We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“two night stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Castle at Taunton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Castle at Taunton
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Bowdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“two night stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

my wife and I booked one night at the Castle Hotel in order to break our journey to Cornwall.
We found the hotel such a pleasure that we shortened our time in Cornwall to spend another night on the return leg.
The staff made it a very homely atmosphere without exception everyone was most hospitable.
Two dinners in "The Brazz" were wonderful, and two breakfasts were the best ever.
We will be going back to The Castle at Taunton.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank cameron f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc M, General Manager at The Castle at Taunton, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear cameron f

Thank you for posting such a positive review about your recent stay. We hope you stop off again on your next trip to the West Country.

Best regards

Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    209
    93
    32
    27
See reviews for
99
205
49
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall U.K.
Level Contributor
168 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here recently on a Groupon deal and it was worth every penny. We were allocated a superior room at what I would say is the rear of the hotel, though the staff refer to it as the front. The room was indeed superior and the bathroom had a lovely walk in shower. We would have preferred a bath and the helpful girl on reception did try to accommodate us at check in but this would have involved a down grade in terms of room size. We therefore chose to stay where we were. Our room had a super widescreen, modern t.v., comfortable beds and the wifi worked well.
The Castle is very much a relic from a bygone age but in a thoroughly nice way. The staff we encountered were charming throughout our all too brief stay.
Our dinner was taken in Brazz, the hotel's less formal restaurant, and whilst our dinner allowance was only £12.50 per person, we managed to eat well without breaking the bank. Our waitress, whose name sadly escapes me, was efficiency and charm personified.
The breakfast buffet the next morning was probably the best we've ever had in a hotel, and we've sampled a few. The cooked options were all freshly prepared and included every possible permutation, including the 'full Monty'.
All in all, a delightful stay and one we'd happily repeat if an offer was available.

Room Tip: If peace and quiet is your thing ask for a room at the front, which perversely seems to be at the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian&Moira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc M, General Manager at The Castle at Taunton, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Julian&Moria

Thank you for such a positive review. I am delighted that you had such a enjoyable stay.

Best regards

Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole,
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We have stayed here twice, when they do a Groupon offer, and it was better than ever. The rooms and public areas are full of character and lovely unusual details. But the food is the star attraction .We ate in the fine dining restaurant, everything was delicious, from the homemade breads, pink tender lamb to the homemade petit four with coffee.And then, what a fab breakfast. All the usuals and more - ruby grapefruit juice, choice of eggs Benedict, Royale or Florentine, almond croissants along with all the standard items. Shame Taunton itself is such an ordinary place,the high street could be any town and not even the Museum next door is open on a Sunday!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VisitorPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc M, General Manager at The Castle at Taunton, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Visitorpoole

Thanks for the great review. Keep an eye out for our next Groupon offer.

Best regards

Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We would like to thank all the Staff at The Castle for their attention to detail, friendly professionalism , and excellent service on our Wedding Day. Both the ceremony and lunch room were very well presented , and very good range of menu choices . We felt excellent value for money .

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc M, General Manager at The Castle at Taunton, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Phil M

Thank you for the great review. We love weddings and we really enjoyed making your day so special. We hope to see you back when you return from the honeymoon.

Best regards

Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Even though this old hotel is in the heart of Taunton, once inside you feel like you are in a Scottish hunting lodge or perhaps on the set of a gothic horror movie. Lots of interesting features if somewhat bizarre (in a good way) decor and fixtures.

Excellent restaurant for both dinner an breakfast.

Suffers as so many hotels do, from a receptionist that had left her smile at home that day.

Room Tip: No need to eat out in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ImpBublinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc M, General Manager at The Castle at Taunton, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear ImpBubinky

Thank you for such a great review. We love being individual.!! I am very sorry that there was no smile when you arrived. I will remind the reception team to bring their best smiles to work. Inexcusable and will be addressed. I hope to see you back soon

Best regards

Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Had a wonderful evening last night with the neonatal team from musgrove park. The food and service were excellent and the setting and general arrangements were exceptional.
Great value for money and we will definitely return

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc M, General Manager at The Castle at Taunton, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Sarah L

Thank you for supporting us with such a positive review. I look forward to seeing you back in the hotel in the near future.

Best regards

Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

My wife and I had a Chocolate Tea here last Friday afternoon. Lots of delicious sandwiches, scones with jam and cream, chocolate and other small cakes, all presented well on a tiered presentation dish. Orange pekoe tea, with thoughtfully provided jug of hot water, made the visit memorable (for my wife's birthday), as did the very attentive service. We couldn't eat everything, so we were given a "doggy bag" to take away!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelS185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc M, General Manager at The Castle at Taunton, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear MichaelS185

Thank you for posting such a positive review of your Chocolate Afternoon Tea and for choosing to celebrate your wife's birthday with us at The Castle at Taunton. I hope to see you back soon.

Best regards

Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
5.3 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
3.0 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
0.4 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#10 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle at Taunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle at Taunton

Property: The Castle at Taunton
Address: Castle Green, Taunton TA1 1NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Taunton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#3 Business Hotel in Taunton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castle at Taunton 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle at Taunton, your hotel in the heart of Somerset. Whether you are exploring the finest landscapes of England's West Country, seeking a wedding or conference venue or looking for fun and exciting holiday activities for the entire family - The Castle Hotel offers unrivaled accommodation with plenty of warm, friendly hospitality to make your West Country business or pleasure visit memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Castle at Taunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle At Taunton Hotel Taunton
The Castle Hotel Taunton
The Castle Taunton
The Castle At Taunton Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing