We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cricket weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Corner House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The Hotel is an interesting old building. The staff were friendly, and it was good to have parking on site. The breakfast was very good. The only thing wrong was the size of our room and bathroom. Both much too small. My bed was against the wall with no bedside cabinets, and only one chair.

Room Tip: Ask about the size of room before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianaS645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Whilst we understand that you enjoyed the most of your stay we do take on board the constructive comments about the size of our Compact Double Rooms. We do clearly stipulate the size of our Compact Double Rooms, Standard Double Rooms and Large Double Rooms on all the websites that enable you to make a reservation. We do advise that our Compact Double Rooms are preferable for single occupancy however with rooms from £30 it is excellent value if a couple do decide to reserve a Compact Double Room. Alternatively they could book a Standard Double Room from £50 or a Large Double Room from £70. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and would recommend booking a Standard Double or Large Double Room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

549 - 555 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2013

Mis-heard room number, but room card let us into the wrong room. Unpacked then asked to move room, no assistance offered and poor attitude from staff. The room we ended up in was just about a double, small bed and the bathroom was a joke. We have used this hotel in the past but will not be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review however I was concerned to hear that clearly did not receive our usual guest experience. Please may I kindly ask you to contact me directly upon which I trust that we can resolve this matter. We do try to promote our Compact Double Rooms as compact and advise on room size in all room description. We always advise that a couple book a Standard Double or Large Double as Compact Double whilst offering great value for money are preferable to single occupancy. Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We decided to use the corner house hotel in Taunton as a stop gap on route to cornwall. We arrived at the reception, to be greeted by the male receptionist who as we were stood waiting for him to finish chatting to another member of staff then answered the phone instead of greeting us. Eventually we spoke and myself and my partner found him to be quite abrupt and to the point. We were then shown to our room, which for £30 was very good value. Rather small, but clean and up together. We also had our dog with us, and patio doors so we could easily let her out.
We later on went for dinner in the restaurant but were advised that we had to get out order in by 7pm to take advantage of the offer of two courses for £13.95. However half of the menu there was a £3 surcharge for meals. We eventually decided what to have an were served by a very new member of staff. She stated on a couple of occasions that she had a memory like a sieve and kept forgetting what we had ordered. We then waited for approx half an hour for our starter of a plate of sausages, when we asked the waitress what the sausages were she couldn't remember half of them. We then waited some more for the main course, which was delicious!!
We ordered a bottle of wine, which cost £5 extra to have at the table instead of taking away...
As lovely as the food was the restaurant lacked ambience and atmosphere.
We then went to the room and struggled to sleep as it was so hot and no windows to open.
Breakfast was lovely, but again service really not good, I felt that the staff didn't know what they were doing.
Checked out and bill was wrong, which I had to tell them, and even now I'm still not convinced it was right what I paid, but the same man on reception was quite rude about it, so I didn't argue.
I would go back for the food, but that is all I'm afraid.
Also the milk in the room which was complimentary was out of date!

Room Tip: As for one with a window so as you can get some air in the night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debs381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

There was a group of 5 of us that stayed at this hotel, we found the hotel very clean and the service was very good, all the staff were very nice and polite. We would stay here again as so close to the town, We didn't have dinner in the hotel but the breakfast was really good.

Room Tip: Compact rooms are small but sufficient if only staying 1 night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

had a gr8 time, will definitely stay here again. so easy to get to easy access to the car park close to the town center, having a room outside away from the building was amazing for couples.
breakfast is a must too

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank matty433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We booked this hotel many months in advance, along with other members of a wedding party. We arrived exhausted after a long drive to find that out family room was directly above the function room where a party was in full swing and went on until midnight. The floor shook and the noise was ridiculous. The receptionist was no help but the duty manager did at least admit that it was a mistake to put us in this room when we were not attending the party. He called another hotel but they could not accommodate us. He then offered a discount but was unavailable when we checked out and so we were told that someone would be in touch regarding this. We paid in full but have heard nothing at all. The room was grubby and dated. The window didn't close properly and overlooked the area where guests smoked. As a non smoker it was horrible. All around the hotel the paintwork was grubby around door handles etc. The only good thing about the stay was the breakfast, but that wasn't as good on the second day. I would never return and wish I had booked a Travelodge for 1/5th of the price! There was also a lack of parking due to the function and no parking on the road outside.

Room Tip: Ensure that you are not above the function room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Will definitely stay here again. Very easy and great location for the town centre for bars, dinner and shopping. We had a small double room, but were advised of this and the price reflected that. Bar area and breakfast really good too.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deannah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
676 reviews
5.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
0.5 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#15 of 17 in Taunton
190 reviews
1.1 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#8 of 17 in Taunton
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House Hotel

Address: Park Street, Taunton TA1 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range: £53 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned character hotel ideal for both business and leisure travellers. Within walking distance of the centre of Somerset's County town Taunton, this 45 bedroom hotel has been transformed to meet the demands of the modern day traveller. Late 2015 the complete refurbishment of the bar & restaurant has created a relaxed drinking and dining venue. Ideal for business or pleasure. Emphasis has been placed on developing a simple yet stylish and comfortable sleeping experience. All rooms have linen duvets, ample work space, refrigerators with complimentary bottled water and fresh milk, flat screen televisions and sparkling en-suite facilities. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. A flexible combination of meeting and eating rooms and excellent road and rail connections make the Corner House a convenient location for day and residential meetings. The hotel has on site car parking and is in an ideal location for visiting many of the nearby Somerset attractions or as a stopover en-route to or from the Cornish peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Corner House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hotel Taunton
The Corner House Hotel Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing