We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, but reliable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Like most HIX hotels, it is basic, but well maintained an clean. We have stayed at this hotel several times of the last 6 years and it has managed to maintain its quality.

The added bonus of the HIX over its competitors is its inclusive breakfast and though mainly a continental with added "sausage, egg and beans" keeps you going until lunchtime.

We always go for a twin room at budget hotels as from past experience some matresses are well past their " best before date". In the case of this hotel we both had a good night sleep.

Attractions nearby : Barrington Court, Taunton Museum, Knighthayes (Tiverton), Fleet Air Arm Museum (Yeovil)

We have never managed to eat at the adjacent Harvester restaurant. They have either been too busy and no tables or low on staff and could not allow anyone else in (tables piled with crockery).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerrythePotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIETeamTaunton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Terry

Thank you for your review and we're glad you both had a good nights sleep. I am also please you enjoyed our complimentary Express Start Breakfast.

It has been a pleasure having you stay with us the past 6 years and we hope to see you again very soon.

Kind Regards

Robert Holmes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (685)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 685 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed overnight last night and were very impressed with the front desk staff particularly Gemma who couldn't have been kinder and more helpful but also other members of staff who resolved immediately and apologetically a room problem .
For the room rate of £45 we thought it was great value ---our room was clean ,quiet with a comfortable bed and choice of pillows ,our shower was fine and we think the breakfast was good for the total price paid with cereals ,fruit ,yoghourts ,a few hot items including baked
beans ,sausage and scrambled egg plus excellent croissants as well as a selection of hot drinks and fruit juice .

Convenient location near the motorway but we couldn't hear any noise at night.
We would stay again and definitely recommend.
Yes it's a holiday inn express and not the ritz but the staff we encountered added a lot to our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JENNIE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIETeamTaunton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Brinny

Thank you for your review, and i am glad you enjoyed your stay with us here in Taunton. We pride ourselves on trying to give every guest a great experience and i am so glad we were able to do this for you. I have passed your comments onto Gemma and the rest of the team and we all look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind Regards

Robert Holmes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed here for one night last night with our dog. Asked for a quiet room and we certainly got it. Lady on reception on Friday early evening was a bit business like but the one on reception on Saturday morning was excellent and the catering staff were friendly and smiley. Had a bit of a laugh with the receptionist (the one who owns the shepherd X) whilst we were having our breakfast in the "tiled" area for dog owners. An excellent idea. Other reviewers have said about the tired decor etc. but our room was very clean with a good shower
and what on earth do people expect for that sort of money. Would definitely stay here again. The staff try hard and the breakfast was good - especially the croissants - beautifully fresh! Well done and thank you all.

Room Tip: Ground floor is a good idea if you have a dog with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIETeamTaunton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your kind review, we're glad you and your lovely dog enjoyed your stay with us. We aim to help every guest enjoy their stay with us, even the fury ones.

I will pass you comments onto the rest of the team and I hope we will see you again very soon.

Kind Regards

Robert Holmes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

First Impressions: Tired décor, friendly receptionist, rooms could do with updating

rooms basic and need redecorating, breakfast is very basic and the usual slop I would expect from self catered breakfast. Edible, but not high quality

Bad Points - make sure you pop your car reg into the system to avoid a charge

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mylifeinhotels14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIETeamTaunton, Front Desk Team at Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for taking your time to review us on Trip Advisor, we welcome all feedback as this gives us the opportunity to improve our service to our guests.

It is always a pleasure to hear how friendly our staff are at the Holiday Inn Express Taunton. Thank you for your comments regarding the rooms, this will be passed on to the General Manager.

Breakfast is a key focus here at the Holiday Inn Express Taunton for 2014, we are constantly looking for ways to improve the breakfast experience for all our guests and will be looking into your comments further.

As you mention we do have a parking control system in place at the hotel. Parking is free for all guests and your car details just need to be registered at reception upon arrival to avoid receiving a fine. Thank you again for your valued feedback.

Kind regards

Sally Knight
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here for one night late April. Staff were warm and welcoming and efficient for check in and check out. Breakfast was satisfying. The room was comfortable. Enjoyed my stay after some initial difficulty finding the hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank leeleo727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIETeamTaunton, Front Desk Team at Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Leeleo727

Firstly Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your stay. It was nice to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team.

Regarding your difficulty in finding the hotel, I do apologise. If you were to have a problem again we do have brown signs up as you come on to the business park stating where the hotel is.

Alternatively you can always call us direct on 01823 624000 and we would be more than happy to direct you in from where you are.

Thanks Kindly

Cindy Evison
Senior Guest Service Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

On our way to Devon on Good Friday we were very pleased we had booked this stop in advance. It was busy but we had the room on the first floor we had been promised a while back. It was spacious and clean and all systems working though the bathroom door did not shut in either position correctly: a small but valid point. Very good and free wifi, the breakfast was good and included fruit which so many places ignore and we enjoyed our stay though we avoided the pub next door and went into town for a meal in the evening.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank doversole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIETeamTaunton, Front Desk Team at Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Doversole,

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and was sorry to hear that you had a problem with your bathroom door, I shall pass this matter on to our maintenance team to ensure this is doesn’t affect any other guest.

In regards to the pub next door it can get rather busy at times, however our staff are always on hand to recommend alternative restaurants in the area.

Thank you again for you kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Express Taunton in the near future

Kind Regards
Richard Gill
Guest Service Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Good value basic accommodation on the motorway junction, obviously some distance from the town with a Harvester Pub and Restaurant on site and close to a large Sainsbury - including fuel, Retail Park with various outlets, Hollywood Bowl, Entertainment Centre - with cinema, McDonalds etc.
Bedrooms and bathrooms were clean/well maintained and of usual adequate HIE size, public area included small bar and lounge area plus a snack/drink vending machine and microwave all very much HIE standard. Large reception area with excellent service from a very welcoming staff the only downside was the small breakfast area serving the usual poor quality HIE breakfast - NOT FREE as the cost is included in the price of the room, I personally wish they would make a separate modest charge and serve a reasonable hot or continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIETeamTaunton, Front Desk Team at Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Cathy M and Ian J

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
I am happy to hear that the staff were friendly and helpful and were able to suggest an alternative location where you could eat.

I am pleased that you found your room clean. I will pass the comments on to our housekeepers.

Thank you for bringing the bar service to our attention I will pass this on to all our staff.

I would like to thank you again for your kind review and will; look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Sally Knight
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
4.1 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#6 of 17 in Taunton
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Days Inn Taunton
Days Inn Taunton
#16 of 17 in Taunton
401 reviews
1.9 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
402 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25

Address: Blackbrook Park Avenue | Blackbrook Business Park, Taunton TA1 2PX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#6 Business Hotel in Taunton
Price Range: £49 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover south-west England from the modern Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct. 25 hotel. You can make Holiday Inn Express Taunton hotel your base for exploring the beautiful county of Somerset. We're just a couple of minutes from the M5 motorway for easy access to Devon and Cornwall and 2 miles from the county town of Taunton. Park in our complimentary car park and check in to your modern and stylish guestroom. Enjoy a refreshing drink from the bar in the Great Room lounge and enjoy free Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel. Exeter Airport is 30 miles away and businesses in downtown Taunton are just a 5-minute drive from our hotel. Delegates can easily attend presentations in one of our 3 naturally-lit meeting rooms thanks to handy M5 motorway access. We're surrounded by family attractions, from the Victorian charm of the West Somerset Steam Railway to the glorious green open spaces of the Quantock Hills. Under-18s stay free when sharing a family room with their parents. We also include a delicious buffet breakfast in every room rate, so you can get your day off to a great start. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Taunton m5 Jct 25 Hotel Taunton
Holiday Inn Taunton
Taunton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25 Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing