We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & a good location on the edge of town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Corner House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We did not pay a lot for this room and it exceeded our expectations ,We were greeted by friendly staff,.The room was and clean rooms. We did had a compact double ,which we knew we were staying in before hand ,It was more than enough room for a short stay .The Bath room was quiet large and a big plus the towels were big white & soft fluffy

Room Tip: don,t have room 16 if your staying more than one night .There was a dull drone in the back ground mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

519 - 525 of 837 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

My first stay was in August for 5 nights with breakfast and the grand total was about £400 which I thought was extremely steep. When we got into our first room which was right at the top of the hotel we were shocked at how very small it was and the bathroom was merely a cupboard in the corner of the room so there wasn't very much privacy. The window had clearly been left wide open all day so it was a bit cold, there was a dirty wine glass and toilet paper scattered around the floor, and on the walls there was what appeared to be a smear of blood. At the price we paid I was shocked at the state it was in and we complained to reception straight away but because we had arrived very late and were tired we decided we'd stay in it for the night and deal with it the next morning when the manager arrived. We understood that it wasn't their fault and there was just a problem with the cleaning staff. The next day the manager came up to the room and was extremely apologetic and thankfully moved us to a lovely room on the first floor which was much larger and thankfully a lot cleaner, in fact it was absolutely perfect apart from the fact it was on a main corridor which people walk past all the time so it was quite noisy and we could hear people talking from time to time. The breakfast was absoutely lovely each morning and the location couldn't have been any better, my boyfriend was at work during the day so I spent most of my time walking around the shops which are only 5 minutes away and even found a little gem called Vivary Park where I ate lunch everyday. The staff were also very polite and friendly and after the first night I did thoroughly enjoy my stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayleigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

I have very little to say except that it was an excellent stay. Friendly staff, neat and clean rooms. Excellent view from my room as well.

Only negative about this hotel is the restaurant, and this is only the service I'm talking about. The service was SLOW! My wife had finished her meal before the waiter finally came with her water. I had to ask THREE times before a waiter came to our table to refill our drinks, as they were all busy chatting among their fellow staff. The food itself, though overpriced, was excellent.

Would DEFINITELY stay here again!

Stayed: September 2013
Thank Prophet_N7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Quite a nice room, with comfy pillows but quilt very thin and was cold during the night. Dinner was disappointing - ordered chicken which came pasted all over with thick yellow sauce that I had to scrape off. Breakfast was eggs benedict, but to my horror, it had exactly the same thick yellow paste all over it that I had scraped off my chicken the night before - yuk! As I was on my own in the restaurant which was quite empty, I would have thought the staff could have considered that I didn't really want to sit sandwiched in between two other tables with men, and facing another table with a solo male - felt a bit overlooked which wasn't very nice. I suppose I could have asked to move but didn't. There were private tables available, but I think the main consideration for the staff was to have all the clients lined up in a row for ease of service. Service was also a little slow, considerning there were 3 waitors and only 4 tables in use. Staff were quite helpful though with directions etc. and overall not too bad, but wouldn't stay there again given a choice. Didn't feel it was very good value for money, particularly the food prices for the quality (no veg with the chicken - extra charge for that).There was quite a lot of noise in the bedroom too from people walking about on the next floor up.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Booked through late rooms and got free breakfast deal. Requested quiet room on 1st floor and both requests actioned. Room larger than expected, well equipped and very clean. Only drawbacks were packed/cramped car park and the firedoors loud banging when they closed. Booked dinner on arrival special 241 sausage offer. The service in bar and restaurant a bit slow but food worth waiting for. Breakfast - an amazing range of options available - more choices than expected and much better quality than most chain hotels. Would definitely stay again at cost of under £50 pn.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fooksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed as a family of 3 (daughter of 13) on the 28 / 29 and 30th Aug 2013, staying in the new concept room (room 4).
This room is very nice and plenty big enough for three guests. Newly refurbished, clean and with excellent facilities. If I was to be critical, the traffic can be heard (it looks out onto a main junction) but theres not much the hotel can do about that. However, they could advise their staff to be much quieter in the early hours in the room directly above which is obviously being used for storage.
We booked dinner bed and breakfast and the food was excellent. Breakfasts are plentiful and the evening menu had lots of choice. Wines were superb and the bar a pleasent and cosy area.
There are lots of reports about the car parking but on this stay we found it to be fine. I feel that most of the issues are cars badly parked by residents or guests (not the fault of the hotel). We witnessed one car (large 4x4) experience extreme difficulty in getting out of the car park due to a car parked outside of a designated bay.
It's great location means exploring Somerset is made easy. Minehead beach / Dunster castle is about 40 mins drive and are well worth a visit.
Staff were polite and overall we had a very pleasant stay at this very reasonably priced hotel.
Thank you Corner House.

Room Tip: Room 4 concept room is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

A colleague and I stayed here the night before a meeting we were hosting in the town and for certain, I will not be returning. Car parking - high risk of car being damaged! The car park is a tiny courtyard behind the building and on our arrival was beyond full with cars blocking other vehicles in. Under no circumstances did I feel comfortable leaving my car there, especially when it took about a 10-point turn to turn around. We ended up parking at a local car park, where it was free between 6pm - 8am. Checking in - despite our company booking online and providing payment details, we were informed our rooms were not paid for. Warning: they do not take payment upon booking and therefore we were asked to either pay our bill or get a colleague to send an email authorising payment on the original card and until it was paid we wouldn't be able to check in. Restaurant - whilst we waited for our payment issue to be resolved we decided to have dinner. The best thing by far of this experience was the food however despite the staff being friendly, they were understaffed and we ended up spending 2 hours having a 2 course meal - majority of the time waiting for orders to be taken/plates to be cleared away. Room - once we were checked in, it was a relief to see a bed; the room was pleasant enough although the plumbing was very noisy. And finally, the event that topped it off was that when we left the restaurant we asked the bill to be charged to one of our rooms, they acknowledged but despite waiting for further guidance, we just left and thought we'd deal with it in the morning. So there I am, exhausted after a long journey, drifting off to sleep and the phone rings at 09.55pm; it's the restaurant advising of non payment and can I settle, we left the restaurant early 2 hours ago! Worst hotel experience for a long time!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saffie1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.5 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#15 of 17 in Taunton
196 reviews
5.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#6 of 17 in Taunton
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
401 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25
1.1 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House Hotel

Address: Park Street, Taunton TA1 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range: £52 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned character hotel ideal for both business and leisure travellers. Within walking distance of the centre of Somerset's County town Taunton, this 45 bedroom hotel has been transformed to meet the demands of the modern day traveller. Late 2015 the complete refurbishment of the bar & restaurant has created a relaxed drinking and dining venue. Ideal for business or pleasure. Emphasis has been placed on developing a simple yet stylish and comfortable sleeping experience. All rooms have linen duvets, ample work space, refrigerators with complimentary bottled water and fresh milk, flat screen televisions and sparkling en-suite facilities. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. A flexible combination of meeting and eating rooms and excellent road and rail connections make the Corner House a convenient location for day and residential meetings. The hotel has on site car parking and is in an ideal location for visiting many of the nearby Somerset attractions or as a stopover en-route to or from the Cornish peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Corner House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hotel Taunton
The Corner House Hotel Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing