We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Corner House hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Corner House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Corner House hotel”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Really friendly staff, good breakfast, comfortable bed, no noise from the road, tesco near by for last minute easter gifts! Only slight improvement I would like is that the shower could have been better but not too bad.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Jon T,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have noted your comment about the shower.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    270
    181
    108
    73
See reviews for
76
284
64
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

I stay regularly at this hotel for work in the area and as it is always a pleasant stay at reasonable cost have not bothered to try anywhere else
The rooms are comfortable, clean and warm and most have bath not just shower
Free wifi seems reliable
Breakfast is very good, freshly cooked with good quality and choice and veggy options
Staff are always friendly
Car park can be a bit of a squeeze but in all the times I have stayed there I have failed to find a place only once when the restaurant was very busy
I have only once had an evening meal but it was very good
Location is on a main road but noise levels are ok
It is a short and not unpleasant walk into the town centre
I would stay again ( and do regularly) and recommend to anyone looking for a reasonably priced stay in Taunton

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Angela O,

It was a pleasure to recently welcome you to the Corner House Hotel, Taunton.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed your kind comments around the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stay regularly at the Corner House to work in the area
It is a pleasant place, the staff are always friendly, the rooms clean and comfortable ( most with baths not just showers which is a bonus), and the breakfasts are consistently good.
There is a wine shop and restaurant on site. I have only had an evening meal once but it was very good and reasonably priced.
The location is on a fairly busy road but I have not found it noisy. It is a short and not unpleasant walk to the town centre
I would recommend the Corner House if you are looking for reasonably priced accommodation in the area

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Angela O,

It was a pleasure to recently welcome you to the Corner House Hotel, Taunton.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed your kind comments around the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I grew up in Taunton so always knew about this place but had never stayed there until recently. Thought that it would be out of my price bracket but was pleasantly surprised to find that it was not. The rooms are on the smaller side but have everything that you need, the beds are comfortable and I especially like the small touches like the carton of milk in the fridge. The food is superb and I found the staff very friendly and accommodating. Getting in and out of the car park was the only let down as the entrance and especially the exit is very narrow. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Susan H,

It was a pleasure to recently welcome you to the Corner House Hotel, Taunton.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and have passed your kind comments around the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed last Sunday for one night, evening meal and breakfast included. Never been to Taunton before and saw the Hotel on the internet.
We booked 2 rooms for 2 couples and had a lovely short break at this lovely hotel.
The rooms are small but had everything you could need, including a carton of milk in the fridge for tea/coffee.
The barman/waiter who seemed to be on duty 24/7 was a credit to the hotel. He was always available and nothing was too much trouble for him. He gave us directions to other places in Taunton as well as looking after us at the hotel.
I would not hesitate to return in the future.

Room Tip: We had rooms 24 and 25. Small, but good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyjenx2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear tonyjenx2010,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Corner House Hotel, Taunton.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed your kind comments around the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights over 5 days on business. We asked for a king size bed and were told each time that that would be fine only to turn up each time to find they'd not organised this!
Secondly, the very tight car park only had space 1 night out of the 3 and we had to park at a paying car park 10 mins walk from the hotel.
Thirdly, the hotel prides itself on their "sausage and wine" restaurant. The sausages were excellent but the wine was distinctly average (some bottles on the wine menu are quite good, however). We also had to send back a rare ribeye which came very, very well done. We were disappointed with the knowledge of the wines from the bar staff. A little training wouldn't go amiss.
We won't be staying again and suggest you look elsewhere for a peaceful night's sleep in nice surroundings.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your recent review.

We were concerned to learn of your recent experience and as such please accept our apologies.

Please may you contact me directly to discuss your experience further - Email manager@corner-house.co.uk

Look forward to speaking to you soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taunton hotels

Eastbourne
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The first time that I have stayed at The Corner House for a couple of years. The food was reasonably good and the staff friendly and helpful but the accommodation is looking tried and in need of some TLC. On future visits to Taunton I would eat there but find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 101dot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear 101dot,

Thank you for your review further to your recent stay with us.

We were concerned to hear that you did not quite enjoy your stay with us and as such please accept our apologies.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed our dining experience and have passed your kind comments around the team.

We have recently launched our new concept bedroom which has been well received and is now the template to roll out across all of our bedrooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon when hopefully we can show you the new room.

Look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
5.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#17 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
0.4 mi away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#10 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House Hotel

Property: The Corner House Hotel
Address: Park Street, Taunton TA1 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned character hotel ideal for both business and leisure travellers. Within walking distance of the centre of Somerset's County town Taunton, this 45 bedroom hotel has been transformed to meet the demands of the modern day traveller. Late 2015 the complete refurbishment of the bar & restaurant has created a relaxed drinking and dining venue. Ideal for business or pleasure. Emphasis has been placed on developing a simple yet stylish and comfortable sleeping experience. All rooms have linen duvets, ample work space, refrigerators with complimentary bottled water and fresh milk, flat screen televisions and sparkling en-suite facilities. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. A flexible combination of meeting and eating rooms and excellent road and rail connections make the Corner House a convenient location for day and residential meetings. The hotel has on site car parking and is in an ideal location for visiting many of the nearby Somerset attractions or as a stopover en-route to or from the Cornish peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Corner House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hotel Taunton
The Corner House Hotel Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing