We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Corner House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Corner House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
surrey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Thank you Corner House”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed as a family of 3 (daughter of 13) on the 28 / 29 and 30th Aug 2013, staying in the new concept room (room 4).
This room is very nice and plenty big enough for three guests. Newly refurbished, clean and with excellent facilities. If I was to be critical, the traffic can be heard (it looks out onto a main junction) but theres not much the hotel can do about that. However, they could advise their staff to be much quieter in the early hours in the room directly above which is obviously being used for storage.
We booked dinner bed and breakfast and the food was excellent. Breakfasts are plentiful and the evening menu had lots of choice. Wines were superb and the bar a pleasent and cosy area.
There are lots of reports about the car parking but on this stay we found it to be fine. I feel that most of the issues are cars badly parked by residents or guests (not the fault of the hotel). We witnessed one car (large 4x4) experience extreme difficulty in getting out of the car park due to a car parked outside of a designated bay.
It's great location means exploring Somerset is made easy. Minehead beach / Dunster castle is about 40 mins drive and are well worth a visit.
Staff were polite and overall we had a very pleasant stay at this very reasonably priced hotel.
Thank you Corner House.

Room Tip: Room 4 concept room is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    277
    181
    111
    74
See reviews for
80
289
67
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

A colleague and I stayed here the night before a meeting we were hosting in the town and for certain, I will not be returning. Car parking - high risk of car being damaged! The car park is a tiny courtyard behind the building and on our arrival was beyond full with cars blocking other vehicles in. Under no circumstances did I feel comfortable leaving my car there, especially when it took about a 10-point turn to turn around. We ended up parking at a local car park, where it was free between 6pm - 8am. Checking in - despite our company booking online and providing payment details, we were informed our rooms were not paid for. Warning: they do not take payment upon booking and therefore we were asked to either pay our bill or get a colleague to send an email authorising payment on the original card and until it was paid we wouldn't be able to check in. Restaurant - whilst we waited for our payment issue to be resolved we decided to have dinner. The best thing by far of this experience was the food however despite the staff being friendly, they were understaffed and we ended up spending 2 hours having a 2 course meal - majority of the time waiting for orders to be taken/plates to be cleared away. Room - once we were checked in, it was a relief to see a bed; the room was pleasant enough although the plumbing was very noisy. And finally, the event that topped it off was that when we left the restaurant we asked the bill to be charged to one of our rooms, they acknowledged but despite waiting for further guidance, we just left and thought we'd deal with it in the morning. So there I am, exhausted after a long journey, drifting off to sleep and the phone rings at 09.55pm; it's the restaurant advising of non payment and can I settle, we left the restaurant early 2 hours ago! Worst hotel experience for a long time!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saffie1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taunton hotels

Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This hotel is well placed to the town and walks,it is unusual as you go into the main reception
At the side of the hotel,the receptionist was helpful in booking us in but did not give us information on where to have our breakfast or show us where to eat,room five is a bland room and in need of a makeover the carpet had large stains and the paint work needed some attention,the bath room was a good size,and you could purchase snacks at a very good price.we should have had bottled water but none available in the fridge.the five stars go to the breakfast well cooked and a very good service by the staff.the down side must be the very busy road,but a good short stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesly7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I cannot sum up in 200 words how bad the experience of staying at The Corner House Hotel was. It was a shambles from the start. Booking online would not work, so we phoned and booked the room but it took two days and three phone calls to get a manual email sent as confirmation, continuously being told that the system was down. In the evening we had a table booked in the restaurant, we had to wait over 30 minutes to place our order and then another 20 minutes for our puddings to be brought out. We were the only people there so I am not sure why we were ignored. We stayed in the disabled room on the ground floor as my husbands weak chest cannot manage stairs. We were warned this could be noisy as it is by the reception upon booking. This was an understatement. The people walking up and down the stairs directly through and above our ceiling kept us up until 3am and then the staff were back at 6am for set up. We did not stay the second night because of this and were offered no refund. We were in a rush to get away as we had a long trip home and I left my make up set behind. It is three weeks later, with numerous phone calls and they will not send the make up back to me. The Post Office told them they could not send make up. Well, I called Royal Mail and it is fine to send it where nothing is in a pressurised container. The manager has yet to return any call on this and no doubt I will have to replace over £100 of items. This on top of the £150 we lost on leaving early is intolerable. The overall experience has been of stress, disappointment and considering we were staying there to attend a local funeral, the worst part of our time in Taunton.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I pre-booked a DBB night at The Corner House at the end of August. Accommodation and the tight crowded car park were very satisfactory, the basic room was clean, well stocked and quiet overlooking the parking area. Dinner in the restaurant was something else, untrained staff, all friendly and polite, were unable to cope with the volume of business and the kitchen, while producing fairly satisfactory food, was very stretched. Those on the next table to me were served their vegetables when they had finished their main course and were given a bottle of wine to compensate! On departure I asked to see a duty manager - there was no one on duty. I advised the receptionist, who indicated that he was in the restaurant the previous evening, that I suspect he was the headless chicken causing even more chaos. Some real management skill, and staff training, could really make this into a great little hotel - bring back Sir Maxwell Joseph!

Room Tip: rear of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iapowys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Staff were more than helpful, restaurant food was excellent and very varied - great veggie options, and the ambience in the bar/restaurant was particularly likeable. They clearly know their drinks - wine and beer lovers haven. Plenty of room in the bedroom, even though they are honest enough to describe them as 'standard'. was priced similarly to other hotels in Taunton, but thought this was much better value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VICKI186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Lovely hotel and friendly staff, spotlessly clean rooms. The food was amazing, we booked bed breakfast and dinner and expected to get a set menu but was pleasantly surprised when we could choose anything from the menu, don't know who the chef is but he/she is excellent.
Although the hotel is old, and I expect has to adhere to planning etc, it has been decorated and modified tastefully. I would have given 6 stars but our room at the front was rather noisy, more especially I think, because the hotel is situated at traffic lights and emergency vehicles seem to use their sirens to get through them quickly on the way to the nearby hospital.
We didn't know when we booked, but the Taunton Flower and produce show was taking place when we were there and we'll certainly book again to go next year.

Room Tip: Room at the back if you want a quiet night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milly438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
644 reviews
5.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#17 of 17 in Taunton
181 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House Hotel

Property: The Corner House Hotel
Address: Park Street, Taunton TA1 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned character hotel ideal for both business and leisure travellers. Within walking distance of the centre of Somerset's County town Taunton, this 45 bedroom hotel has been transformed to meet the demands of the modern day traveller. Late 2015 the complete refurbishment of the bar & restaurant has created a relaxed drinking and dining venue. Ideal for business or pleasure. Emphasis has been placed on developing a simple yet stylish and comfortable sleeping experience. All rooms have linen duvets, ample work space, refrigerators with complimentary bottled water and fresh milk, flat screen televisions and sparkling en-suite facilities. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. A flexible combination of meeting and eating rooms and excellent road and rail connections make the Corner House a convenient location for day and residential meetings. The hotel has on site car parking and is in an ideal location for visiting many of the nearby Somerset attractions or as a stopover en-route to or from the Cornish peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Hotel.de, Odigeo, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Corner House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hotel Taunton
The Corner House Hotel Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing