We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff, Good Food, Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Corner House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, Good Food, Good location”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Located just a few minutes walk from the town centre.
The rooms are warm but noisy on the front of the building. the room I was given had a large zip and link bed,sash windows and plenty of space.
There was a bath and shower over it which was ok but not much power but warm.
Friendly breakfast staff and a good choice including cereals, juice, muffins, crumpets, fresh bread, ham, cheese, yoghurt, and a choice of cooked breakfast of English, kippers, haddock or Eggs Benedict. slight criticism but but hot food was delivered before I had finished eating cereals etc
Foe dinner we dined In the unfussy painted restaurant with wood tables which was light and airy. There is a good menu with local steak and sausages, pies and various other dishes. The 2 course meal is £13.95 and the 3 course meal £15.95 before 7pm. Good wine selection.

Room Tip: For quiet rooms ask for one away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANGIEB60187059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    277
    181
    111
    74
See reviews for
80
289
67
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I know a lot of negative things have been written about this hotel but my family and I had a great experience there. It is a small hotel and we all stayed in the annex - the rooms and shower/toilet were very adequate and clean - the bed was comfortable and no noise from the road - there was also heating in the morning and evening which proved very nice as the weather was less than hospitable. The food was very good - you must try their range of sausages platter and the wine was excellent and not over priced. The staff were very welcoming and always pleased to see us when we came into the main part of the hotel. There is a lack of hotels in Taunton but I would certainly stay here again - it has a lovely atmosphere and ambience and, also, the personal touch that is sadly lacking in the new shiny modern hotels.

Room Tip: I would say ask for an annex room which is where we stayed but I didn't see the rooms in the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellis1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Only a few minor points let this hotel down, but nothing that major that we wouldnt return. Friendly welcome however although the hotel knew what time we were arriving and being told that our room was ready we had housekeeping barge in before we had a chance to open door or shout out. Only one plug we could find which was under a desk and mugs in room werent matching in size and one chipped and one stained. However room was spotless and the whole refrigerated milk was genius and a lot could learned from this, water in room was also a bonus. Not sure £1 for a can a coke which clearly says it is from a multi pack and mustnt be sold separately is a bargain but there you go. Bar staff were helpful in their knowledge of products on what to drink and buy. Menu was vast and even though a meat eater i went for the veggie option for lunch which was a mushroom pie with new potatoes and a tomato sauce, husband went for gammon, egg and chips. Both were outstanding.. The next morning we were asked what we wanted for breakfast, i had asked beforehand whether the hotel had a GF breakfast and was told that as long as no sausage or black pudding or toast was ordered it would be fine, and they had GF bread available. Waitress the next am wasnt aware of this but they delivered the goods, again the veggie breakfast of eggs florentine was amazing. Staff were outstanding but only complaint was that there were a lot of slamming doors which kept me awake. Both hotel doors themselves and the main door but as we were there on a week day, imagine this was business people on their way to work so cant imagine this would be a prob on a weekend or in main hotel. Would return.

Room Tip: We went on a week day and were in a room 40+. Not only were main hotel doors slamming but so was m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

we staying there when visiting my mum and the place feels really tired, rooms are dirty and the bed was poor too. I think they need to renovate before I would stay there again.

there is a distinct lack of quality hotels in Taunton which I find surprising.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wagster54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taunton hotels

Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

As a general rule I use Booking.com to get the best deals when visiting an area, normally it shows any particular hotel that has a good offer on. Imagine my surprise when due to an administrative error, (read I messed the dates up, if you want the truth), we arrived and there was no booking. After getting over the initial surprise, which I might add, the hotel dealt with professionally, (they didn't call me an idiot), I asked if they had any vacancies, which they did; we needed 2 doubles.
The initial price had been £65 through Booking.com, with no breakfast; there's always a Wetherspoon's close at hand which do excellent breakfast's at a fraction of the hotel price.
The Corner House offered us, as a special offer of, £69.95 including breakfast AND a 3 course evening meal. You would probably expect to be served a standard pub meal for this price, but no, we had a very good selection of chef's creations which were cooked to a good standard. The breakfast was also above standard.
The hotel has a very good selection of wines that can be purchased in bulk and with discounts.
The rooms we stayed in were quite basic but clean and tidy and certainly a longer stay would not have bothered us. Our family have stayed at the hotel previously in better rooms than we occupied, but at this price we have no complaints.
There is limited space for cars, but we had no problem parking there.
The staff are very enthusiastic and attentive.
If you are visiting Taunton then calling the Corner House Hotel direct is well worth the effort.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank leginld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

Very basic rooms but very good value. Great bar and restaurant downstairs. Would definitely return and recommend to others. Excellent location for Taunton centre. The guys behind the bar very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 33mojito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2013

If you are looking for a place with character, and not your cookie cutter type of hotel... this is it.
Really close to all the shops, the staff are lovely and the food is beautiful ♥
The best place to stay if you are in Taunton xxx

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chell2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
644 reviews
5.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#17 of 17 in Taunton
182 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House Hotel

Property: The Corner House Hotel
Address: Park Street, Taunton TA1 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned character hotel ideal for both business and leisure travellers. Within walking distance of the centre of Somerset's County town Taunton, this 45 bedroom hotel has been transformed to meet the demands of the modern day traveller. Late 2015 the complete refurbishment of the bar & restaurant has created a relaxed drinking and dining venue. Ideal for business or pleasure. Emphasis has been placed on developing a simple yet stylish and comfortable sleeping experience. All rooms have linen duvets, ample work space, refrigerators with complimentary bottled water and fresh milk, flat screen televisions and sparkling en-suite facilities. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. A flexible combination of meeting and eating rooms and excellent road and rail connections make the Corner House a convenient location for day and residential meetings. The hotel has on site car parking and is in an ideal location for visiting many of the nearby Somerset attractions or as a stopover en-route to or from the Cornish peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Corner House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hotel Taunton
The Corner House Hotel Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing