We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Castle at Taunton
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Sadly we only stayed one night in the wonderful old Castle. We were there in late April and the Wisteria was in full bloom, what a beautiful sight as we drove into the Castle grounds. Our room was large and beautifully furnished, with a welcome drink and nibbles on the coffee table. We were taken to our room by a very helpful member of staff and made to feel most welcome. We had lunch in the garden (prawn sandwiches - delicious) and then explored the gardens and walked into town, all very interesting. Had dinner at Brass (restaurant attached to the castle) the food (lobster) and wine were all 5*. Breakfast was excellent. In all, our stay was one of the most enjoyable we had in the UK. I bought Kit Chapman's (the owner) book - history of the Castle and this really made my stay here complete as I felt I needed to know more about this enchanting place.

Room Tip: Choose a garden room, they overlook the grounds and are truly beautiful rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    218
    96
    32
    27
See reviews for
101
216
50
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

My OH booked this for us as an anniversary treat. We'd been meaning to go for a long time so when we saw their offer on Groupon we jumped at the chance. The Castle at Taunton has enjoyed a fantastic reputation for many years and been the launch pad for the careers of many renowned chefs. We were really looking forward to it and didn't even bother to check Trip Advisor...

On arrival, the hotel looked stunning - an elegant oasis surrounded by pubs & bingo. And the grand entrance hall lived up to expectations. Staff at reception were very pleasant and we headed happily to our room. We had upgraded to a 'garden' suite and found a large room with windows on 2 sides. One window overlooked the front but was partially netted to obscure the view, which worked well, while the others overlooked the lovely garden and hotel service area - with the view framed by the amazing wisteria. Fortunately, we weren't disturbed too much by deliveries during the day or revellers at night. The decor was very 80s country house in style and could do with updating. It could certainly have done without the fussy shelf of porcelain teddy ornaments. And in the period style bathroom, the jolly duck loo brush holder & child's painting jarred with the surroundings. However, it was all very clean & reasonably comfortable with a sofa, chairs and coffee table - where we enjoyed the half bottle of chilled white wine waiting for us. There was some difficulty getting the TV to work properly and a call to reception went unanswered but we managed to sort it ourselves in the end.

We kicked off our evening in the pleasant but empty bar. Eventually someone arrived to serve us a couple of G&Ts. Billed later for £12 we thought this was a little on the steep side.

But we had really come here for the marvellous food and despite discovering there was no longer a restaurant we nonetheless eagerly headed to the Brazz. What a shocking disappointment. A bland room, harsh lighting and a cacophony of noise bouncing off the myriad hard surfaces. We were shown to a small table by the toilet door at the back in what appeared to be a converted corridor. It seemed to us that other hotel guests were being seated here too whilst the main area was reserved for locals enjoying a night out. It all felt a little 2nd class. Hey ho, we were there on an offer and it was probably a lot quieter than being at the lively end anyway. We munched on breadsticks, dips and olives for our starter - part of the Groupon deal - then moved on to the main event. My Pidgeon Wellington wasn't at all bad but the accompanying mixed veg was more akin to what you'd find in a pub. My OH however, had very little in the way of vegetables but did enjoy his Partridge. He scored better with dessert - reporting a delicious chocolate fondant. My apple crumble was disappointing - a thin covering of crumble over some fairly bland apples and the dish not big enough to contain the custard supplied in a separate little jug. The icecream which also accompanied it lacked flavour and richness. Service was professional & courteous but, overall, it was a long way from the type of fine dining which the Castle built its reputation on - and with all the ambiance of a motorway service station.

We fared better at breakfast in the old restaurant - although it would have been more courteous for staff to show us to our table rather than simply point in the general direction then move us because we sat at the wrong one. There's a variey of cereals, fruit, pastries and cooked items to choose from. However, at 10 past 9 on a Saturday morning, lots of things were running low or had run out including yogurt, fresh fruit salad, bacon, eggs & sausages. After alerting a member of staff, they kindly offered to cook eggs to order for us and brought them to our table which was much appreciated. They had also, in the meantime, topped up the bacon & sausages.

So, needless to say, we won't be making another special trip to the famous Castle at Taunton. It's a pleasant place to stay but not much more.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeaMilkNoSugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

A real castle, or the remains thereof, with some reasonably sympathetic more modern rooms tacked on to the upper storeys. It's not part of a chain, so the service is friendly and the breakfast old-fashioned and classy; it also has impressive looks externally and handy parking if you're doing business in Taunton town centre. Always a memorable visit, although there can be noise problems with rooms that face onto the nearby square (due to local revellers) so short stays are the most advisable. Don't miss the medieval ruins in the garden.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the very top floor if you can - especially those that the external floodlights shine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeripateticPoleaxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Extremely suitable for short stays..the food is excellent and the Hotel is quirky reflecting life as it was couple of centuries ago with view of present day facilities.
Taunton is close at hand and the Shops are extremely excellent.The Staff are friendly and helpful. Should be tried and experienced once ,twice,thrice..etc. Recommended

Room Tip: Rooms in the front ..floors are sturdier
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silwany1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Went to this hotel on an offer and it was very good value. The room was very clean and comfortable. The decor has been re-done to try and achieve a modern feel. The Dinner at Brass was very good and it was worth paying the small supplements to up grade the room.
Good garden to sit in if the weather permits. My only concern was that they add 12.5% to the bill for everything. This included the drinks that I stood at the bar for and took to the table myself. However, when queried it they removed it without any problem. Great value and would go again on an offer but wouldn't wan to pay room rack.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Montgomery16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

The Castle at Taunton is a real gem. From initial booking to checkout, without exception, the staff at this hotel were friendly, welcoming, professional, efficient and courteous topped up with some good humour.

Following a previous tripadvisor review we followed the directions from the hotel website which were perfect and yes indeed the SatNav would otherwise have taken us a different route.

The public dining and drinking areas are tastefully smart. I felt the hotel looked a little tired in some other places but my husband disagreed feeling some rough edges added eccentric charm, I guess therefore it's just personal preference. In any case, there are so many lovely aspects to this hotel it's rather an irrelevance.

The brasserie is an inspirational addition to the hotel blending old with new. The menu choice wasn't extensive but for non-fussy eaters there is plenty to choose from. The menu was done simply but very well indeed. It also looks like this hotel responds well to customer feedback and there is now plenty of good wine choice under £20.

The breakfast area and breakfast food is simply lovely. We found the Sunday to be considerable busier than the Saturday morning but service remained impeccable. The staff on duty very calmly busied themselves replenishing the buffet at very regular intervals.

Our Saturday night sleep was not great due to some of Taunton's finest shouting in the street below so next time (and there will definitely be a next time) I will ask for a room on the top floor or a garden room.

Taunton itself was also a real surprise, it must be one of the best kept secrets, well worth a trip for the riverside walks, superb Vivary park, interesting alleyways and marvellous delis and tea rooms. A wonderful weekend!

Room Tip: Try upgrading to a Garden Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnFamile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed at The Castle for one night as part of a two week whirlwind tour of Great Britain during which we stayed at a number of inns and hotels from London, down to Salisbury, Mullion, Cardiff, the Cotswolds (for a family wedding - the genesis of our trip), the Lake District and Edinburgh. In planning our itinerary we used a number of sources including a helpful guide book called "Back Roads Great Britain" which is how we came across The Castle.

The hotel itself is quite spectacular from the outside with ample parking. We also loved the interior. Although some may lament the dated decor, we actually think it adds to the hotel's charm. In fact much of our trip was planned around stays in smaller and older boutique type hotels with character. We carefully avoided chain type hotels. In this regard, the Castle did not disappoint. The lady at reception was pleasant and helpful.

Our two adjoining rooms were well appointed and comfortable (albeit without air conditioning a little on the warm side). Alas, our rooms faced the courtyard at the front of the hotel and we were awoken just before 7 am by the sound of the garbage (rubbish) truck making its pick up. It was also quite loud at night as there was some sort of pub just across the other side of the parking lot. Admittedly our windows were open to let in fresh air which exacerbated the problem.

Our dinner in the Brazz was a little disappointing. Although no fault of the hotel, we found the decor to be a little garish and we felt like we were eating in a nightclub. It certainly did not have the ambience of the hotel itself and lacked any sense of warmth, atmosphere or charm. The food was okay but not great (it certainly did not live up to its billing) and whilst our waiter was pleasant he was not overly attentive.

Breakfast on the other hand was superb. First of all, the hotel dining room offers everything the Brazz does not in terms of ambience, warmth, charm and atmosphere. The food was excellent with lots of variety and the service was much better than we experienced at dinner.

The hotel was well located for exploring Taunton and surrounding area and my daughter was happy to have stayed in a "castle".

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonteguP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
5.3 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
3.0 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
379 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
1.4 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle at Taunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle at Taunton

Property: The Castle at Taunton
Address: Castle Green, Taunton TA1 1NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Taunton
#3 Family Hotel in Taunton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castle at Taunton 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle at Taunton, your hotel in the heart of Somerset. Whether you are exploring the finest landscapes of England's West Country, seeking a wedding or conference venue or looking for fun and exciting holiday activities for the entire family - The Castle Hotel offers unrivaled accommodation with plenty of warm, friendly hospitality to make your West Country business or pleasure visit memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Castle at Taunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle At Taunton Hotel Taunton
The Castle Hotel Taunton
The Castle Taunton
The Castle At Taunton Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing