We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Good hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Corner House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed last Sunday for one night, evening meal and breakfast included. Never been to Taunton before and saw the Hotel on the internet.
We booked 2 rooms for 2 couples and had a lovely short break at this lovely hotel.
The rooms are small but had everything you could need, including a carton of milk in the fridge for tea/coffee.
The barman/waiter who seemed to be on duty 24/7 was a credit to the hotel. He was always available and nothing was too much trouble for him. He gave us directions to other places in Taunton as well as looking after us at the hotel.
I would not hesitate to return in the future.

Room Tip: We had rooms 24 and 25. Small, but good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyjenx2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear tonyjenx2010,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Corner House Hotel, Taunton.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed your kind comments around the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights over 5 days on business. We asked for a king size bed and were told each time that that would be fine only to turn up each time to find they'd not organised this!
Secondly, the very tight car park only had space 1 night out of the 3 and we had to park at a paying car park 10 mins walk from the hotel.
Thirdly, the hotel prides itself on their "sausage and wine" restaurant. The sausages were excellent but the wine was distinctly average (some bottles on the wine menu are quite good, however). We also had to send back a rare ribeye which came very, very well done. We were disappointed with the knowledge of the wines from the bar staff. A little training wouldn't go amiss.
We won't be staying again and suggest you look elsewhere for a peaceful night's sleep in nice surroundings.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your recent review.

We were concerned to learn of your recent experience and as such please accept our apologies.

Please may you contact me directly to discuss your experience further - Email manager@corner-house.co.uk

Look forward to speaking to you soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The first time that I have stayed at The Corner House for a couple of years. The food was reasonably good and the staff friendly and helpful but the accommodation is looking tried and in need of some TLC. On future visits to Taunton I would eat there but find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 101dot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear 101dot,

Thank you for your review further to your recent stay with us.

We were concerned to hear that you did not quite enjoy your stay with us and as such please accept our apologies.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed our dining experience and have passed your kind comments around the team.

We have recently launched our new concept bedroom which has been well received and is now the template to roll out across all of our bedrooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon when hopefully we can show you the new room.

Look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Room 16 is above the bins and smells damp so with window open you get a wake up call of breaking bottles or have a smelly room. The room was small and poorly laid out. Received extra egg shell I my omelet but no cheese which was ordered! Breakfast cost close to £9 and was not worth £3.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Mark_J_B2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Mark_J_B2014,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were concerned to hear of your experience and as such please accept our apologies.

I have personally checked the room that you stayed in and can find no evidence of any dampness.

Since your stay with us we have implemented that the bottle bins are not emptied during the night time to save any disturbance to our guests.

If you wish to discuss your experience further then please do not hesitate to email manager@corner-house.co.uk

Thank you again for bringing this to our attention.

Kind regards,

Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed at the Corner House for a night in March 14 following a meeting in Taunton. Good location with a short walk to the town centre. Car parking provided free (a bit of a tight squeeze getting in and out). Good room ,clean and comfortable. Had a fridge with complimentary bottles of water.Went for a walk down the town centre to get a meal around 7ish. Walked about didnt find any thing I fancied.The only place at that time with any life was Nandos! Went back to the Corner House and got a table in the Wine and Sausage.
Nice environment and great food ,fresh and local. Breakfast was again great with good quality.
Staff were fine. Checked out and paid under £85.00 for dinner bed and breakfast and a glass of wine, Spot on.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JohnChib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear JohnChib,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and did managed to dine in our restaurant Wine & Sausage.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We had a lovely large double, nice friendly staff, fabulous three course meal, comfortable bed and wonderful full English in the morning. Short walk from the town centre.The building has great character and all in all we were very impressed, I would advise adding a bottle of wine when booking it is cheaper than in the restaurant and when exiting the car park be careful as it is quite narrow

Room Tip: We had room 4, would have this one again
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dialemma78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Dialemma78,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and managed to take advantage of some of the great deals.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Two recent visits and both gave us what we needed: a bed and breakfast. Very early morning arrivals were no problem.
Breakfast is terrific value and freshly cooked. Great for vegetarians.
The dining rooms are very ambient and there is a function room for 80.
Though the rooms are smallish they're clean and do the job.
The team is hardworking and ready to assist in any need but they do keep themselves busy so you do have to catch their eye sometimes.
The car park is tricky to get in and out of but with enough spaces.
Within short walking distance to all that Taunton has to offer, 5 mins max.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Sean H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your two recent visits and found you stay with us to be great value with a friendly team.

We have passed your kind comments around the team which are very much appreciated.

Kind regards,

Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
676 reviews
5.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
0.5 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#15 of 17 in Taunton
190 reviews
1.1 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#8 of 17 in Taunton
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House Hotel

Address: Park Street, Taunton TA1 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range: £53 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned character hotel ideal for both business and leisure travellers. Within walking distance of the centre of Somerset's County town Taunton, this 45 bedroom hotel has been transformed to meet the demands of the modern day traveller. Late 2015 the complete refurbishment of the bar & restaurant has created a relaxed drinking and dining venue. Ideal for business or pleasure. Emphasis has been placed on developing a simple yet stylish and comfortable sleeping experience. All rooms have linen duvets, ample work space, refrigerators with complimentary bottled water and fresh milk, flat screen televisions and sparkling en-suite facilities. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. A flexible combination of meeting and eating rooms and excellent road and rail connections make the Corner House a convenient location for day and residential meetings. The hotel has on site car parking and is in an ideal location for visiting many of the nearby Somerset attractions or as a stopover en-route to or from the Cornish peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Corner House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hotel Taunton
The Corner House Hotel Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing