We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room, convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This is a good clean modern hotel, handy for the motorway traveller, being right by the M5. The rooms are clean and spacious. The double glazing shuts out the motorway noise. There are also hard and soft pillows on the beds. Bathrooms are well equipped. There's also free wifi. It's not fast, but will do for emails and limited downloads. You can pay more for faster wifi.
The downsides are also the location - it's a taxi ride if you want to go into town or eat anywhere other than the hotel or Harvester next door. Breakfasts were okay, but the hot food selection was limited.
But for convenience and cleanliness, this hotel scores highly.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel is a bit quieter.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DH14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TauntonManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear D14

Thank you for your Comments and for taking the time to wright your review. I am very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and I have made sure the whole team have seen your comments as they are very motivating.

You are right we are not a town centre location and it is about a 20 walk into the town centre, a Taxi will cost around £8 to get into the town centre, however there are a number of other pub options within a 5-10min walk if you didn’t fancy the Harvester and the team are always happy to help direct and advise you to alternative places.

Thank you and I hope we will see you again soon,

Kind regards

Robert Holmes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (646)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 646 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

Had a one night stopover for a conference held in Taunton. Excellent room - clean & tidy. Staff polite & helpful. Everything you need here. Make sure you register your car at reception to avoid any charges.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights at the end of October. The room was clean and warm enough – there is a temperature control that you can adjust near the door. The bed was comfortable enough and also fairly spacious. The shower was very good, although I will concur with some other guests who have noted the lack of space around the vanity basin.
The buffet breakfast is adequate although not spectacular, and you will need to forgive those poor souls who either cannot read English or just choose to ignore the “in” and “out” signs placed on the entrance and exit of the buffet area for the convenience of guests who do give a damn.
Food is not really a problem as the Harvester (in the car park) is readily accessible and reviewed separately. The fact that is so close means that you are not worried about having a drink with your meal; and I believe that the beer is cheaper than in the hotel!
The car parking “scam” is obviously a concern for most people, and I think that the staff on reception could provide more information/help on arrival for people to log their car registration number into the system – this is something you do yourself, and I found that the “system” wanted to decide for itself what letter or number to enter, despite whatever you may think you had pressed! So beware! …and check that the correct registration has been accepted or you may find yourself receiving one of those fines!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marlon69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TauntonManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Marlon69

Thank you for your Comments and for taking the time to wright your review. I am pleased that you had a good stay with us and I hope we will see you again very soon.

The parking system we have in place is never meant to cause any concern for our guest and it was in fact put in place to ensure our guest had somewhere to park when they arrived due to local parking abuse, I have relayed your comments to the rest of the team and we are looking at ways to improve the check in system to make the process as robust as possible.

However if for any reason anyone does receive a fine when they shouldn’t have if they contact the hotel direct we will of course ensure that this is removed with as little disruption to the our guest as possible.

Again thank you for taking the time to wright your review and for helping to improve the hotel for future guests.
Kind regards

Robert Holmes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last about three months ago and several times prior to that. I have always found this to be an excellent Holiday inn express and backed this up in my reviews. This time however I would rate the stay as poor. The check-in as always was great with pleasant friendly reception staff. Was given room 147 on the 1st floor that smelt of damp. Had to open the window to get the smell out. Then I just couldn't miss the disgusting stains on the desk chair! No way was I going to sit on that!!( Management please please take a look it will make you feel sick!) The bed was clean and comfortable so that was good.
Breakfast the following morning I have to say wasn't great either, No sausages, so just left with terrible scrambled eggs( looked like powdered egg to me!) no apple juice and the orange juice was terrible! Cheese slices been there so long they were curling up on the edges! I'm sorry to say that I really thought that your breakfast standards have slipped. What a shame it used to be so good:-(

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Phil1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TauntonManager, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Phil1957

Thank you for yet another helpful review of the hotel and I’m glad you decided to stay with us again. Although I am devastated that you did not enjoy your stay with us on this occasions.

It is our promise, to have every guest leave us feeling like they have had a great experience and I am very sorry that on this occasion we did not live up to that promise. I would very much like to discuss this matter further with you, and as a loyal guest I hope you would feel free to contact me either by email dgm@expresstaunton.co.uk or by phone 01823 624000 so that we can try and resolve your concerns.

I really look forward to hearing from you and hope that you will visit us again soon, so that we can show you we are still the great hotel you have stayed in before.

Kind Regards

Naomi Holland
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We dread the odd night away in a hotel, you see I SNORE in a major fashion. So this translates as only one of us will get a nights sleep, while the other will be crawling up the walls waiting for morning. So when we found that we were able to obtain a discount that meant we could have two rooms for vey nearly the price of one. (Reasons for this aside) We jumped at the chance. The rooms were modern, clean, bright, warm, hard or soft pillows, decent flat screen TV, etc etc.
We arrived while a couple of sports teams were all booking in and it was extremely noisy in reception. Our hearts sank at the prospect of this lot getting on the outside of a quantity of ale and making a hige row through the night.
Our fears were indeed entirely groundless, We heard not a sound once we were esconced in our rooms, we both slept perfectly.
The scrambled eggs and sausages were to be avoided, but the cereals, fruit juice, tea coffee, toast etc etc was entirely satisfactory. All in all, well done Holiday inn!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

A real value for money two night stopover.

First impressions were good...location handy to town, local out-of-town and M5, Harvester next door and decent parking. Unlike some budget hotels the reception felt professional with smartly dressed, alert, smiling staff. A lift to all floors was also an unexpected bonus

Rooms were excellent - clean, flatscreen TV, tea and coffee, nice wide beds, crisp linen and pillow choice [two very good nights sleep into the bargain] and good shower. The only tiny niggles were not enough towel hanging space and no biscuits!.

Having a bar was a nice surprise, though budget it was not at over £11 for two Jack Daniels. Looks like I got doubles though I didn't ask for them. I'll check that next time.

Breakfast was complimentary...all you can eat: good cereal and drink choice plus sausage, egg , beans. muffins, croissant. Bacon would have been good as well but you can't have everything.

All staff actually [reception, breakfast, bar and domestic] looked pleased to see you and were always smiling and polite...clearly some good corporate training and decent local management.

I will certainly go back. At less than £50 per night this was real value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livescount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I stayed here with work the other day and have to say I was a bit worked before hand but there was no need. I have now stayed here twice, the rooms are comfortable, a good size and clean. The breakfast is basic but all there and there is a bar if you fancy a beer. The staff have been very helpful. Only down side is there is no evening food but the guys have a list of takeaway places and are happy for you to eat in the hotel. No problem staying here again

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkPeely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
4.1 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
823 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Taunton
Travelodge Taunton
#9 of 17 in Taunton
193 reviews
1.9 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25

Address: Blackbrook Park Avenue | Blackbrook Business Park, Taunton TA1 2PX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#6 Family Hotel in Taunton
#6 Business Hotel in Taunton
Price Range: £63 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover south-west England from the modern Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct. 25 hotel. You can make Holiday Inn Express Taunton hotel your base for exploring the beautiful county of Somerset. We're just a couple of minutes from the M5 motorway for easy access to Devon and Cornwall and 2 miles from the county town of Taunton. Park in our complimentary car park and check in to your modern and stylish guestroom. Enjoy a refreshing drink from the bar in the Great Room lounge and enjoy free Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel. Exeter Airport is 30 miles away and businesses in downtown Taunton are just a 5-minute drive from our hotel. Delegates can easily attend presentations in one of our 3 naturally-lit meeting rooms thanks to handy M5 motorway access. We're surrounded by family attractions, from the Victorian charm of the West Somerset Steam Railway to the glorious green open spaces of the Quantock Hills. Under-18s stay free when sharing a family room with their parents. We also include a delicious buffet breakfast in every room rate, so you can get your day off to a great start. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Taunton m5 Jct 25 Hotel Taunton
Holiday Inn Taunton
Taunton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25 Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing