We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Corner House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wedding”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

does exactly what you'd expect of a decent little hotel that prides its self on its restaurant side..quality wines not cheap, not expensive either ..and a chef/kitchen that will do requests too
Breakfast was of a good standard, but a little slow due to amount of guests that all came down for 9am. Bar staff were exceptionally helpful

Room Tip: ask for one in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mysteryguest1340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    270
    181
    108
    73
See reviews for
76
284
64
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
179 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Very Pleasant hotel fairly good location for the town. When it says the rooms are compact - they are!. Breakfast was a delight many choices and not just the usual 'English Breakfast' obviously prepared by a chef.Wide selection of wines and real ale too.

Room Tip: when it says compact they mean small
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
117 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights with work and wasn't impressed. Got a double room but it must have been their compact because it was small! Room is clean enough with basic amenities but floorboards creaked and the walls were paper thin! had to tip toe so as not to disturb other guests. Room temp was variable. Best thing about the hotel is the restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMysteriousOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights while exploring the Quantocks. Saw some mixed reviews so didn't quite know what to expect but the 2 night deal was so good we decided we didn't have a lot to lose. Car park is small and getting in and out is a challenge with a Discovery but at least they had a car park and it was free. Our room was very clean and comfortable (it faced the car park but in truth the other way would have face the busy road so was a quiet option and suited us) Very generous allowance of tea and coffee making facilities which was nice especially when we got back tired and muddy and wanted to chill in our room before dining. We had intended to try different restaurants in town but were so impressed with the first nights dining in the Wine and Sausage restaurant that we didn't bother to venture any further. They have a theme of specialitey sausages and pies, which although aren't my cup of tea, the other half loved them. The venison and dark chocolate pie was his favorite. I chose from the restaurant menu and can highly recommend it. The food was excellent, the chefs and dining room staff are friendly and very obliging and the food was very good and very reasonably priced. However, you pay over the top for drinks (£7.50 for a glass of wine and £4 for a pint of beer) Your choice if you drink or not. Karen behind the bar and Johnny (who I think is the restaurant manager) were both absoloutley lovely and very helpful and informative. Will definateley be going back. Karen and Dave Cornwall

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curlylenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on our way down to Devon just for a night and what a good choice got it for a steal of a price and got a lot more than we were expecting for what was paid breakfast has to have a 10 because it was probably the best choice I've seen thanx for a great nights sleep

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom Ronald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimbolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

After an absence of 2 years I thought it only fair to give the Corner a second visit. Some welcome improvements, but some thing have not changed.

Others have criticised the décor but I found it a pleasant coastal/seaside feel. Not perhaps traditional Somerset but I enjoyed the spacious feel. The room was fell fitted for the business traveller and the free wifi is always appreciated. The was a strange drone throughout the hotel until about 11ish associated I assume with the kitchen ventilation.

My meals were excellent and I appreciated the landlords suggestions and advice on wines to suit the meal. The sausages are the signature dish but all the other meals I saw looked excellent.

It did surprise me that breakfast was offered to me at the front desk for £5, but on the Late rooms the difference between a Standard double room with and without breakfast is £16. I hope this is just a technical error. If not, I would be very upset.

As has been mentioned several times - parking is a significant issue, particularly in a modern family car. If there were a way of paying to reserve a space I would be happy, and perhaps an investment in a bollard or two to stop people parking in the exit should be considered.

Overall a great little hotel to use as a base to explore Taunton and the Somerset region - particularly if you are not driving.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puzafriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Totham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Spent two nights here on business. Very welcoming reception staff and an efficient check in. My room was clean and modern but very small. No drawers at all, no bedside tables and a half length wardrobe. Unable to unpack or even hang my coat up. The half wardrobe contained a trestle for unpacking a suitcase but there was not enough floor space to erect it! There was also a small electric fire under the table, possibly quite dangerous in such a small room, but it didn't seem to be working. I struggled to do any work on my computer, there was just no space.
Breakfast was very nice with excellent service but I don't like eating in absolute silence. Some background music would have made it a more pleasant and relaxed experience.
Maybe the hotel could try and put guests in a larger room if they have luggage, are on a business trip or are staying for more than one night.

Room Tip: If you have luggage or want to stay for a while, ask for a big room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
5.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#17 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
0.4 mi away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#10 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House Hotel

Property: The Corner House Hotel
Address: Park Street, Taunton TA1 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned character hotel ideal for both business and leisure travellers. Within walking distance of the centre of Somerset's County town Taunton, this 45 bedroom hotel has been transformed to meet the demands of the modern day traveller. Late 2015 the complete refurbishment of the bar & restaurant has created a relaxed drinking and dining venue. Ideal for business or pleasure. Emphasis has been placed on developing a simple yet stylish and comfortable sleeping experience. All rooms have linen duvets, ample work space, refrigerators with complimentary bottled water and fresh milk, flat screen televisions and sparkling en-suite facilities. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. A flexible combination of meeting and eating rooms and excellent road and rail connections make the Corner House a convenient location for day and residential meetings. The hotel has on site car parking and is in an ideal location for visiting many of the nearby Somerset attractions or as a stopover en-route to or from the Cornish peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Corner House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hotel Taunton
The Corner House Hotel Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing