We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel & Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Corner House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Hotel is superb and the staff are very welcoming and helpful. The rooms are excellent in decor and cleanliness with wonderful facilities to enahance your stay. The food and menu choices are first class & cooked to perfection. The breakfast choice is amazing you can really treat yourself and be spoilt. The restaurant at the hotel offers delicious local quality food and a top class wine cellar. We are repeat clients and we will be visiting The Corner House again very soon - it is wonderful. Parking facilities available and is a great bonus.

Room Tip: Room 4 - large room at front of hotel noise level low and a beautiful room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Carol L,

It was a real pleasure to welcome you to the Corner House Hotel, Taunton and thank you for your kind comments which we have passed around the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (848)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 848 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

I booked this hotel almost THREE WEEKS IN ADVANCE for a romantic weekend with my partner. My partner lives in Taunton and I live in Wales. We chose this hotel for its proximity to Taunton Town Centre so that we could enjoy a nice weekend.

20 minutes before leaving for the hotel on the DAY that I was due to stay, I get a phone call from a member of staff speaking poor English that they cannot honour my booking. But it gets worse. He then said that they had put us up in a Premier Inn next to a motorway instead and that I should be grateful as they had paid the difference in cost.

The member of staff I spoke to just didn't seem to get that staying in a motorway hotel is not the kind of romantic weekend that I had in mind. To make matters worse, when we got to the Premier Inn, they had no record of our booking. We then spent another hour waiting for Corner House to contact their staff member who was now at home to get the details correctly so that we actually had somewhere to stay.

I stay in hotels in Taunton quite regularly, but you can guarantee that even if this was the only hotel available, I would still elect to sleep in my car........

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else to stay if you want a guarantee that you will actually have a room to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin_Morgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Gavin_Morgan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your constructive comments.

I was very concerned to hear of your recent experience - Please may I assure you that this is not our usual standard and as such may I offer you my personal apology.

Since your stay with us we have taken measures to ensure that we do have a repeat occurrence.

I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves.

I look forward to speaking to you soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Very similar to another review, our booking was cancelled on the day we were due to stay.

My partner and I were moved to the only hotel available at short notice on the outskirts of Taunton with no form of an apology. The new hotel had no information on our stay which the Corner House booked, and we were not given any details of the new reservation.

A complete let down by the hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Leanneh1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Leanneh1987,

Thank you taking the time to write a review and for your constructive comments.

I was concerned to hear of your experience as this is not our usual guest experience - please may I offer you both my personal apology.

Since your stay with us we have taken steps to ensure that this does not happen again.

I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves.

I look forward to speaking to you soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I stayed there while on media assignment, Horrible Customer Service on Initial Greeting by a monotonous Drone with no fluid English language skills, whose name started with Do, I spoke to someone about this, and said I would not put up it on this, but in the end I decided I would as I paid a decent rate (in euro)

Pokey and small Rooms, with bed taking over 2/3rds of Room. Stairs are a nightmare with a large suitcase. Creaking Floorboards everywhere, Banging doors when rooms are closed.
Parking is a disgrace with musical chairs played by cars trying to get a spot.

Only saving grace is the food, which I thought was a little lacking in quantity for the prices charged.

In Aviation terms, this is like an area AVOID at all costs

Room Tip: Don't Bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Paul K,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your constructive comments.

It is clear that you did not have our usual guest experience and as such please may I offer you my personal apology.

I would like the opportunity of discussing your stay with us in further details and so please may you contact me directly on manager@corner-house.co.uk

I look forward to speaking to you soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Booked this hotel for its proximity to a church which where we were attending a wedding.

Room was booked two weeks, paid for and all confirmed.

Upon arrival for check in we were told that they had no room for us and had placed us at an alternative hotel elsewhere in town.

Nothing by way of an apology was offered. No contact was made to us beforehand, despite claims at reception that they' dried to advise us.

Disgusting service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank OnionNon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear OnionNon,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your constructive comments.

I am very sorry that you had to move to alternative hotel without any notice - please may I assure you that this is not our usual standard.

Since your stay with us we have taken steps to ensure that this does not happen again.

I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves.

I look forward to speaking to you soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Whilst we got a good deal so can't complain too much, we would have been very disappointed had we paid something akin to the 'rack' rate. On the face of it this looks a decent property but the rooms are basic. The double bed we had was small and there is no air-conditioning so with the sun on the room all afternoon it was baking hot come the evening - very difficult to sleep.

Breakfast was of decent quality but the staff seemed to be struggling to keep up and our food took a while to turn up and we had to wolf it down as we had a train to catch.

Very unlikely we would stop here again, I'm afraid.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank MTD87029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear MTD87029,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your constructive comments.

We do offer Compact Double rooms which are more suitable to single occupancy and the bed is a standard double bed 5'4".

It has been exceptionally hot recently and unfortunately due to being a listed building we do not have air conditioning; but we are currently looking into various options available.

I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to be able to redeem ourselves.

Thank you again for your comments.

Kind regards,

Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Hotel parking was almost non existant with not much help as to where else we could park.

Bathroom very tired and shabby. Also no mention when booking as to quite how many steep, spiral stairs ther were to climb, not really a problem for me but my 82 year old Mum really struggled.

Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was lovely.

Room Tip: Higher floors almost impossible with luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Val C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Val C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review further to your recent stay with us.

It is clear that you did not have our usual guest experience and as such please may I offer you both my personal apology.

I am pleased to hear that the team did well but it's the smaller touches that on this occasion we did not get right.

I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your stay further and do not hesitate to contact me directly at manager@corner-house.co.uk

Look forward to speaking to you soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.5 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#15 of 17 in Taunton
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#6 of 17 in Taunton
711 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
5.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House Hotel

Address: Park Street, Taunton TA1 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range: £48 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned character hotel ideal for both business and leisure travellers. Within walking distance of the centre of Somerset's County town Taunton, this 45 bedroom hotel has been transformed to meet the demands of the modern day traveller. Late 2015 the complete refurbishment of the bar & restaurant has created a relaxed drinking and dining venue. Ideal for business or pleasure. Emphasis has been placed on developing a simple yet stylish and comfortable sleeping experience. All rooms have linen duvets, ample work space, refrigerators with complimentary bottled water and fresh milk, flat screen televisions and sparkling en-suite facilities. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. A flexible combination of meeting and eating rooms and excellent road and rail connections make the Corner House a convenient location for day and residential meetings. The hotel has on site car parking and is in an ideal location for visiting many of the nearby Somerset attractions or as a stopover en-route to or from the Cornish peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Corner House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hotel Taunton
The Corner House Hotel Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing