We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New year visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Corner House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Reviewed 3 February 2012

My husband has mobility problems, the room reserved was on the first floor and along a long corridor, the staff immediatley reviewed the situation and moved us to a ground floor room with facilities for the disabled, we had a good visit and would not hesitate to book again if a night or two in Taunton was needed

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valerie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (848)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

704 - 710 of 848 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed at the Corner House Hotel, Taunton for two nights. The room was very clean with tea and coffee facilities but a nice extra touch was a fridge and a carton of fresh milk not those horrible sachets. The bed was extremely comfortable and spacious and warm. The restaurant the Wine and Sausage served beautifully prepared food and the presentation was excellent, you could tell it was displayed by qualified chefs. The choice of breakfast was varied with excellent alternatives to the full English, but we did partake of the full English breakfast and there was plenty of it to keep you full all day.All the staff were very pleasant except for a couple of men who worked on reception, I found them to be very serious and not willing to partake in polite conversation especially about the history of the Hotel, it seemed too much trouble But apart from that we had a very pleasant stay and would return there again and fully recommend the Hotel.

Room Tip: The large double
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I stayed for 3 nights at this hotel during a business trip and found it fantastic. Although i didnt eat in the restaurant, the room I stayed in was very clean, modern and a joy to stay in. It was lovely to 'come home' to a well cleaned and tided room each evening. I also found the staff very friendly and very helpful. Thank you Corner House, top marks. Would strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulB2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Got an excellent deal (50% off) for a compact room but were upgraded (without asking) to a standard room. Very friendly receptionist, made us feel welcome. Shame we weren't told restaurant was fully booked for the evening. When we returned to our room after a short walk we went downstairs to eat only to be informed that they had no room. We had to get all dressed up again and go in search of somewhere! (Temperature was well below freezing that evening)
Points to note
1) The window in our room didn't close properly so noise (from smokers?) in alleyway can be clearly heard.
2) The bed was far too soft giving very little support.
3) Partition wall very thin so could clearly hear conversation next door.
4) Chambermaids sitting on stairs doing nothing when we went down to breakfast didn't create a good impression.

The breakfast, £5 if booked in advance was good with plenty of choice. Also a very good hospitality tray etc.

It's a quirky old building and if they sort out these small items it's somewhere I'd be happy to recommend

Room Tip: Check the bed and the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank disleksik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Took advantage of an offer of £25 room only for one night (rate, I was told, was normally £95). Up-graded immediately by a very welcoming Receptionist and the room was airy and spacious - with free WiFi. Only downside was the narrow staircase to the 2nd floor.
Breakfast (fantastic sausage in the Full English) was £5 - more great value.
Sadly, a problem with the cellar meant I could not taste the two real ales, but there is an extensive wine list.

Room Tip: I got the offer through www.booking.com, and it was great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pippintraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We were over all very pleased with this hotel, the staff were very pleasant and service very good. The rooms are of a good clean standard. The Bar was very nice for a few drinks before you go out but a little pricey. Also i can't comment on the evening meals but the menu looks good. The breakfast was of a continental buffet stile also if you preferred a full English it was brought from the kitchen, you could have both if you liked! The location was about 10 to 15 min walk from town center, fine for us. I would definitely recommend this hotel, its not a budget hotel but good value for money :-)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neilcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

The rooms maybe small but I don't think they hide that fact, they are clean and comfortable. We got a great price through Late Rooms. The bar downstairs is very good and run by effortlessly friendly people. We were in Taunton for a wedding and it was a great place to crash, they made no fuss about letting us check in at 12pm rather than the official time of 3pm.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.5 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#15 of 17 in Taunton
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#6 of 17 in Taunton
712 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
5.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House Hotel

Address: Park Street, Taunton TA1 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range: £48 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned character hotel ideal for both business and leisure travellers. Within walking distance of the centre of Somerset's County town Taunton, this 45 bedroom hotel has been transformed to meet the demands of the modern day traveller. Late 2015 the complete refurbishment of the bar & restaurant has created a relaxed drinking and dining venue. Ideal for business or pleasure. Emphasis has been placed on developing a simple yet stylish and comfortable sleeping experience. All rooms have linen duvets, ample work space, refrigerators with complimentary bottled water and fresh milk, flat screen televisions and sparkling en-suite facilities. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. A flexible combination of meeting and eating rooms and excellent road and rail connections make the Corner House a convenient location for day and residential meetings. The hotel has on site car parking and is in an ideal location for visiting many of the nearby Somerset attractions or as a stopover en-route to or from the Cornish peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Corner House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hotel Taunton
The Corner House Hotel Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing