We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmm, nice has the potential to be amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Castle at Taunton
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Hmm, nice has the potential to be amazing”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is an old traditional building with amazing original features.. In all honesty it needs a bit if a face lift, it's not tatty, just a bit chintzy. Lots of swags in odd colours. Staff very friendly and the food was good, good location, just needs about a million quid spent on the rooms. The public areas have a real classic charm. Mixed bag really, would return, but....

Room Tip: I had a superior room, it was quite big, if not oddly decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    225
    97
    32
    27
See reviews for
104
224
52
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The castle hotel is right in the centre of Taunton, it has lots of history. On arrival the car park was overflowing, the staff were excellent and soon parked my car for me in a space they made. The room was very nice with a view of the pedestrian square at the back of the hotel. The menu was impressive but a bit pricy for our requirements. The breakfast was superb and very fulfilling. Although we stayed only one night it was a very pleasant experience the staff were very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed at the Castle Hotel Taunton for one night, very pleasant hotel set in the beautiful town of Taunton, our room was very tastefully decorated and contained all amenities, The breakfast was buffet style with everything you can imagine Continental or full English, the staff were first class and very friendly and you only had to mention something you'd like and it was yours, ( food wise) we went shopping in the morning Taunton has a wide range of large shops, some of which are closed down in my local town.

Room Tip: The Castle Hotel is set in the heart of the town great for shopping
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

From the moment we pulled into the car park my mouth dropped with a wow. The outside of the hotel is amazing, I'm sure you'd agree. We were staying for two nights and were immediately made to feel welcome by the lady on reception.
The room was nice, slightly dated but clean and comfortable.
There's lots of places to eat and drink nearby so we didn't eat at the hotel.
Would recommend for a nice weekend away.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurabarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Hotel with great atmosphere in grand surroundings with friendly and helpful staff in a good location for business or holiday, even romantic. good choices for eating and food was very well prepared and presented at reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theepilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

We had a small wedding at Taunton Register Office and then wedding breakfast at the Castle Hotel in the Penthouse. The Castle Hotel is ideally situated being just two minutes from the register office and we received a warm welcome from the staff.
The room was beautiful and comfortable for fourteen people and our guests were wowed by the fantastic views. Alistair our waiter was attentive and professional without being intrusive.

The food was delicious and our vegetarian and gluten-free guests said the same. After our meal we retired to the quiet and secluded gardens for drinks and photos.

We had the perfect day and would like to thank Frances for doing such a superb job.

We highly recommend the Castle Hotel at Taunton.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank somersetpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This long established hotel shows how to do it. My single room was a model of design and practicality. I wished I could have stayed longer. The public spaces are at once intimate and spectacularly comfortable. All the staff were professional and personable. Why do most hotels find these things so elusive? In the end, I paid only slightly more than for my dingy experiences in cheap hotels the day before and the day after. But I left the Castle feeling like a prince.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
3.0 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
0.3 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
389 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
1.4 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#16 of 17 in Taunton
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle at Taunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle at Taunton

Property: The Castle at Taunton
Address: Castle Green, Taunton TA1 1NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Taunton
#3 Family Hotel in Taunton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castle at Taunton 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle at Taunton, your hotel in the heart of Somerset. Whether you are exploring the finest landscapes of England's West Country, seeking a wedding or conference venue or looking for fun and exciting holiday activities for the entire family - The Castle Hotel offers unrivaled accommodation with plenty of warm, friendly hospitality to make your West Country business or pleasure visit memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Castle at Taunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle At Taunton Hotel Taunton
The Castle Hotel Taunton
The Castle Taunton
The Castle At Taunton Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing