We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Castle at Taunton
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We had a wonderful wedding reception at The Castle recently. The food was excellent and the staff really helpful. All of our requests and wishes were carried out perfectly. We also stayed in one of the rooms overlooking the garden. The room was really nice. It was large, clean and had a dressing area and en suite bathroom.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

497 - 503 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013

Having booked our accommodation on line, at a bargain price, we were not expecting too much, but on arrival found the staff pleasant and the room clean and well proportioned with an extra large bed. Although the Bar and Grill restaurant was closed we had dinner in the Brazz bistro. The meal was splendid, using fresh ingredients, nicely presented by attentive staff.
We found this a good value hotel, well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Book a superior double/twin at the front of the hotel with wisteria around your window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flue123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The castle is nice. It's got really good staff. And if I was there as a couple I'm sure it'd get 4 stars.

If you hate modern "chunk of business hotel" places you'll really like the castle.
If you want a sound proof room, and a value breakfast. You'll not like the castle.

It suffers from old building that no matter how well maintained, has really thin walls, and £15 for breakfast is too much. Breakfast is REALLY tasty, but it's a tenner at best.

Free wifi is good. Not especially fast mind you.

It is the best hotel in the center. So you avoid the jams getting into town in the morning. I'm torn between 3 and 4 stars. Cheaper breakfast and it'd be a 4.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilBell_OS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I was trawling for a hotel in Taunton and the best one on offer seemed to be The Castle. I was aware that this hotel had a great reputation for comfort and cuisine, so, I went ahead and booked it. To my surprise they were offering a 'deal' of two nights with breakfast plus a voucher for £50 in the restaurant, all for £149. This deal I felt, was a bargain for this hotel. We arrived and welcomed by reception and a porter was immediately on hand to bring our luggage in from the car. We were introduced to our room and informed that if we did not like the milk in the little containers, to ask, and fresh milk would be supplied. Also anything else we may wish for. The room was not huge but very comfortable. It was very well appointed with ironing facilities, hairdryer, sewing kit, large flat screen TV, free WiFi and a bottle of spring water. Only complaint was that the room was too hot and there was no aircon to control the temperature. It was radiator 'off' and window open! We booked for the Brazz restaurant, having a choice of two, the other being Bar and Grill. The Brazz was very contemporary and cafe like. Not in keeping with the oldy worlde feel of the hotel. We had a three course meal with a bottle of wine and a couple of pre dinner drinks and the bill was £95 for the two of us. We enjoyed it, the service was excellent but it was wickedly expensive for what it was; a pretty ordinary place, with ordinary cuisine. However, it was packed, mostly by local people coming through the front door and not the hotel entrance. They must be doing something right! With the £50 discount, £45 was about right. Breakfast was actually in the hotel restaurant and was a cosy, comfortable place to eat. It was buffet style with waiter service for coffee, toast and if you wanted eggs cooked other than scrambled, as was the norm. Food was excellent. Real pork sausages, bacon etc, all sourced locally. All in all this hotel is up there with the best for service and food. The hotel is housed in a gorgeous historical building dating back to Norman times in parts, with the added touch of being slap bang in the centre of Taunton, just 50 yards from the shops and a very good shopping centre with all the 'big' names there. To sum up, we really enjoyed our stay and would love to do it again soon.

Room Tip: For a really quiet room, choose the Garden side. The front, carpark side, can be noisy late evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalavarda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We booked as part of a special offer and everything exceeded our expectations. On arrival we were upgraded to a complimentary Garden Room, which gave us (as a family) much more space. We ate at the BRAZZ on our first evening and could not fault the food. The staff in the hotel and restaurant were very friendly. Hotel has its own car park (£5.00 daily charge), which means on arrival you are able to park right outside. As the hotel is in the centre of Taunton, we were able to do some shopping and return to the hotel as and when we chose. We went to Vivary Park (a short walk for the hotel), which was great for the kids. We could not complain about anything, everything was spotlessly clean and we had a fabulous time! More offers are required from hotels like this, which is appealing and affordable to families, and if The Castle offered this break again we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

8 of us stayed here to celebrate a sliver wedding. The staff were superb friendly and attentive but with just the right balance. The Castle has a lot of lovely old charm and is very comfortable and the snugs are great for a family get together. The food in the brassier was excellent , reasonably priced with fresh locally sourced ingredients. Location is very convenient being in centre of town and only 10 mins drive from m5. We will return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Good points - historic building, large and cosy rooms, comfortable bar. Coming here for business, the Castle is perfectly hassle-free and comfortable - and the place seems to be the best in Taunton, so I will keep coming back and bringing my guests.
However the brasserie is poor and oddly looks like a 1980s disco ( a former attempt to be contemporary in an historic building). Eat elsewhere and I recommend Augustus just a few minutes away as also the best place to eat in Taunton.
The rooms are tired, although clean and comfy. Staff are rather disengaged, head down/on the phone, some ok, some are so-so. Some rooms have had the baths taken out - make sure you ask for a bath if you appreciate a soak.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
5.3 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
3 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
837 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
401 reviews
1.4 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle at Taunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle at Taunton

Address: Castle Green, Taunton TA1 1NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#3 Family Hotel in Taunton
#3 Business Hotel in Taunton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
Price Range: £117 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castle at Taunton 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle at Taunton, your hotel in the heart of Somerset. Whether you are exploring the finest landscapes of England's West Country, seeking a wedding or conference venue or looking for fun and exciting holiday activities for the entire family - The Castle Hotel offers unrivaled accommodation with plenty of warm, friendly hospitality to make your West Country business or pleasure visit memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Castle at Taunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle At Taunton Hotel Taunton
The Castle Hotel Taunton
The Castle Taunton
The Castle At Taunton Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing