a short break and will be using the Corner House as a base
W Drury.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Friendly, helpful and efficient staff both at front desk, in bar,and in the restaurant. Room small but well heated and ventilated, comfy bed, and efficient bathroom. Restaurant had a good choice of vegetarian food and the beer was well kept. Breakfast good as well.

Room Tip: If you want more space avoid the 'compact' rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charliewatson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

The corner house markets itself as a boutique hotel. Unfortunately there are far too many establishments using this ploy to lure unsuspecting travellers through the door.

First impressions are good albeit that the entrance is tucked down an alley, but reception is bright and service is good. the bar and restaurant is a good concept of simple fare with good wines at affordable prices, so far so good.

Its when you get to the room that it all goes wrong, poorly decorated and furnished with what look like cast off premier inn fittings and a really grotty bathroom with a shower that you have to run around in to get wet.

Oh and by the way I have stayed here as a corporate customer on several occassions but have finally given in and am trying to find somewhere decent for my guys to stay in future.

Room Tip: There aren't any!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tass P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
677 reviews
5.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
0.5 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#15 of 17 in Taunton
191 reviews
1.1 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#8 of 17 in Taunton
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House Hotel

Address: Park Street, Taunton TA1 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range: £53 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned character hotel ideal for both business and leisure travellers. Within walking distance of the centre of Somerset's County town Taunton, this 45 bedroom hotel has been transformed to meet the demands of the modern day traveller. Late 2015 the complete refurbishment of the bar & restaurant has created a relaxed drinking and dining venue. Ideal for business or pleasure. Emphasis has been placed on developing a simple yet stylish and comfortable sleeping experience. All rooms have linen duvets, ample work space, refrigerators with complimentary bottled water and fresh milk, flat screen televisions and sparkling en-suite facilities. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. A flexible combination of meeting and eating rooms and excellent road and rail connections make the Corner House a convenient location for day and residential meetings. The hotel has on site car parking and is in an ideal location for visiting many of the nearby Somerset attractions or as a stopover en-route to or from the Cornish peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Corner House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hotel Taunton
The Corner House Hotel Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing