We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and friendly hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Corner House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Corner House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable and friendly hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We always stay at The Corner House in Taunton when we visit my home town - must have stayed about a dozen times and can honestly say it's always been very comfortable, clean and although we sometimes get quite small room, many times we've been upgraded to a much larger room. It's very convenient to walk into the town centre and although parking is very tight in the car park, you have to breathe in on the way out !!! - it's great to have somewhere safe to leave the car. Will be booking again for another stay very soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mari0n10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    265
    177
    106
    72
See reviews for
75
280
63
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

I felt the standard of the room was very basic. It had everything you needed but somehow the quality was missing a little (i.e. very cheap desk that bowed in the middle. Adequate to work from but poor by some standards. Wifi kept dropping out too). The room I was given was on the first floor in the "Annex" / house next door. This room was very noisey indeed. You could hear a lot, from the slam of a door downstairs to muffled conversations in the room next door. It gave an otherwise nice room the feeling of a cheap bedsit! My tip would be to ask to stay in the main buidling as these rooms looked much nicer.
However, The food in the restaurant was exceptional for the price. I had great food both nights and great service in the restaurant despite dining on my own and one of the nights being valentines night! Breakfast was equally delicious and well portioned the next morning. I would stay again, not for the rooms but for the food, and because it was good value. I would ask to stay in the main house though. A few extra quid spent on the rooms and it would be a great hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay in Annex / house next door. These rooms need a refurb and some sound proofing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TimandLucyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Being the owner of a four star establishment on the Isle of Wight I tend to be rather critical of other establishments I visit. However, my experience when staying at Corner House Taunton was without doubt a most memorable one.
The Hotel overall was spotlessly clean as indeed my room. The room was equipped with all that one needed and more.

The staff were professional and friendly but not intrusive. Nothing was too much trouble.

It would be difficult to select one member of staff who stands out above all others for all seemed to have the same goal, i.e. to ensure guests were comfortable and relaxed and in my case they certainly did just that.

Cost of rooms are kept to a minimum. Food was prepared to the highest quality with good presentation and service was excellent.

What more can one say "Thank you" to the staff for, with all your hard work, making The Corner House the place to stay.

Whilst aptly names Corner House, for it does sit on a corner, I would be inclined to change its name to "The Better Place" for that indeed is what it is.and I will most certainly make a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights at £40 a night as a person on my own i booked a small double this was a lovely room with free shower gel and shampoo, a fridge with free fresh bottle water and milk the real stuff .I paid extra for breakfast but it was well worth it and dinner was simple but very very good, the employees at this hotel are friendly and very helpful. i will be back soon

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank englishfrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

Welcome was really nice, plus I was helped with the door as I was struggling with my luggage.
Room quite small (room 29), needs a refurb, but nice nonetheless. room was overlooking the car park, noise early morning ??with laundry etc being put out for collection, but I'm an early riser so this didn't concern me, & i like to keep an eye on my car! Slept really well, bedding white, fresh and crisp, lovely.
Toiletries good, also having a mini fridge stocked with goodies and fresh milk was so so nice, as was the fresh flower a very nice touch. Hair dryer and iron with ironing board present but not used.
Struggled with Wifi, but i think this was down to me!
Didn't eat, my choice,but if the smells were anything to go by plus the number of people in the restaurant, it's must have been good. The hotel had its own wine shop, all wines were reasonably priced, didn't purchase any, set in my ways, like only 1 type of wine, perhaps I should have been a little adventurous.
A pleasant stay, more importantly I would stay again. The room I was in was fine for 1 person, 2 would have been a little too cosy for myself and husband.
Thank you to all for a nice stay, 3 nights in total ( 7-9th May'13)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E1OVO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Ideally situated within 15 minutes of Taunton rail and bus station, the high street and two major supermarkets. The reception area, bar and restaurant are clean, light, cosy and welcoming. The Staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are very clean and have modern decor. I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Room was very dated and needed a really good clean. There were cobwebs apparent in the French doors and in the corners of the bathroom. The top filter of the radiator was filled with dust and grime. Having said that the food was excellent. Both evening meal and breakfast were good portions, well cooked and good value for the cost. I
Liked the idea of the fridge In the room but it was so old the noise kept me awake

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank direalale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#17 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
0.4 mi away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#10 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House Hotel

Property: The Corner House Hotel
Address: Park Street, Taunton TA1 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned character hotel ideal for both business and leisure travellers. Within walking distance of the centre of Somerset's County town Taunton, this 45 bedroom hotel has been transformed to meet the demands of the modern day traveller. Late 2015 the complete refurbishment of the bar & restaurant has created a relaxed drinking and dining venue. Ideal for business or pleasure. Emphasis has been placed on developing a simple yet stylish and comfortable sleeping experience. All rooms have linen duvets, ample work space, refrigerators with complimentary bottled water and fresh milk, flat screen televisions and sparkling en-suite facilities. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. A flexible combination of meeting and eating rooms and excellent road and rail connections make the Corner House a convenient location for day and residential meetings. The hotel has on site car parking and is in an ideal location for visiting many of the nearby Somerset attractions or as a stopover en-route to or from the Cornish peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your The Corner House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hotel Taunton
The Corner House Hotel Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing