We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, rooms lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Castle at Taunton
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good food, rooms lacking”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

The first room we were shown smelt fusty and for the first time ever, I asked for another. The next was better but overlooked the High Street and lacked central heating- there was an electric panel heater! The food was good, but the same menu for 3 nights.

Room Tip: Ask for one that doesn't have incredibly creaking floor boards
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birthdaygirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    218
    96
    32
    27
See reviews for
101
216
50
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
weston super mare
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

After a lot of searching I eventually settled for The Penthouse at The Castle Hotel to celebrate a very special birthday. This is an ideal place for a smallish dinner party where guests can enjoy the lovely views surrounding the Penthouse. From the outset I had nothing but the utmost co-operation from everyone at this Hotel - the PR department, Chef, and all the hotel staff.including those behind the scenes including the General Manager. Our room was at the front of the hotel which was very spacious with two lovely large windows and a wonderfully comfortable bed. At the moment a new Plaza is being built at the front of the hotel which is a bit of an eyesore but will be worth it in the end. Breakfast next morning was in the lovely old restaurant on the ground floor. I can definitely say I would use the Castle Hotel again. ..

Room Tip: corner rooms are very bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marion l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The Castle Hotel in Taunton is really a castle. Its very pretty with a several hundred year wisteria climbing over the front and a couple of cats basking in the sun in its branches.

Not all the rooms are actually in the castle, mine was in an annexe but easily accessible from the main entrance by stairs - there is a lift but check which rooms are accessible by lift. My room was very pleasant, with a good sized bathroom, tea and coffee making facilities and wifi.

The entrance hall is fabulously 'castley' and has some comfortable sitting rooms/bars just off it. I had some vey good coffee in the bar at about 11pm. I didn't eat in the hotel, so can't say anything about the food. There is a little garden you can sit in and read a book if the wather is nice.

The location is amazingly central and you can wander out in to Taunton in less than a minute. There is a taxi rank just around the corner and a car park if you come by car. If you do come by car, get the hotel's advice on how to find the car park, otherwise your GPS system will have you go somewhere odd.

All the staff I met were happy to see you and helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AVisitor_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

A group of 111 of us enjoyed a private party in the penthouse room at the top of this old Taunton hotel, still in private hands which probably explains the family-run feel of the place: not super-trendy but comfortable and staffed by helpful pleasant staff.

The (upgrbded) room on the third floor had distant views of the county, only slightly marred by the building work going on outside the front of the hotel, a temporary (hopefully) re-organisation of the car-parks. The location could not be more central with immediate access to shops, restaurants and the town centre. The room was pleasantly furnished, with a sitting area, chairs and low table, and up-to-date bathroom fittings (including a bath, not a given these days). There was no noise to disturb one's sleep, at least after midnight as some external music was audible during the evening's proceedings from nearby locations.

The front of the hotel is at its best at this time of the year (spring) as the wisteria is starting to flower.

Breakfast was the usual array of items,but I felt that the cooked items (sausage, black pudding and bacon) were all rather dry (by 0930 anyway).

Room Tip: rooms facing the front of the hotel are farthest removed from the main shopping street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremyburtonReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corsham
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I was born in taunton and have many memories of seeing all the international cricket teams who used to stay at the hotel in the 60s.
I agree with so many of the astute reviews. There is something very nice about the hotel, even though it is a shame that the dining room is now closed for lunch and dinner as I have eaten there in the past and found it memorable. Brazz is ok and I must say the 3 young waiters were outstanding and really knowledgable. The breakfast is easily the best we have ever had any where.

Room Tip: No tips as we were in the cheapest just above front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caraCorsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Sorry I haven't posted until now. We staying at this hotel the night after our wedding (2009). I have always wanted to stay here (having grown up in the town) and my parents very kindly agreed to paid for one night as there was a lack of room in the family house for us to stay (sister arrived with 3 day old baby). When we arrived we were given champagne and treated as the royality! Although we had the cheapest room it was amazing experience and something we will never forgot. The next morning the waiter made whatever we wanted for breakfast. We are also lucky to be given a quick tour of the pent house suite! As my mother at the time had breast cancer and alot of other things were going on (luckly everyone is okay now although my Gran did died of the brain tumour later) the time this guy spent with us showing us the view of this suite really meant more to us than everything I can say. THANKS!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eurotraveller224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

It is at least 2 years since we last stayed at this hstoric town centre hotel. In April this year we found that the atmosphere and quality of the main public rooms and bedrooms is still good, particularly the best bedrooms, now known as 'Garden rooms'. The staff are pleasant and efficient if a liitle unsophisticated. The restuarant however is another story. The splendid dining room is now used only for breakfast and special occassions, such as Mothers Day lunch. Instead dinner is served in the 'Brazz'. This is modern (read garish) with food to match. Low points on the menu include burgers and fish and chips . Marginally better options were included, such as duck, but although listed, this was not available. Still a good place to stay, but if food is important, eat somewhere else or risk disappointment.

Room Tip: Most rooms are good and Garden Rooms are very good. 'Blackdown' is particularly nice with la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank French-Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
5.3 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
3.0 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
379 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
1.4 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle at Taunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle at Taunton

Property: The Castle at Taunton
Address: Castle Green, Taunton TA1 1NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Taunton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#3 Business Hotel in Taunton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castle at Taunton 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle at Taunton, your hotel in the heart of Somerset. Whether you are exploring the finest landscapes of England's West Country, seeking a wedding or conference venue or looking for fun and exciting holiday activities for the entire family - The Castle Hotel offers unrivaled accommodation with plenty of warm, friendly hospitality to make your West Country business or pleasure visit memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Castle at Taunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle At Taunton Hotel Taunton
The Castle Hotel Taunton
The Castle Taunton
The Castle At Taunton Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing