We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Corner House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Stayed here for one night whilst in Taunton. Hotel was booked for me, i was pleasantly suprised. Will stay here again when next in Taunton.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sharky91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    277
    183
    112
    74
See reviews for
83
290
67
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Corner House Hotel.

Nigel the manager was very, efficient, friendly and attentive.

The VIP Elton John concert, meal and stay were a great success, we really enjoyed ourselves. Even the rain didn’t matter.

The Corner House has an incredible wine selection and the quality of the food excels the star rating of this hotel.

Complements to the chef and thank you Nigel.

Simon and Ivana

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I have stayed here numerous times and would definitely recommend it. I had a large room with a comfy bed, free wifi, fridge (with fresh milk for tea replaced everyday), free parking, friendly staff, and great location. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aashnaramnani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Would recommend you do not stay in room 12 if you require a restful sleep without earplugs!!. as we were kept awake by continious buzzing/ humming all the time we spent in the room, by what we believe were chiller units, situated under the rooms in the entrance to the carpark. We told reception on our early departure,( heads aching!!) who were obviously well aware of the problem as reception told us they would ask maintenance to put in more insulation!!. No consulation to us our night away completely ruined !!! Absolutely shattered, glad to get home!! What a waste of money,
The room was average, clean and tidy, brekfast was very good.
We will not be returning there.

Room Tip: Not room 12 or any others on that landing probably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a friend's wedding in Taunton. It's a five minute cab ride from the station and a 10 minute walk into town. Nice and convenient!

The rooms are small - but the hotels website does say they're compact. However they're clean and functional. And for £75 odd quid a night what do you expect? If you want power showers and acres of space then you have to pay for it.

Towels changed daily and room tidied for us. Each room even has a small fridge! There is a Tesco about five minute's walk away so if you've forgotten anything that is very handy. You also get fresh milk - a rareity in today's world.

Dinner was very good - if the staff were a little tired! Breakfast on the first day was filling and welcome. The second day (Saturday) it all went a bit wrong and the service was slower.

I'd say if you want value, then this place won't let you down. It advertises itself as "Budget Boutique" - I'd disagree with the Boutique part, however it's sensibly priced and well located.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road. Ours wasn't so we did have a lot of traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianhb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Room was much as expected and as described.Hotel was full as there was an Elton John concert in town,hence the room price was hiked for that reason.Car park really tight space.
Breakfast was the big issue-after waiting for 10 mins to be seated (not a problem as they were very busy) we were then left unattended for another 10 mins.There were not enough staff - dirty crockery everywhere.People were complaining left, right and centre. We had to ask if we could have some tea and place our order. They forgot the toast which we reminded them.When it turned up it was stone cold.we decided to get going and check out. Reception quoted that the price was the same for the room regardless of the situation over breakfast.They really were not interested in noting the poor service.Will never stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Further to your recent stay it is clear that you did not have our usual guest experience and as such please accept my personal apologies.

I did personally speak to you on check out and we took time to sit down quietly to discuss your experience at breakfast and amicably resolve the issues that you raised.

With breakfast aside we were to believe that you did have an enjoyable stay; however the poor weather had put a dampner on your Concert experience.

We are always concerned with any guest that does not enjoy our experience and will always do everything possible to resolve the issues.

If you wish to discuss any issues further then please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Nigel Parkin.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taunton hotels

Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Just returned from an overnight stop here to see Elton John. This is a great hotel if you like bespoke personal attention. The staff were so friendly and keen to make sure we had everything we wanted. I felt welcomed like a member of their family. We were in Room 40 which was spacious, comfy and had loads of little extras ( bottles of water, carton of milk, biscuits etc), would def recommend it. Food was wonderful and Johnny very knowledgeable about wine. Nigel was great also, full of jolly humour! yes, the car park is a bit awkward to navigate and perhaps other rooms need a bit of an update, but the ambience and food more than make up for it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
645 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
0.0 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#16 of 17 in Taunton
182 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
137 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House Hotel

Property: The Corner House Hotel
Address: Park Street, Taunton TA1 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned character hotel ideal for both business and leisure travellers. Within walking distance of the centre of Somerset's County town Taunton, this 45 bedroom hotel has been transformed to meet the demands of the modern day traveller. Late 2015 the complete refurbishment of the bar & restaurant has created a relaxed drinking and dining venue. Ideal for business or pleasure. Emphasis has been placed on developing a simple yet stylish and comfortable sleeping experience. All rooms have linen duvets, ample work space, refrigerators with complimentary bottled water and fresh milk, flat screen televisions and sparkling en-suite facilities. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. A flexible combination of meeting and eating rooms and excellent road and rail connections make the Corner House a convenient location for day and residential meetings. The hotel has on site car parking and is in an ideal location for visiting many of the nearby Somerset attractions or as a stopover en-route to or from the Cornish peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Corner House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hotel Taunton
The Corner House Hotel Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing