We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Castle at Taunton
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The hotel retains all the traditional elements of a classic English provincial hotel but also offers an modern brasserie. The lobby is a real gem with its old revolving door and oak paneling yet the bedroom was modern, airy and light. Staff were most polite and helpful and the breakfast service was superb. Right in the heart of town, yet no traffic or other urban noise that disturbed me. Certainly a gem of an hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whereissussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc M, General Manager at The Castle at Taunton, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Whereissussex

Thank you for such a nice write up.

Best regards

Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 715 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

This hotel in town centre great size room . breakfast great, bar service excellent, car park at rear this hotel is in a great position . inside the hotel its 5 *. it looks great. lots of shops near and a river walk next door. plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance.staff all great,

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevor m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc M, General Manager at The Castle at Taunton, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Trevor M

Thanks for your positive review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Best regards

Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

A most pleasant stay in a superbly furnished and decorated room set in a wonderful old castle, family owned for decades.A well presented breakfast in a modern restaurant.

Right in the centre of town but very quiet

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Nigel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc M, General Manager at The Castle at Taunton, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear TigerSutton

Thank you for your positive comments.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We had an overnight stay at The Castle at Taunton in Somerset on our way down to Devon for the weekend. It was a last minute booking after a quick search of the local area. We were looking for a room to accommodate 2 adults and 2 children. The Castle suggested a Garden Room, which were very happy to book. They offered to put in two fold out beds for the children at no extra cost and also arranged allergy-free bedding. We were hoping to be able to dine at the Castle Grill, but a late arrival meant we had to sadly cancel our booking. The reception staff were very understanding and said we could dine at Brazz or order something for our room. We ended up ordered some food for the room, and we offered both the main Brasserie menu and the children's menu in addition to the room service menu. The food that we did order was very tasty, the kids 'fish and chips' was much better than most other kids' menus with hand cut chips and a lovely piece of fresh fish and minted peas. Our 'garden room' exceeded our expectations, it was more of a suite overlooking a 12th Century Norman moat and we were also able to visit the nearby Museum of Somerset adjacent to the castle grounds which we had spotted through the window. The main bed was very large and comfortable and the bathroom was spacious and very clean, we enjoyed the fluffy robes. The Castle itself is a very old, historic building, with a very unique and British atmosphere. We bumped into Lord Douglas Hird who was giving a book talk in one of the rooms within the Castle. Breakfast in Brazz was also tasty, with locally sourced produce and a large table with additional breakfast items to chose from alongside a cooked to order breakfast. All in all, we had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. The service on booking, from reception on arrival, by room service and at breakfast was excellent all round. The kids now keep asking us when we are going back to the Castle!

Room Tip: The garden rooms are said to be the largest rooms within the castle. Fold out beds are available for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc M, General Manager at The Castle at Taunton, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Ren B

Thanks for such a positive review. It is great that you and your family had such a great time at the hotel. I look forward to meeting you the next time.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Few parties can be more important than celebrating a mother's 90th birthday with family and close friends. The Castle went the extra mile to ensure we all had a tremendous lunch party. The banqueting manager and all of her colleagues ensured we could tailor the party to match the family's many requests from the flowers to the room arrangements. I recommend choosing the two-choice rather than a single set of courses for lunch at a small extra price, which can also accommodate vegetarian options. their willingness to allow us to bring our own choice of wines was also helpful for anyone with a cellar to use, at a not too costly "corkage". Finally, a big thank for the banqueting staff and those at front of house for not making a collapsed aging guest more of a drama than it could have been. All, thankfully, was resolved after the timely intervention of the Taunton Ambulance service and my mother, and everyone, enjoyed a super celebratory day together. I wholeheartedly recommend the venue for any function.

I have one comment to make on the hotel's stated policy of charging guests for parking in the hotel car park. This was kindly waived for me, but I don't think this is a charge which should be levied or even advertised as being due for hotel guests. For non-guests, I have some sympathy - but not for guests.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMcK1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc M, General Manager at The Castle at Taunton, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear JMcK1954

Thank you for writing such a positive review about your Mother's 90th birthday lunch. The Taunton ambulance service are very efficient and are generally here in minutes whenever they are called. They took great care of your guest on Sunday and I believe that he was able to re-join the party. I hope to see you and your Mother back soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Dropped in for Sunday Lunch on 17 Nov 2013. Made most welcome with smiling faces from staff, even though we had no booking. Good atmosphere with plenty of people there. Extensive choice of food to cover all tastes from lite bites to full 3 or 4 course meals. A lot of thought had gone into the menu. Plenty of attention throughout our visit to ensure timely delivery of each course.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank terry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc M, General Manager at The Castle at Taunton, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Terry D

Thank you for your positive review. I hope to see you back soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I must admit that the search of the Somerset noted eateries with rooms but could find no room at the Inn and therefore settled on The Castle at Taunton as a rather second choice and so had little expectations. In the end I was really pleasantly surprised - even delighted. Liam Finnegan produces some outstanding dishes which really captivate the diners. Amazing tastes and flavours. The room is full of Art Deco touches but sadly lacks a little atmosphere and doesn't meet the standard of the cooking. The rooms are traditional but comfortable. Hate hotels that charge extortionately for car parking thouhg.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc M, General Manager at The Castle at Taunton, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear Marina1401

Thank you for submitting a positive review of the hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and were impressed with the level of Liam's cooking.

We charge £5 per night for safe and secure town centre parking which I believe is great value.

I hope that next time we will be your first choice in Somerset!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
3 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
5.3 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25
1.4 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#10 of 17 in Taunton
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle at Taunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle at Taunton

Address: Castle Green, Taunton TA1 1NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#3 Business Hotel in Taunton
#3 Family Hotel in Taunton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
Price Range: £118 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castle at Taunton 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle at Taunton, your hotel in the heart of Somerset. Whether you are exploring the finest landscapes of England's West Country, seeking a wedding or conference venue or looking for fun and exciting holiday activities for the entire family - The Castle Hotel offers unrivaled accommodation with plenty of warm, friendly hospitality to make your West Country business or pleasure visit memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Castle at Taunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle At Taunton Hotel Taunton
The Castle Hotel Taunton
The Castle Taunton
The Castle At Taunton Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing