We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful old English hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Castle at Taunton
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“A wonderful old English hotel”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Hotel right in the middle of town, and with the bonus of having free parking.

Very nice friendly welcome from staff, and our dog was offered a bowl of water.

Lovely wide staircases to each floor, with grand furniture and large displays of beautiful fresh Lilly's. Lift available too.

Our superior room was set quite a distance from reception, through different corridors, which was the only problem, as we had our dog with us, and was a bit of a nuisance when she wanted to go out late at night or early morning!

The room was very good. Large comfy bed, tv with basic channels, tea and coffee, fresh or uht milk, only 1 packet of biscuits, hair dryer, towelling bath robes, shampoo and shower wash, turn down service, but no chocolate on the pillow! Free Wifi. The only comments I have is that I felt cold at night as there was only 1 blanket on the bed and a throw rather than a duvet which I would have preferred, and for our first night we had to share 1 bath and hand towel. We were tucked away in a corner so didn't experience the noise from other rooms that other reviewers have mentioned.

Breakfast was the best I have had at a hotel for a long time, and the awards they have won are well deserved! Where possible the food is locally sorced and organic, and a lot of the choices are homemade, such as the Museli, jams, marmalade and bread. Choice of porridge, kippers, smoked haddock and poached/ fried eggs to order, and other cooked items to help yourself to such as bacon, wonderful sausages, mushrooms, tomatoes, scrambled egg, all fresh and warm. Pastries, croissants, fruit salad, yoghurts and tasty fruit juices.

There is a very good bar area with plenty of seating and cosy alcoves.

I would definitely recommend this lovely hotel for a city stay or for exploring the area.

Watch out for the feral cats living in the wisteria outside!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2holidayinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    222
    97
    32
    27
See reviews for
103
220
51
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancs
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This is an old hotel, a fine building and generally nice hotel. The rooms are comfortable enough but they certainly need a little updating- old tvs and furniture that has seen better days for starters. The service is good, though some staff can come across a little pretentious, you can handle that! The breakfast is excellent, great room, choice of food and is of high quality, backed up by friendly service- a real plus. It is situated in the heart of Taunton, has free parking so is well situated, and its decent value for money. Worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LamcsMr-b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I purchased a weekend break via groupon to this hotel.It was an excellent choice for us.Hotel in an excellent central position for a late autumn break for my husband and I.The room was lovely,staff extremely couteous,greeted us in the car park and showed us into an availble parking space.Once parked the luggage was taken from the car boot to our room-an excellent start to a weekend break.
Many places of interest to visit near by,But we chose to stay in and around Taunton for our two day stay because we have driven through or past via the A38 or M4 for numerous occasions and never stayed until this weekend.
I am glad we stayed and would recommend Taunton as a place of interest and a base to visit the surrounding area.
We would definitely stay at the Castle Hotel again,lovely room,great staff who could not do enough for you.Food of a very high standard.
Keep up the good work see you again!

Room Tip: Sorry no tips the only room we viewed was ours which was perhaps not the largest but a good size,qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TriggerNorthSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
telford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I have been prompted by my husband and children to write,after reading a recent review.We travelled from Telford in November 2011,looking for properties in Somerset.We decided on the Castle as our nights stay,unfortunately due to a very bad accident on the M5,we didnt arrive until halpast midnight,tired,thirsty and hungry.We were greeted by the night porter,who helped us with our luggage from the car.We entered the delightful building,checked in,and enquired about food and coffee.The night porter offered us coffee,and paninis ,but said if we gave him a few minutes he would make us some fresh sandwiches.Although the bar was busy,and he seemed the only person around,10 minutes later he brought us fresh chicken mayo sandwiches,with sides of salad,and crisps,they were delightful.We didnt get his name,but he was english.Quite a novelty in hospitality these days.When we retired to our rooms all our bags had been taken up for us.The rooms were exceptionally clean,and well decorated.We had a very relaxing night,and enjoyed a wonderful buffet style breakfast in the morning,which set us up for the day.
All in all our stay was first class,from start to finish,and we would recommend you try the Castle.

Room Tip: We had rooms next to each other,but would have been nice to have had connecting rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelling5Telford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

As the Castle part of this hotel suggests, this is a very old but well furnished and fairly modernised hotel with a very welcome free Wi Fi. With it comes the very classic nice touches that is sometimes lacking in some of the more modern establishments. Warm and welcoming staff at the reception and anywhere else they may be found. Decent size room with tea, coffee, drinking chocolate, bottle of water and of course a small kettle. Fresh milk can be delivered to your room if your not keen on the UHT stuff. LCD TV with a good reception on the basic channels. Decent bath and shower with ample hot water and supply of shampoo, soap,flannel. Evenings your bed is even turned down for you, bit OTT but nice touch. Breakfast has a fair range of both hot and cold options, locally produced and to a very high standard. Nice touch with fresh flowers on the table. Dinner at the a adjoining Brazz Restaurant is a delight apart from the side order of chips (chips not chunky, but small and greasy). Overall the restaurant offers a high standard of food and service, although not too happy about the 12.5% discretionary service added to the bill. Prefer to add my own gratuity and not to have it imposed on me. Would I recommend this hotel? Definitely.

Room Tip: Ask if you have neighbours. As you will be able to hear them because of the thin adjoining walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisTaylorUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I spent two nights here and enjoyed my stay. Very centrally placed in Taunton, none-the-less very quiet with respect to noise from outside. Unfortunately, sound travels well within the hotel; I knew what my neighbour was watching on the TV and could hear the lift in spite of an intervening fire door. My room was furnished in an old-fashioned way but spotlessly clean and comfortable with a modern bathroom. I would have preferred a duvet to blankets. Helpful, polite staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllida R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel in 2007 and had a good stay. Therefore when we were passing through this area of the country again recently we decided to stop off there again.

Unfortunately our stay this time was far from ideal and we will not be returning! The main reasons for this are:

~The closure of the main restaurant is a real loss. It was one of the main attractions of the hotel - the Brazz is no replacement for it (it is perfectly adequate as a place to eat but that is all).

~The decor of the hotel is definitely getting tired (as a number of others have commented) - walking into the lobby was actually slightly depressing we felt.

~The town centre location dod make it very noisy (at least for the rooms we were in) - there was actually a fight right outside our window and revellers returning home disturbed us right into the early hours.

~The car park was fine (some comments say otherwise) but, on the night we stayed, our car was scratched all the way down one side even though it was parked well away from the entrance - unfortunately the hotel CCTV was not able to pick up this area of the car park.

~Most of the staff did their best to be helpful but were clearly overstretched - there was however one member of staff who stood out (but not in a good way) and that was the NIGHT PORTER who was extremely RUDE and AGGRESSIVE - there is at least one previous review that mentions this and I wish I'd read it before our stay.

Overall, it was one of the worst experiences we have had in a hotel...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Chartists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
3.0 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
5.3 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
798 reviews
1.4 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
137 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle at Taunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle at Taunton

Property: The Castle at Taunton
Address: Castle Green, Taunton TA1 1NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Taunton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#3 Family Hotel in Taunton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castle at Taunton 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle at Taunton, your hotel in the heart of Somerset. Whether you are exploring the finest landscapes of England's West Country, seeking a wedding or conference venue or looking for fun and exciting holiday activities for the entire family - The Castle Hotel offers unrivaled accommodation with plenty of warm, friendly hospitality to make your West Country business or pleasure visit memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Castle at Taunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle At Taunton Hotel Taunton
The Castle Hotel Taunton
The Castle Taunton
The Castle At Taunton Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing