We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good budget Hotel”
Reviewed 31 March 2011

As thetitle says good budget hotel. Recently refurbished and very clean. Generally very comfortable. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Chain restuarant next door. Lots of free car parking and an easy 10 minute car drive from the town cwntre. Downside points. Air conditioning unit is noisy when on and it and blows directly onto the bed. Very expensive cable internet in rooms although WiFi in lobby was free.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spitfire24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TauntonManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25, responded to this review, 1 April 2011
Dear Spitfire24

Thank you for your kind review, and thank you for your comments regarding the air conditioning I will have the maintenance Team look into this as they should run fairly quiet unfortunately we can’t move the units away from the bed as this is the optimal position for them however like I said I will have this looked into. Also thank you for your comments regarding the internet as you said it is free in the bar and lounge areas and we are looking at the costing for the rooms as we appreciate not everyone wants to use their laptops down stairs.

Once again thank you for your comments we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Robert Holmes

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    254
    81
    16
    8
See reviews for
134
197
44
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, England
Level Contributor
412 reviews
294 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 622 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

I booked this expecting the number one rated hotel in Taunton to be somewhat better than average - it wasn't.
The basic room I was given had no bath, and for some reason was a disabled room with a "wet room" shower - these cause the whole floor to get wet after a shower, and I can't say I was overly impressed.
You get a very basic continental breakfast supplemented by scrambled egg and catering sausages.
Not on my return list

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wroughtironron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TauntonManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25, responded to this review, 31 March 2011
Dear Wroughtironron

Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. May I firstly just start off by saying that no Holiday Inn Express Hotels in the UK have baths in the rooms also you had booked an Accessible room which have a wet room style bathroom due to them needing to be accessed by guests that find it hard to use a standard bathroom, we have 6 of these rooms in the hotel and all other rooms have a separate shower, toilet and sink area within the bathroom.

As for your comments regarding breakfast thank you, we are looking for ways in which to improve this area and your comments will assist us to do this.

Again I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and we do hope that you will give us another chance (In a standard room) to show you what so many of our other guests love about us.

Kind Regards

Robert Holmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Stayed here with my family while visiting relatives and wow was I surprised I normally stay at the Holiday inn which is ok. But thought I'd try the express after it was recommended by a friend. It's so much more modern that the other hotel and the family rooms are great big, nice sofabed all a family need (movies are a bit expensive though). Free breakfast too was great, ok there was no bacon and the selection was not quite that of the holiday inns (which is expensive for what it is) but the kids loved it and there was more than enough to satisfy even my appetite.

The best bit about this hotel though has to be the staff. They were fantastic. Nothing was ever too much for them and they did everything with a smile.

Thank for a great stay we'll be back again soon

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makeitalarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Hard pillows, lumpy and heavy duvet, tiny towels, appalling breakfast, poor service. Will go back to using Premier Inn. Even my experience with Travelodge was better - and that cost me only £19.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tolcarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TauntonManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25, responded to this review, 14 March 2011
Dear Tolcarne

Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry to here that you did not enjoy your stay with us, we pride ourselves on our great customer service, as you can see from our many other Tripadvisor comments, however it would seem on this occasion that this has not been the case and for this I apologise.

Your comment on the Pillows and Duvets are of great concern to me as we have recently invested in new Duvets for all our rooms and we have received great feedback from other guests, also there is a selection of soft and firm pillows on all our beds, to try and meet the diverse needs of all our guests. The fact that you did not enjoy either of these may mean that we need to readdress these items, and I apologise if you felt that these impeded your sleep.

The towels in all our rooms are standard size bath towels, however we are looking into increasing the size of our towels and I would like to thank you for feeding this back to me, as it is only with great feedback that we can hope to meet all our guests needs.

Our complimentary Express Start Breakfast is one of our main areas of focus and we are trying to evolve this product further and would love to hear your comment regarding this. We as a company are constantly trying to evolve to meet the need of all our guests and would like the opportunity to consult you further regarding this matter.

Kind Regards

Robert Holmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterborough
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

We stayed here as a stopover on our way to Cornwall. Having never stayed at a Holiday Inn Express before we were pleasantly suprised. Reception staff were very helpful, quick and efficient both on check in and out. Rooms were spotlessly clean, comfortable and well equiped. Breakfast was a buffet, which was replenished constantly and the food was plentiful and of good quality (excellent coffee!!). I would definately use this chain of hotels again as the price and accomodtion was great.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amporterPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We stayed on the night of the 20th, and were very impressed by the lady at the reception. She was smily, friendly and helpful. I don't ever write reviews, but I feel she deserves one!!
We payed £40 for 2 adults, a 6 years old and a baby excluding breakfast. Breakfast was free for children. Overall a very cheap option for families (in my experience it is difficult to find reasonably priced hotels as a family)
The room was clean and spacious, and perfect for a family.
Food amenities were quite dreadful.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natlees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TauntonManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25, responded to this review, 7 February 2011
Dear Lysylou2000

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are always looking for ways in which to improve the hotel and your comments are greatly appreciated.

Can I just take this time to confirm that all of our guest can enjoy our Express Start Breakfast Completely free. Here at the Holiday Inn Express we firmly believe that breakfast is the most important meal of the day so much so that we offer it free to every guest young or old.

As for the food amenities, as you would have found out, we don’t serve evening meals or Lunch in the hotel, but we do have a Harvester Pub adjacent to the hotel. If you’re not in the mood for the Harvester there are many fine Pubs and restaurants in the local area and our staffs are always happy make suggestions and give advice on a great place to eat. We also keep a large selection of local take-a-ways who are happy to deliver to the hotel so that you can either enjoy you meal in your room or in our lounge.

Again I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Robert Holmes – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

Stayed in August 2010 with my partner and had a fab time here. Close to motorway but not so close that you can hear the traffic. Staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgable especially when it came to recommending things to do in the area.
Breakfast was good, brilliant selection ranging from cooked (e.g sausage and scrambled egg) to continental (e.g. Cereal, toast, yogurts) all of which included unlimited hot drinks and juice. Like the way they leave you to make your own selection and its all included in the price.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lysylou2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
4.1 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Days Inn Taunton
Days Inn Taunton
#15 of 17 in Taunton
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
635 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Taunton
Travelodge Taunton
#8 of 17 in Taunton
176 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25

Property: Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
Address: Blackbrook Park Avenue | Blackbrook Business Park, Taunton TA1 2PX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#6 Business Hotel in Taunton
#6 Family Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover south-west England from the modern Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct. 25 hotel. You can make Holiday Inn Express Taunton hotel your base for exploring the beautiful county of Somerset. We're just a couple of minutes from the M5 motorway for easy access to Devon and Cornwall and 2 miles from the county town of Taunton. Park in our complimentary car park and check in to your modern and stylish guestroom. Enjoy a refreshing drink from the bar in the Great Room lounge and enjoy free Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel. Exeter Airport is 30 miles away and businesses in downtown Taunton are just a 5-minute drive from our hotel. Delegates can easily attend presentations in one of our 3 naturally-lit meeting rooms thanks to handy M5 motorway access. We're surrounded by family attractions, from the Victorian charm of the West Somerset Steam Railway to the glorious green open spaces of the Quantock Hills. Under-18s stay free when sharing a family room with their parents. We also include a delicious buffet breakfast in every room rate, so you can get your day off to a great start. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Taunton m5 Jct 25 Hotel Taunton
Holiday Inn Taunton
Taunton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25 Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing