We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Country house experience in a town setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Castle at Taunton
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Country house experience in a town setting”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

A real 'character' hotel which is quite unusual for a centrally located four-star. Quite a different experience from a bland chain. The double rooms are very spacious and well fitted out. Everything was very clean and in good working order. One of the most comfortable beds I've slept in. The car park is small but free. Staff were friendly and efficient. It's not particularly cheap given that it's not in a big city location but still offers value, especially if booked through a late booking site.

Room Tip: Try to get a front-facing room and opt for a 'double' if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilofEnglandLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    215
    95
    32
    27
See reviews for
100
212
49
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aston Clinton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

I can imagine that young folk used to staying at chain hotels probably don't find the Castle to their taste and yes it's lost its excellent hotel restaurant and yes the car park is not very good and yes the single rooms are quite small. However it can still show the hotel chains a thing or two when it comes to hospitality. One feels staff really care and the general ambience generates a feeling of calm and relaxation . The room I stayed in was simply furnished but very adequate with a comfortable bed and an excellent bathroom. Dinner in Brazz was very enjoyable and very good value indeed (try ordering before 7pm to get a cheap but good menu).

All in all I still like the hotel but feel that Mr Chapman needs to stop relying on the past reputation and to invest in continuous refurbishement and to rebuild an image which is more current but retains the best of the Castle's traditions. Complacency will drive this hotel out of business. For instance do we really want sheets and blankets in this day and age (nice that someone turns the sheets down in the evening but the resource cost wouid be better spent on livening up some of the decor).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury UK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Back in the days of Garry Rhodes and then Phil Vickery this was the place to eat around Taunton. But now I find it all has disappeared The Garden suite was still lovely but has not been looked after or updated.
The food in the Brazz was poor and very uncomfortable both cramped and noisy. Trying to get a drink in the hotel bar you need the patients of a saint, and then to pay those prices.
The Staff were very friendly and helpful. Terrible Car Park but that has always been a problem. I do think the Hotel has lost its way or the owner are short of money.

Room Tip: Whilst I would not recommend this hotel any more the garden suites are the rooms to book
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mebyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Stayed for 1 night on a Groupon voucher with a friend as wanted to treat her as she had had a very trying year. Lovely greeting on arrival and easy booking in service. Had plenty of interaction with the Receptionist on duty most of day and night and must say she was an absolute star (an asset to the hotel). Housekeeping were up within 5 mins of arrival with iron. Had a beautiful room (11) could not have asked for better.

The meal in Brazz was v.good and also the service which does go a long way to having an enjoyable meal. The breakfast in the morning was also very good and waitress service very professional.

The only thing I felt that could have made stay better was the bedding! Still have the old fashioned sheets and blanket system which although lovely and clean and well made, made my sleep rather like a wrestling match. Please could you see your way to getting duvets as this would be so much better.

Otherwise lovely lovely lovely - thank you very much.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the turrets - Bow Suite is lovely on 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BELLA123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed for 2 days using the Groupon voucher , what a lovely hotel and great value for money .
The rooms are individual, a good size and well equiped, very clean and comfortable, warranting a 5*, the only thing that stopped this being a excellent was the breakfast on the second day, the various items kept running out and not replaced together. The staff are really helpfull and not too over the top ,The Brazz Resaurant staff were excellent as was the menu choice and food itself , which my husband said was "the best fish he had ever had" -priase indeed for anyone who knows him.I've marked service down slightly only because of the delays over breakfast -the kitchen needs to get this together better, It was also a shame too that they charge £10 for the use of the snooker table which we felt was steep , no wonder no one uses it!
We will definately come back next year as we had a lovely relaxing few days

Room Tip: a few garden rooms are available which would have a better room but we wern't in the rooms long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoubyLouWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimbolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Just like its reputation,top notch !
The best of British - top room - top staff - top food and best of all, value for money!
The Brazz has a great feel about it and the staff are most attentive. The food beautifully cooked and presented. The wine good value for money even with deals on bin ends !
The dog liked it too!

Room Tip: Try room 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomsBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

A very relaxing and enjoyable one-week stay. Our room was tastefully decorated and very clean and comfortable. It was serviced twice a day with a turn'down service in the evening. Wonderful food at breakfast, in the bar, room service, and in Brazz the restaurant. Staff were very attentive, friendly and efficient. It is very conveniently placed, quietly, right in the centre of Taunton, close to shops and newly opened museum. I felt that I was staying in a 'special' place. Will certainly stay here again, and again, and again. Very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Room 61 was excellently located on back overlooking The Green, on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s0mersetsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
3.0 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
5.3 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#17 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#10 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle at Taunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle at Taunton

Property: The Castle at Taunton
Address: Castle Green, Taunton TA1 1NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Taunton
#3 Family Hotel in Taunton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castle at Taunton 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle at Taunton, your hotel in the heart of Somerset. Whether you are exploring the finest landscapes of England's West Country, seeking a wedding or conference venue or looking for fun and exciting holiday activities for the entire family - The Castle Hotel offers unrivaled accommodation with plenty of warm, friendly hospitality to make your West Country business or pleasure visit memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Castle at Taunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle At Taunton Hotel Taunton
The Castle Hotel Taunton
The Castle Taunton
The Castle At Taunton Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing