We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somerset Rocks for Rod!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Corner House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is why we stayed at this hotel. To attend a concert at the Cricket ground so the location was ideal.
The hotel itself - the car parking was good, at the rear. The reception area, bar, dining room all very nice. The wine and sausage restaurant superb. Great sausages complete with champ delicious. Very varied breakfast menu and superb also.
The hotel staff from the receptionist to the 2 lads in the bar and the three young ladies at breakfast, very smart in appearance and very polite.
Our room I believe was in the annexe part facing the street to be fair it was perfectly clean, but very small.
Would like to have seen or even been in a bigger room, however. We were there to see a concert so did not need to spend much time in the room
Would definitely use this hotel again

Room Tip: Ask when booking not in annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rose and Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Rose and Craig R,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Corner House Hotel, Taunton.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us for the Rod Stewart Concert and have passed your kind comments around the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 837 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

My son and I stayed here recently and found it to be good value for money. Could do with a little smartening up but then the price would probably increase. We also had a very pleasant meal in the hotel restaurant. Breakfast was also good.

Room Tip: We had a room with 2 single beds and double aspect at the front of the hotel which was a nice size.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lds21music
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear lds21music,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Corner House Hotel, Taunton.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed your kind comments around the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Good position for walking to cricket, only a 15mins stroll. The room was compact but being on the ground floor with French doors opening onto the car park it was airless with no other means of ventilation, although they provided a fan upon request, it was a welcome change for an English hotel to provide a fridge and fresh milk.the breakfast was very good. We booked breakfast at check in as the internet stated a discount would be given but in fact they quoted more, this was rectified at our comments then at checkout we were quoted £20 more than we had signed for at check in although once again it was corrected when we queried the amount. On both occasions a computer input error was blamed, just be aware! The staff were all pleasant & helpful, but as other reviewers have stated, with a little investment on cleaning and freshening up the hotel would be excellent.

Room Tip: Try and steer away from ground floor unless you enjoy claustrophobia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CheltenhamSKI_couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear CheltenhamSKI_couple,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Corner House Hotel, Taunton.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed your kind comments around the team. We have also taken on board your constructive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hotel is in a good position for walking into Taunton or the cricket ground. We could not go into our room until 3pm but were offered storage facilities for our bags. Parking was good.The room was large with a floor to ceiling window. As it was on the ground floor you couldn't open the window because of traffic noise or security reasons. There was secondary double glazing so we were not troubled by noise. The room was tired looking and needed updating but the white bed linen and towels were spotlessly clean. There was a small fridge and iron and ironing board. However the windows inside and out and the mirror needed a clean. Otherwise not too bad.
The dining room and bar are attractive but again there were wine bottles on a shelf around the room and these needed a good dusting.
The food was excellent both our evening meal and breakfast. Nigel, the manager and Paul were very helpful and accommodating and couldn't do enough for us.
This hotel could be superb but needs some money spending to bring it up to a really good standard. Some of the paths at the side of the hotel needed sweeping and broken garden furniture and cigarette ends removing. The entrance to the rooms at the side of the hotel was full of hanging cobwebs.The staff we saw worked hard but someone needs to sort out some thorough cleaning. Overall we could not fault the staff and would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2oldagetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear 2oldagetravellers,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Corner House Hotel, Taunton.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed your kind comments around the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

this is a nice hotel, which is situated within a good walking distance to Taunton centre.It is a bit tired & run down though & could do with new carpets & a coat of paint.Some of the rooms are in need of modernising & redecorated.You do how ever get a lot of road noise from outside withlots of sirens going day & night which can be a pain :-)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Dave W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Corner House Hotel, Taunton.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed your kind comments around the team. We have also taken on board your constructive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

First the hotel was of a very good standard and well run by the staff who were helpful and understanding.
The room was very clean only small problem there was not very many coat hangers or draws to put your small items in.
The food was of the highest standard which you would receive in a five star restaurant.
Would I recommend the hotel to any one to stay at Yes I Would.
Thank you for a great stay
David Nixon

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank david n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear David N,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Corner House Hotel, Taunton.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed your kind comments around the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I was really disappointed with this one. The room was so small with a 4 foot bed in it. I don't call 4 ft a double bed. It was stifling hot as no air conditioning, so we had to have the window open, only to be woken a 5.50 am by staff chatting loudly below the window.

Before going out for the evening we had two glasses of wine - £17 !

Breakfast was a serious joke. Took them 5 minutes to even find me a table, ordered my breakfast, but it took nearly 40 minutes to arrive. You wouldn't mind quite so much if you thought it had been cooked to order, but you knew by the bacon and black pudding it had been pre-cooked. All this in a room that was so hot. The couple next to us gave up in disgust after waiting an hour for their order. The final straw was when the waitress told them it was the guests fault for all coming down at the same time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fatty14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Fatty14,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for bringing this to our attention.

It is clear that you did not have our usual guest experience and as such please may I offer you my personal apology.

Please may I kindly ask you to contact me directly by email manager@corner-house.co.uk as I would like to discuss your stay with us in more detail.

I look forward to speaking to you soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
5.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#15 of 17 in Taunton
194 reviews
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Taunton
Days Inn Taunton
#16 of 17 in Taunton
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
0.1 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
401 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#6 of 17 in Taunton
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House Hotel

Address: Park Street, Taunton TA1 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range: £53 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned character hotel ideal for both business and leisure travellers. Within walking distance of the centre of Somerset's County town Taunton, this 45 bedroom hotel has been transformed to meet the demands of the modern day traveller. Late 2015 the complete refurbishment of the bar & restaurant has created a relaxed drinking and dining venue. Ideal for business or pleasure. Emphasis has been placed on developing a simple yet stylish and comfortable sleeping experience. All rooms have linen duvets, ample work space, refrigerators with complimentary bottled water and fresh milk, flat screen televisions and sparkling en-suite facilities. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. A flexible combination of meeting and eating rooms and excellent road and rail connections make the Corner House a convenient location for day and residential meetings. The hotel has on site car parking and is in an ideal location for visiting many of the nearby Somerset attractions or as a stopover en-route to or from the Cornish peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Corner House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hotel Taunton
The Corner House Hotel Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing