We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay - highly recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Corner House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Corner House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Waterlooville, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay - highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

What a lovely night I spent here (business)
The Corner House was built in the 1840's and was originally to be the local Bishop's House. He never moved in and the property became a private residence until in the mid 1900's, with the property eventually becoming a hotel in the 1950's.

Unique 'boutique' hotel which is spotless with lovely touches even in my budget room.

thank you

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    265
    177
    106
    72
See reviews for
75
280
63
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Seriously comitted to the best service, extremely helpful and always with a smile.
I do not do cheeseness and we found that this place is a gem.
5 mins to the centre and easy roads.
Wines by the score as they have their own shop to drink in or take out.
Food brill and varied, cater for all.
All we can sy is thanks for a brill stay and a very helpful set of people.
Would definetley recommend.
Mr William Clark

Room Tip: Room 10 as there are no rooms adjoining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bodrumbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Warm welcome at Reception on my Friday-night later arrival. Compact double room was fine for a single. Good facilities, great bed-linen, fresh milk a great plus. All staff smiling and pleasant. Dining area imaginatively-appointed, though breakfast not quick, and my (excellent) bacon-sausage-tomato order did arrive in a sandwich (untoasted bread) which was not what I asked for - but by then I was in a hurry so ate it anyway.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We have stayed here twice in the past few weeks, both times in compact doubles.

Both rooms were fine in size with comfy beds and good facilities - we particularly liked the fresh milk. One room had a shower, the other a bath, but both had very powerful showers, good toiletries and large towels. Both rooms were very warm and we had to have the window open even though it was February - and this was clearly an ongoing problem as both rooms contained cooling fans.
One of the bedrooms was in the annex. This was fine until it was pouring with rain and we had a second shower dashing to breakfast! This annex (but not the room) also smelt a little. The wifi didn't seem to extend to the annex. Also with this room to turn on the bathroom light you had to turn on the bedroom light - which I didn't appreciate when my husband got up in the night for the loo! There was a shaving light above the sink but we didn't work out how to turn this on until the morning!

On our first stay breakfast had been a shambles with a lack of staff, incorrect orders and it taking an hour for our food to arrive. Our second stay (on a weekend) was the opposite with attentive staff, quick service and very tasty food.

On our first stay we were also greeted after breakfast by four cleaners rolling cigarettes on the stairs. We did mention this on checkout and there was no sign of them on our second stay.

As mentioned by many others the car park entrance and exit were both a tight squeeze - as the paint marks down the wall demonstrate!

Overall, this hotel has lots of potential and is ok for an overnight stay in a slightly quirky building. But I do think it could be a fantastic hotel with just a little more thought.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrselbows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Rooms are clean but a little small, was not asked on check in to book a table in the restaurant hence then having to wait 30 mins for my table, waited 20 mins for a drink to be delivered, food good just not enough staff to deliver.

Disappointing Will not book again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kentwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taunton hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

The positives: The hotel is well located and the rooms are large, if somewhat basic. It is reasonably priced.

The negatives: Although I had been asked of any dietary requirements in the booking process (I have a dairy allergy), my muffin was still slathered in butter. Perhaps they didn't understand the term 'non-dairy' as my scrambled eggs appeared to have been made from egg whites only - they were gray and inedible.

Further, the wine waiter/manager behaved bizarrely. He charged me 25p extra when he finished off a bottle in my glass, thus serving me more than I'd asked for and inferring that he'd done me a favour. He succeeded in insulting me.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuniAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Booked it on the last min after buying a caravan in Wellington did not fancy driving from Manchester and back in 1 day. on arrival with the caravan, found the car park entrance a little tight but we managed it . the manager came out and suggested the best place to park very helpful! on booking in we were told that we had been given an upgrade all the staff were very helpful. great food and a welcome breakfast before our long trek home well stay again !!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.4 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#17 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
0.4 mi away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#9 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House Hotel

Property: The Corner House Hotel
Address: Park Street, Taunton TA1 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned character hotel ideal for both business and leisure travellers. Within walking distance of the centre of Somerset's County town Taunton, this 45 bedroom hotel has been transformed to meet the demands of the modern day traveller. Late 2015 the complete refurbishment of the bar & restaurant has created a relaxed drinking and dining venue. Ideal for business or pleasure. Emphasis has been placed on developing a simple yet stylish and comfortable sleeping experience. All rooms have linen duvets, ample work space, refrigerators with complimentary bottled water and fresh milk, flat screen televisions and sparkling en-suite facilities. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. A flexible combination of meeting and eating rooms and excellent road and rail connections make the Corner House a convenient location for day and residential meetings. The hotel has on site car parking and is in an ideal location for visiting many of the nearby Somerset attractions or as a stopover en-route to or from the Cornish peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your The Corner House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hotel Taunton
The Corner House Hotel Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing