We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Little Find So Give It a Chance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Corner House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Nice Little Find So Give It a Chance”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I made an on-line reservation at short notice. I booked the hotel as it was close to where I was conducting business.
The young lady on reception was very welcoming & efficient.
My room was quite basic & lacked air conditioning which was a shame.
However, the facilities suited but purpose.
Breakfast in the morning was very good & staff happy & attentive.
In general this was a very good stay & I would certainly stay again even though my particular room wasn't the best.
For the price, location & the breakfast, everything was well received by me.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear F1xer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind comments which have been passed around the team.

We also do value your constructive comments as this is very important when we continually are reviewing our business.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon when I hope to get the chance to meet you.

Kind regards,

Nigel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    277
    181
    111
    74
See reviews for
80
289
67
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

this hotel looked and sounded really good when booking this on the internet.
on arrival we found the receptionist unhelpful. when we eventually got the keys to the room it was not what we expected. the room was rather small.
the bar and restaurant was expensive. we walked into Taunton early evening and found a very good bar and restaurant far less expensive.

Room Tip: avoid a room to the front of the Hotel the road is very busy throughout the night. quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank terry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Terry S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am sorry that on this occasion you did not enjoy your stay with and as such please may I offer you my personal apology.

I do very much value your comments and would like to speak to you further in more detail - please could I kindly ask you to contact me at manager@corner-house.co.uk

I look forward to speaking to you soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Pleasant staff and good food. However the room was small with no a.c. Breakfast has to be paid in addition to the room so it did make it a little more expensive than I had planned for. Room was clean and towels very large, which was great.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdarragh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Cdarragh01,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your constructive comments.

We are constantly reviewing our product and service and do very much value your comments.

If you were staying with us again then maybe try one of our Larger Double Rooms for a small supplement which certainly does give you a more spacious room.

Thank you again for your kind comments.

Kind regards,

Nigel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Food and drink are definitely worth visiting this hotel for, and the customer service is very good. Had a couple of issues quickly resolved.
However:
The bedroom was in need of decoration and a deep clean and the skylights.
The towel rack above the bath was a hazard and even without this could not stand upright in the shower (I am average height) and the water pressure was a dribble.
This is definitely not the worst place I have stayed, but with more attention to cleaning it would make a huge difference.
Free wifi but challenging to get and maintain a connection

Room Tip: Avoid the attic, headroom in the shower is very poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zcwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Zcwm,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your constructive comments.

Whilst I appreciate that you enjoyed our dining experience I can see that our accommodation did not meet your expectations - Please may I offer you my personal apology as this is not our usual standard.

We are currently planning the second phase of our refurbishment programme and have just completed our new Concept Bedroom.

We do have an ongoing deep cleaning programme and I have discussed your experience with our Head Housekeeper.

I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves.

I look forward to speaking to you soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Myself and my friend stayed here while my son was playing at A cricket festival. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was perfect for what we wanted as we were out most of the day! We did not eat in the hotel however the resturant looked lovely we just didn't have time. Overall I would recommend the corner house hotel as it is also very near all shops, bars, etc.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank tennismom9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Tennismom9,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind comments which we have passed around the team.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We have stayed at The Corner House many times and can recommend it. The service is very friendly, the rooms are clean and comfortable and there is a good restaurant. Ok it is a combination of older buildings rather than a modern purpose built bog standard hotel, but that adds to the experience. We enjoy it and Taunton - the town centre is five minutes walk away
or take the Somerset Railway to Dunster for a great day out!

Room Tip: The annexe has larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Geoff_Edwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Geoff_Edwards,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind comments which we have passed around the team.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel in August as a stopover for visiting Montacute House, and were very pleased with the excellent value. The building itself is very pleasant, with helpful, welcoming staff. The bedroom was clean, comfortable and well-equipped. The breakfast was very nice, and overall I would recommend this hotel for it's good value, excellent location, pleasant staff, ample car park and comfortable night's sleep. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: The room facing the main road was rather noisy with the window open, so ask for a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babsrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Babsrees,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind comments which we have passed around the team.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
644 reviews
5.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#17 of 17 in Taunton
182 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House Hotel

Property: The Corner House Hotel
Address: Park Street, Taunton TA1 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned character hotel ideal for both business and leisure travellers. Within walking distance of the centre of Somerset's County town Taunton, this 45 bedroom hotel has been transformed to meet the demands of the modern day traveller. Late 2015 the complete refurbishment of the bar & restaurant has created a relaxed drinking and dining venue. Ideal for business or pleasure. Emphasis has been placed on developing a simple yet stylish and comfortable sleeping experience. All rooms have linen duvets, ample work space, refrigerators with complimentary bottled water and fresh milk, flat screen televisions and sparkling en-suite facilities. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. A flexible combination of meeting and eating rooms and excellent road and rail connections make the Corner House a convenient location for day and residential meetings. The hotel has on site car parking and is in an ideal location for visiting many of the nearby Somerset attractions or as a stopover en-route to or from the Cornish peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Corner House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hotel Taunton
The Corner House Hotel Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing