We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Corner House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

we staying there when visiting my mum and the place feels really tired, rooms are dirty and the bed was poor too. I think they need to renovate before I would stay there again.

there is a distinct lack of quality hotels in Taunton which I find surprising.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wagster54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    270
    178
    108
    72
See reviews for
76
284
63
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

As a general rule I use Booking.com to get the best deals when visiting an area, normally it shows any particular hotel that has a good offer on. Imagine my surprise when due to an administrative error, (read I messed the dates up, if you want the truth), we arrived and there was no booking. After getting over the initial surprise, which I might add, the hotel dealt with professionally, (they didn't call me an idiot), I asked if they had any vacancies, which they did; we needed 2 doubles.
The initial price had been £65 through Booking.com, with no breakfast; there's always a Wetherspoon's close at hand which do excellent breakfast's at a fraction of the hotel price.
The Corner House offered us, as a special offer of, £69.95 including breakfast AND a 3 course evening meal. You would probably expect to be served a standard pub meal for this price, but no, we had a very good selection of chef's creations which were cooked to a good standard. The breakfast was also above standard.
The hotel has a very good selection of wines that can be purchased in bulk and with discounts.
The rooms we stayed in were quite basic but clean and tidy and certainly a longer stay would not have bothered us. Our family have stayed at the hotel previously in better rooms than we occupied, but at this price we have no complaints.
There is limited space for cars, but we had no problem parking there.
The staff are very enthusiastic and attentive.
If you are visiting Taunton then calling the Corner House Hotel direct is well worth the effort.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank leginld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

Very basic rooms but very good value. Great bar and restaurant downstairs. Would definitely return and recommend to others. Excellent location for Taunton centre. The guys behind the bar very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 33mojito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

If you are looking for a place with character, and not your cookie cutter type of hotel... this is it.
Really close to all the shops, the staff are lovely and the food is beautiful ♥
The best place to stay if you are in Taunton xxx

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chell2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We always stay at The Corner House in Taunton when we visit my home town - must have stayed about a dozen times and can honestly say it's always been very comfortable, clean and although we sometimes get quite small room, many times we've been upgraded to a much larger room. It's very convenient to walk into the town centre and although parking is very tight in the car park, you have to breathe in on the way out !!! - it's great to have somewhere safe to leave the car. Will be booking again for another stay very soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mari0n10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

I felt the standard of the room was very basic. It had everything you needed but somehow the quality was missing a little (i.e. very cheap desk that bowed in the middle. Adequate to work from but poor by some standards. Wifi kept dropping out too). The room I was given was on the first floor in the "Annex" / house next door. This room was very noisey indeed. You could hear a lot, from the slam of a door downstairs to muffled conversations in the room next door. It gave an otherwise nice room the feeling of a cheap bedsit! My tip would be to ask to stay in the main buidling as these rooms looked much nicer.
However, The food in the restaurant was exceptional for the price. I had great food both nights and great service in the restaurant despite dining on my own and one of the nights being valentines night! Breakfast was equally delicious and well portioned the next morning. I would stay again, not for the rooms but for the food, and because it was good value. I would ask to stay in the main house though. A few extra quid spent on the rooms and it would be a great hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay in Annex / house next door. These rooms need a refurb and some sound proofing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TimandLucyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Being the owner of a four star establishment on the Isle of Wight I tend to be rather critical of other establishments I visit. However, my experience when staying at Corner House Taunton was without doubt a most memorable one.
The Hotel overall was spotlessly clean as indeed my room. The room was equipped with all that one needed and more.

The staff were professional and friendly but not intrusive. Nothing was too much trouble.

It would be difficult to select one member of staff who stands out above all others for all seemed to have the same goal, i.e. to ensure guests were comfortable and relaxed and in my case they certainly did just that.

Cost of rooms are kept to a minimum. Food was prepared to the highest quality with good presentation and service was excellent.

What more can one say "Thank you" to the staff for, with all your hard work, making The Corner House the place to stay.

Whilst aptly names Corner House, for it does sit on a corner, I would be inclined to change its name to "The Better Place" for that indeed is what it is.and I will most certainly make a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
5.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#17 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
0.4 mi away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#10 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House Hotel

Property: The Corner House Hotel
Address: Park Street, Taunton TA1 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned character hotel ideal for both business and leisure travellers. Within walking distance of the centre of Somerset's County town Taunton, this 45 bedroom hotel has been transformed to meet the demands of the modern day traveller. Late 2015 the complete refurbishment of the bar & restaurant has created a relaxed drinking and dining venue. Ideal for business or pleasure. Emphasis has been placed on developing a simple yet stylish and comfortable sleeping experience. All rooms have linen duvets, ample work space, refrigerators with complimentary bottled water and fresh milk, flat screen televisions and sparkling en-suite facilities. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. A flexible combination of meeting and eating rooms and excellent road and rail connections make the Corner House a convenient location for day and residential meetings. The hotel has on site car parking and is in an ideal location for visiting many of the nearby Somerset attractions or as a stopover en-route to or from the Cornish peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Corner House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hotel Taunton
The Corner House Hotel Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing