We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“iapowys”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Corner House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“iapowys”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I pre-booked a DBB night at The Corner House at the end of August. Accommodation and the tight crowded car park were very satisfactory, the basic room was clean, well stocked and quiet overlooking the parking area. Dinner in the restaurant was something else, untrained staff, all friendly and polite, were unable to cope with the volume of business and the kitchen, while producing fairly satisfactory food, was very stretched. Those on the next table to me were served their vegetables when they had finished their main course and were given a bottle of wine to compensate! On departure I asked to see a duty manager - there was no one on duty. I advised the receptionist, who indicated that he was in the restaurant the previous evening, that I suspect he was the headless chicken causing even more chaos. Some real management skill, and staff training, could really make this into a great little hotel - bring back Sir Maxwell Joseph!

Room Tip: rear of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iapowys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    282
    184
    114
    74
See reviews for
84
293
68
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Staff were more than helpful, restaurant food was excellent and very varied - great veggie options, and the ambience in the bar/restaurant was particularly likeable. They clearly know their drinks - wine and beer lovers haven. Plenty of room in the bedroom, even though they are honest enough to describe them as 'standard'. was priced similarly to other hotels in Taunton, but thought this was much better value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VICKI186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Lovely hotel and friendly staff, spotlessly clean rooms. The food was amazing, we booked bed breakfast and dinner and expected to get a set menu but was pleasantly surprised when we could choose anything from the menu, don't know who the chef is but he/she is excellent.
Although the hotel is old, and I expect has to adhere to planning etc, it has been decorated and modified tastefully. I would have given 6 stars but our room at the front was rather noisy, more especially I think, because the hotel is situated at traffic lights and emergency vehicles seem to use their sirens to get through them quickly on the way to the nearby hospital.
We didn't know when we booked, but the Taunton Flower and produce show was taking place when we were there and we'll certainly book again to go next year.

Room Tip: Room at the back if you want a quiet night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milly438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

As has been said the food is very good and there were no errors with our dinner. It was a shame that the breakfast sausage was not as good as the night before.

The room was in a poor state of repair and it felt grubby, although it may not have been. We didn't feel we could take a shower or have a bath . . . but for the price I suppose it was OK . . . BUT! The windows were in a very shabby state and the curtains horrid.
Service was OK, but the male on reception was not good. We discovered in the morning that we had no toiletries, but it was too late by then. When I mentioned it at reception I was told I should have done something about it sooner!!!
After we left we thought we'd left our phone charger there and rang to ask. The female on reception said she would ring me back and 3 weeks later, I still haven't heard. That is very poor.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Trainers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Using this whilst working in Taunton. The room is clean, relatively cheap (I paid £65 a night most of the time) and well positioned. It has a restaurant where they serve breakfast (pay for this when you check-n not during the booking, its cheaper) and a nice bar when you can chill after work.

The internet connection is a bit flaky but I managed to get 4G some of the time.

Overall its nice enough place and worth the money. I have and would stay again

Room Tip: There is a Tesco just round the corner if you don't fancy eating in the restaurant which can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel at the weekend and whilst it was ok, there were a few things which would have made it so much better. We went for a standard double which was very basic for the price. There was a crack in the window, and the basin in the bathroom had not been cleaned properly (and was not while we were there). There are no bedside tables or even a small shelf to put your bedtime drink/book on, despite there being room. We ate in the restaurant on Friday evening, with a table booked for 8.15pm. We weren't called through until 8.45 and didn't have anything to eat until gone 9. Service was poor, with our vegetables not being brought until we had finished our main courses! So they were taken away again - and put on the bill! On the Saturday morning we were not greeted or shown a table for breakfast and I had to grab someone passing to ask for some tea and toast. Extra toast was ordered but never showed up. For the extra we paid, the breakfast was really disappointing. On the Sunday, service was much better, and seemed to rely on someone who hadn't been there on Saturday holding everyone together. On the whole, I wouldn't recommend this hotel unless you get one of the £30 deals I have been reading in other reviews - in which case it is probably good value for money!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views - ours was of a roof covered in fag butts and was overlooked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammy_Toucan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Our destination was actually Torquay, but we chose to stay at The Corner House because of the price, especially over the August bank holiday. Some reviews have not been so kind but we decided to take a chance and we're very pleased we did! From the outside, the hotel looked beautiful - clean, tidy and very welcoming, as were all the indoor communal areas. All staff were very friendly, tentative & helpful. We had booked a 'compact double' but we have a 10 month old baby, so I telephoned once we'd booked to let them know we'd be bringing our own travel cot. I was informed that they would do their best to put us in a room with more floor space. The only slight criticism I have is that our room was on the second floor, & approached only via one decent staircase and one very steep & narrow staircase. Had we known this, we possibly would have asked for a room on the first floor. However, it didn't actually cause much hassle and we hadn't taken a lot of luggage with us (just pointing out in case it can be useful to anyone else!) We had dinner in the hotel restaurant on our first night - the food and service were excellent. They offer a nice menu and we took advantage of their early bird dinner offer. Our room, although very basic, was extremely clean and we have no negative comments to make. The room we stayed in was definitely not 'compact' in our opinion - our daughter had lots of floor space to crawl & play in! There was a travel cot already set up and an en-suite with a bath and overhead shower - very useful when travelling with a baby! Breakfast is possibly a little overpriced but saying that, the full English was very tasty! The quality of the ingredients is excellent, but perhaps should be served on smaller plates (perfectly adequate amount but looked slightly 'lost' on the large plates!) Overall, we had a fab stay and would not hesitate to book again in the future! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonnydt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
651 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
0.0 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#16 of 17 in Taunton
186 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House Hotel

Property: The Corner House Hotel
Address: Park Street, Taunton TA1 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned character hotel ideal for both business and leisure travellers. Within walking distance of the centre of Somerset's County town Taunton, this 45 bedroom hotel has been transformed to meet the demands of the modern day traveller. Late 2015 the complete refurbishment of the bar & restaurant has created a relaxed drinking and dining venue. Ideal for business or pleasure. Emphasis has been placed on developing a simple yet stylish and comfortable sleeping experience. All rooms have linen duvets, ample work space, refrigerators with complimentary bottled water and fresh milk, flat screen televisions and sparkling en-suite facilities. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. A flexible combination of meeting and eating rooms and excellent road and rail connections make the Corner House a convenient location for day and residential meetings. The hotel has on site car parking and is in an ideal location for visiting many of the nearby Somerset attractions or as a stopover en-route to or from the Cornish peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Corner House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hotel Taunton
The Corner House Hotel Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing