We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay with some amazing food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Corner House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Had to stay here due to work but was pleasantly surprised! Rooms were clean and tidy and comfortable. Nice a quiet room with no noise. The food was the best part especially the evening meal. Definitely worth a visit next time!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrVJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed your comments around the team especially the chef! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

586 - 592 of 837 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2013

Absolutely awful and dirty hotel. Dead insect and feces found in bed, manager would not change our room, instead told us to leave if we didn't like it. This was at 9pm at night, on Valentines day. Because we got the room at a budget price, the manager asked us "What did we expect"?

Avoid at all costs. Manager was rude, aggressive and argumentative.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank kittykitchnvegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

We are writing to confirm that you review of the Corner House Hotel is not a true account. We understand that you have been in touch with our Head Office who have responded accordingly. Due to a legal investigation we are unable to comment any further. We trust our customers that they will read this review in its true light.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed I night at the Corner House Hotel & found the staff there very courteous & helpful. The room was larger than expected as, in the booking it was said to be a compact room, with a large bed & well-stocked mini-bar including plenty of milk for tea & coffee. Breakfast was of good quality & well presented. The only downside was the traffic noise as our room was at the front & we were unable to open the window because of that. However, the location is great for access to the town centre

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flannos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we were pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.

Whilst you booked a Compact Room you received a complimentary upgrade on arrival to a Large Double Room. We always give our guests an upgrade based upon availability as a gesture of goodwill. I will liase with the reception team to ensure that this is being advised on check-in.

We do take constructive comments seriously and can only apologise for the noise from the road. The building is a listed building and so does have the original sash windows combined with secondary glazing which keeps the character of the building. We will look at the room that you stayed in to ensure that the secondardy glazing is correctly fitted. We are in the process of planning a full refurbishment of our bedrooms and will bear this in mind.

We have passed your kind comments to the team and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Due to the reviews I was expecting a smallish room but the room was really lovely (rm 40) and great value for money. We had a fridge in the room with a small carton of milk and large bottle of water that was complementary, which was great. The room was on the ground floor with a spacious bedroom and shower room and there were french doors to a patio area. This was a great place to have a glass of wine before dinner that we had bought from the wine shop at the hotel - really good value. I had booked dinner, bed and breakfast for 2 nights and the food in the restaurant was lovely. I would recommend the minted rump of lamb which was very tender. The service on the whole was excellent except for the young boy at breakfast who was hopeless! The hotel is just walking distance of the town centre which had a good selection of shops and I also went to the Castle Museum which was really interesting and free.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamC149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Thank you for your review and very kind comments which are much appreciated.

It is always a pleasure to welcome guests to the Corner House Hotel and we were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

The room you stayed in was Room 40 which is one of our Large Double Rooms with its own patio and seating area outside perfect for the sunny evenings.

We are always looking at training and our young gentlemen who served you your breakfast is going through a training programme for service procedures and customer care.

It was a real pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Stayed one night on business in Taunton. Good and bad points to this hotel. On the plus side the reception staff were helpful in allowing me to arrive in the morning and leave my car in the car park all day whilst I walked to the hospital where I was delivering training. All the food I had was lovely apart from very cold spring greens with the evening meal.

On the bad side though:

A gap under the bedroom door which was big enough for a person to bend door and peek in if they so wished - which made me feel very vulnerable and uncomfortable. Also meant that despite placing the spare pillows across the door way I was woken at the crack of dawn to sun light pouring in to the room.

Chipped coffee cup on the drinks making facility tray.

Very shabby décor throughout the room and in particular the door in to the bathroom - a peculiar sliding door which looked as if it was last painted before the smoking ban came in to place - i.e. yellow!! Yuk.

Tiny bathroom - so small it felt extremely claustrophic when shutting the door but unfortunately it was impossible to stand at the sink to brush teeth or wash hands without shutting the sliding door at least half way. Horrible!!

A very poor water flow from the shower and not able to get the water temperature up high enough to have a decent shower - very disappointing.

In spite of the nice food in the restaurant I was not happy about the overbearing nature of the waiter who just stood watching whilst diners ate....I am sure he intended to be attentive but it came across as creepy!!

Although I didn't experience the holding of credit cards as was the case of other reviewers - I did feel that the tactic of bringing bottled water to the table without being asked was an attempt to get another couple of quid out of every one they possibly could as I am sure that many people would not realise this was not complimentary - I simply left mine unopened and checked my bill to check it was not charged for. It was fine but I didn't appreciate the tactic.

Overall I was disappointed with the room - the location was great for my needs, and the food was really nice, but I would not stay again through choice and if circumstance requires me to stay again I would make sure I did not get room 35 again!!!

Room Tip: Avoid the compact rooms - the bathroom I had was ridiculously small (room 35)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonReesW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your constructive comments.

It is clear that on this occasion you did not enjoy our usual guest experience and as such please accept my personal apologies.

We are in the process of planning a full refurbishment programme for our bedrooms and in the meantime have just launched our new concept room (Room 4) which has been received extremely well.

I understand that you were staying in one of our Compact Double Rooms which whilst compact suitable for single occupancy do offer value for money in providing en suite facilities, free WiFi, complimentary carton of fresh milk in the mini bar fridge and free onsite car parking.

Guests are able to for a small supplement upgrade to a Standard Double Room or one of Large Double Rooms with a king size bed and the same facilities as above.

We will address the points that you have raised including a draft excluder for the base of your door.

We do hope that you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Hello travellers, I took a group of 13 people to the Corner House Hotel for around 4 to 5 nights back in March, my Title says the good and the bad. I will try to explain as brief as possible.
starting with
The Good
The rooms were very adequate and clean. the breakfasts are excellent, the staff are excellent and very helpful and very well mannered throughout this establishment.
The Bad
Should you fancy a single Vodka and Coke? then take £5.25 out of your wallet and say good bye, Drinks are london prices in fine hotels.
The Ugly
Upon arrival the very nice well mannered reception staff take your card details, its usual right?
The well mannered reception staff tell you that "this is just to get you booked in and NO Money will leave your account" However here is the catch - what this hotel did was to effectivly ring fence (freeze) the entire 5 day room cost, so if you stay for 5 days as some of our 13 people did then the best part of £400.00 was not availiable to you. one person who was on a budget went for a nice meal out and upon being presented with his bill he then found out he had insufficent funds to pay for it. bearing in mind he the money in cash at the hotel for his room mate to pay on departure. every person in our party was totally disgusted with this underhanded and deceptive sharp business practice. so just beware as the staff are well versed in saying no money will leave your account. however the hotel is good and breakfast is amazing as are the staff, it was just their buisness practice that warrented my review.
I complained to their head office and they said they would look at this situation for the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esoxpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Thank you for your recent review and the kind comments following your recent stay at the Corner House Hotel.

I am sorry that our policy of pre-authorisation caused members of your party problems. Like many hotels worldwide The Corner House uses pre-authorisation to protect us from fraud.
We apply it to all non-account reservations so that there is no subjectivity .

I will outline the basis of the pre-authorisation procedure and then outline possible changes that we may make following your comments.

Pre-authorisation is a banking term describing a practice where money is not taken from the payee's account at the moment the transaction is made, but is reserved pending the completion of the transaction. Whilst reserved the money is not available to the customer.

When the transaction is completed e.g. the hotel bill is settled using the same payment card, the final amount is charged as normal and the pre-authorisation is cancelled releasing the reserved funds.

Where a pre-authorisation is done on a credit card, the reserved funds are allocated from within the credit limit of the card. Generally there is sufficient headroom within the credit limit of the card that there is no detrimental effect to the customer.

Where a pre-authorisation is done on a debit card, the reserved funds are allocated from the balance on the underlying bank account. This is more likely to cause inconvenience to the customer if the account is close to its limit or the customer has other purchases that are to be done with that card.

Problems may also arise if the pre-authorisation transaction is not completed generally this will be where a different card is used to settle the account.. Again with a credit card this generally will not be a problem, but with a debit card the funds will remain frozen and unavailable.

Non completed pre-authorised transaction do automatically get cancelled the timeframe for this varies according to the card issuer 1- 5 days on debit cards, while credit card pre-authorisation periods can be longer.

Corner House Procedures.

We will retrain our staff to give a fuller explanation of the process and the possible problems listed above. We will provide an explanation in our room information.

We will encourage customers to pre-authorise using a credit card rather than a debit card (for reasons listed above) I will re-investigate if there is a method of cancelling pre-authorised transactions manually failing this we will investigate introducing a 1p transaction procedure whereby we will give customers pre-authorising with a debit card a 1p coin and then always complete the transaction for 1p to complete the pre-authorisation.

Thank you again for your constructive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Stayed here for one night as a family, had a double and a twin room. Good location not far from the shops and within easy walking distance. Nicely presented hotel and friendly staff. Our rooms you had to go outside to reach them, we didn't find this to be a problem as it is only a few steps. The only criticism would be that we were by this entrance door which was self closing and did then tend to close with a bang so every time anyone went in or out we heard the bang, fortunately for us no-one came in late or left too early so ok whilst in bed but this of course will be dependant on the various guests staying there, be nice if door can be slightly tweaked to avoid the bang. The food was very nice and nicely presented and good service, good choice of breakfast. Rooms were very nice for our short stay with good powerful shower. We were close to a busy road but we were not disturbed by any road noise. We will stay there again if in the area.

Room Tip: Not near the door if going to the outside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flexible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I understand that you were staying in Room 40 which is one of our Large Rooms on the ground floor that has a patio with seating outside.

Our maintenance team have had a look at the front door to ensure that it does not bang when closing. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
5.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#15 of 17 in Taunton
194 reviews
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Taunton
Days Inn Taunton
#16 of 17 in Taunton
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
0.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House Hotel

Address: Park Street, Taunton TA1 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range: £53 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned character hotel ideal for both business and leisure travellers. Within walking distance of the centre of Somerset's County town Taunton, this 45 bedroom hotel has been transformed to meet the demands of the modern day traveller. Late 2015 the complete refurbishment of the bar & restaurant has created a relaxed drinking and dining venue. Ideal for business or pleasure. Emphasis has been placed on developing a simple yet stylish and comfortable sleeping experience. All rooms have linen duvets, ample work space, refrigerators with complimentary bottled water and fresh milk, flat screen televisions and sparkling en-suite facilities. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. A flexible combination of meeting and eating rooms and excellent road and rail connections make the Corner House a convenient location for day and residential meetings. The hotel has on site car parking and is in an ideal location for visiting many of the nearby Somerset attractions or as a stopover en-route to or from the Cornish peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Corner House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hotel Taunton
The Corner House Hotel Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing