We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff need retraining on customer service and fire safety”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Corner House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Rooms are to hot and to much noise staff took ages to reply to a fire alarm. Also tv had to be boosted wasn't told this or how to use key had to figure all this out your staff should have been more helpful rather than trying to upsell

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevstar21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Kevstar21,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Corner House Hotel, Taunton.

I appreciate the constructive comments that you have made and will ensure that these are acted upon.

I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your experience in further details - please may I kindly ask you to contact me directly via the hotel.

Look forward to speaking to you soon.

Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

Have stayed now several times, but no more, generally they think they are much better than they are !! Last check in, Bathroom bin had not been emptied, cooled water in fridge was not provided. Advised reception who said would correct matter immediately, bin emptied but no water.
Booked a 4 night stay, bed making left a lot to be desired, duvet appeared to be shaken over sheet and pillows as left.
Power point for electric shaver was faulty.
Standard breakfast items such as orange juice were not available, they had run out !!
Staff are not the best, maybe this this is a training issue.
Unfortunately there is not a great deal of choice in Taunton, but will not stay at the Corner House again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smallpart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Smallpart,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for bringing this to our attention.

It is clear that you did not have our usual guest experience and as such please may I offer you my personal apology.

Please may I kindly ask you to contact me directly by email manager@corner-house.co.uk as I would like to discuss your stay with us in more detail.

I look forward to speaking to you soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed for one night for DBB. The room was spacious but smelt musty and lacked fresh air. Basic furnishings and fittings made it a very basic standard. A large and comfortable bed at least should have helped me to sleep.....!. However noise from guests on the floor above and people coming and going was hugely annoying and seemed to go on forever. Very thin walls.
The three course dinner was a big disappointment as the quality of food was very poor. Surprisingly breakfast was good.
A dated and less than comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RhodesWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear RhodesWhite,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for bringing this to our attention.

It is clear that you did not have our usual guest experience and as such please may I offer you my personal apology.

Please may I kindly ask you to contact me directly by email manager@corner-house.co.uk as I would like to discuss your stay with us in more detail.

I look forward to speaking to you soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Unfortunately not a great visit for me. I was working in the area the next morning and chose to stay over rather than drive the next morning. This was a mistake. I would have much rather have slept home, woken up at 4:30am, and driven to Taunton, as I didn't get more than 45 minutes sleep in this hotel. The room was by far the hottest hotel room I have ever stayed in, and I am a frequent hotel guest for work as well as pleasure. The room was located in a position so that the window opened up to a roof area which was closed off on all sides by the hotel itself and this made the air flow absent completely. The room across from this window also had the light on the entire night (it didn't appear to be another hotel room as no one was actually in this room, so why the light was on all night is beyond me and seemingly a careless oversight by the hotel). So, in order to not suffocate from the heat I had to open the window and curtains in the hopes the smallest amount of air would flow through, only to be awake all night from the BLARING light streaming in from the window across from mine. This was the worst hotel sleep I have ever had. Saying I slept 45 minutes is even exaggerating a bit!

Now, I give it 2 stars rather than 1 only because the food was decent, the gentleman behind the bar was friendly, and it was cheap. Also the location is good for someone like me working at the hospital. That being said, I definitely wouldn't stay here again regardless of those points.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Megan C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for bringing this to our attention.

It is clear that you did not have our usual guest experience and as such please may I offer you my personal apology.

Please may I kindly ask you to contact me directly by email manager@corner-house.co.uk as I would like to discuss your stay with us in more detail.

I look forward to speaking to you soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed the night here in one of their small doubles and everything was great, apart from the room being over warm. Great dinner and breakfast - we only paid £70 DBB for two, although did book quite far in advance. Excellent value and a really nice hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoBoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear JoBoyle,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Corner House Hotel, Taunton.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and managed to take advantage of one of our special offers.

We have passed your kind comments around the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here for one night on a visit to see family. The hotel was very reasonably priced, the bedroom large and the included breakfast very good. We arrived at lunchtime, but check in was at 3pm I believe, told we could book in early but would be charged £10 - we declined and left our luggage in the disabled toilet. Maybe the check in time could be reassessed who wants to arrive after 3pm especially if only staying for one or two nights. We had a drink in the bar which was rather expensive, however the meal in the restaurant at night was very good indeed.
If I was in the area I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HazelH72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear HazelH72,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Corner House Hotel, Taunton.

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us especially the dining experience.

We have passed your kind comments around the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the corner house hotel over bank holiday there was a great deal of confusion over the price we were offered , it took a good hour to sort out before we were charged what we were offered Our room was a for disabled guest as all that was available , very basic and being ground level looked out onto the main rd therefore without net curtains or blinds we had to keep the curtains closed at all times . Also the shower classed as a wet room . Was certainly that!! after showering the floor was completely flooded and we had to wade through the water to get to the toilet and handbasin , not a hotel that I would recommend or use again

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Marie B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for bringing this to our attention.

It is clear that you did not have our usual guest experience and as such please may I offer you my personal apology.

Please may I kindly ask you to contact me directly by email manager@corner-house.co.uk as I would like to discuss your stay with us in more detail.

I look forward to speaking to you soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
676 reviews
5.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
0.5 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#15 of 17 in Taunton
190 reviews
1.1 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#8 of 17 in Taunton
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House Hotel

Address: Park Street, Taunton TA1 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range: £54 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned character hotel ideal for both business and leisure travellers. Within walking distance of the centre of Somerset's County town Taunton, this 45 bedroom hotel has been transformed to meet the demands of the modern day traveller. Late 2015 the complete refurbishment of the bar & restaurant has created a relaxed drinking and dining venue. Ideal for business or pleasure. Emphasis has been placed on developing a simple yet stylish and comfortable sleeping experience. All rooms have linen duvets, ample work space, refrigerators with complimentary bottled water and fresh milk, flat screen televisions and sparkling en-suite facilities. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. A flexible combination of meeting and eating rooms and excellent road and rail connections make the Corner House a convenient location for day and residential meetings. The hotel has on site car parking and is in an ideal location for visiting many of the nearby Somerset attractions or as a stopover en-route to or from the Cornish peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Corner House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hotel Taunton
The Corner House Hotel Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing