We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great independent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Castle at Taunton
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Booked 2 rooms, a double & a twin and asked for them to be close together. Rooms were huge, and had a lobby which made them into a two bedroom suite. The twin had a sofa and still loads of room. We stayed two nights on the 'Somerset cream tea' deal which included breakfast (£150'ish per room)
Brilliant value for money. Not the best cream tea we have ever had, but the breakfast was VERY good, particularly on the Saturday morning, my french toast was perfect. I think they have a different chef on Sunday, it was still good, but not as good as Saturday morning.
We will stay again - if we can get a similar deal.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parkinson555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 677 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

Beautiful hotel situated in the middle of Taunton. We had a wonderfully light and airy (Garden) room which, at £200 per night (inc breaklfast), was not cheap, but pretty good value. The place runs like clockwork and the staff are genuinely friendly and helpful. They were particularly wecoming of our 2 dogs. My only gripe is paying £5 per night for the car park, but otherwise perfect. All hotels should run like this.

Not crazy about location, but you can't blame the hotel for that. Looks like there's quite a few social problems in Taunton. My tip - get out of Taunton and visit some surrounding villages. There's a brilliant pub called Rising Sun in West Bagborough (but there's many others)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed for two nights to break up our journey to Cornwall and my partner had a business meeting in Taunton and Barnstaple. Our room was enormous! We stayed in 120 which I think was called the Seymour suite. As we have an 8 week old baby this was perfect, plenty of room for a travel cot and all the usual baby stuff! Some might find the hotel a little old fashioned but I think this is part of its charm. Recommend dinner at castle bow restaurant I had the grilled cod which was delicious and the pork looked good too. Great service, great staff and great location.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank LozzaWorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Fabulous hotel in a central location. Good sized, comfortable and well serviced rooms. Dining experiences were of the highest quality, particularly Gerry's breakfasts in Brazz, with his delicious breads. Staff extremely attentive and polite with a level of service sadly missing from many other hotels. We would revisit without a doubt as our brief stay was most enjoyable. Many thanks

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuncMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Excellent service, the building well maintained, food and staff great , but an insult having to pay to use their private carpark! This really left a bitter taste, as we couldn't fault the hotel itself.

Room Tip: You have to pay to park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebandCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We use this Hotel a lot as the standards are always excellent. The rooms are superb and the facilities excellent too. Staff here always ready to serve and make sure you get what you want when you need it. Go on, spoil yourself!

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of the Hotel are slightly quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thraxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The staff in this hotel are the best part of the stay as they are good humoured, informative and nothing was too much trouble. Ten out of ten for customer services. The room was absolutely great as far as the size, very generous with a huge bathroom. Great towels and robes, a fabulous bath followed by lounging getting ready for a party in the evening. But the carpet in the room was scorched in two places, someone had placed a hot iron on the floor and another scorched area that looked like the victim of hair straighteners. The floor boards creaked so badly that I woke my husband when I went to the loo during the early hours .... and finally we were not able to get a drink at the bar on return from the party as the bar was out of bounds due to the potential for noise disturbing guests sleeping above. The building is beauiful and truly historic, but our room overlooking the high street was a bit tired and dated. Didn't have breakfast I'm afraid as opted for room only, but at £125 for the room I thought it was not very good value - sorry.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sally m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
3.0 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
5.3 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
831 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
1.4 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#8 of 17 in Taunton
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle at Taunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle at Taunton

Address: Castle Green, Taunton TA1 1NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Taunton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#3 Family Hotel in Taunton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
Price Range: £118 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castle at Taunton 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle at Taunton, your hotel in the heart of Somerset. Whether you are exploring the finest landscapes of England's West Country, seeking a wedding or conference venue or looking for fun and exciting holiday activities for the entire family - The Castle Hotel offers unrivaled accommodation with plenty of warm, friendly hospitality to make your West Country business or pleasure visit memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Castle at Taunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle At Taunton Hotel Taunton
The Castle Hotel Taunton
The Castle Taunton
The Castle At Taunton Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing