We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Castle at Taunton
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Visited family and our first stay in this reputable hotel. Very efficient and friendly staff and received upgraded room which was very comfortable and immaculate. Had a very nice stay and will most definitely return to this venue in the future. Great hotel with much character and beautifully maintained. Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank petelincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc M, General Manager at The Castle at Taunton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear petalincs

Thank you for posting such a positive review. I am delighted that you had such a wonderful stay and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Best regards

Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (704)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 704 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

On arrival I thought what a pretty hotel, the outside is quite mysterious, especially in the dark. The welcome was friendly and so was the staff. The room wasn't. Little box at the end of the Hotel. So all in all £140/night seems to be quite a lot for what you get and the rooms were very hot. The breakfast was good but total chaos. EggS and soldiers came with one egg only and only after asking I received a second egg and the buffet comes with additional cost. They were perfect though. The male toiled cubicle in the Brazz (where the breakfast happens) hat loads of bogeys sticking at the wall and undefined marks all over which was really disgusting. All in all it was ok but too expensive. Same view shared by the big group I arrived with.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kand T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc M, General Manager at The Castle at Taunton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Kand T

Thank you for reviewing us and pointing out the issues you experienced during your stay. I will review all your comments with the team and make sure that we make improvements in the areas that you have highlighted. If you would like to go into any more detail please contact me at the hotel.

Best regards

Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a Friday and Saturday night in a deluxe double. The building is beautiful. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The decor in the rooms was dated and lampshades were falling apart when trying to turn the light on. We had a very pleasant stay, but thought it was very expensive for what you get. We weren't impressed with the extra £10 for parking on the final bill on top of the room charge. I would come back again if we got a special deal, but I don't think it's worth the full price.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tine1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc M, General Manager at The Castle at Taunton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Tine 1980

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. Sorry about your lamp shades. They have been replaced. Parking is £5.00 per night which I think is very reasonable for a town center location. I would recommend signing up to our news letter to get notification of the best deals.

Best regards

Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Booked 2 rooms, a double & a twin and asked for them to be close together. Rooms were huge, and had a lobby which made them into a two bedroom suite. The twin had a sofa and still loads of room. We stayed two nights on the 'Somerset cream tea' deal which included breakfast (£150'ish per room)
Brilliant value for money. Not the best cream tea we have ever had, but the breakfast was VERY good, particularly on the Saturday morning, my french toast was perfect. I think they have a different chef on Sunday, it was still good, but not as good as Saturday morning.
We will stay again - if we can get a similar deal.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parkinson555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Beautiful hotel situated in the middle of Taunton. We had a wonderfully light and airy (Garden) room which, at £200 per night (inc breaklfast), was not cheap, but pretty good value. The place runs like clockwork and the staff are genuinely friendly and helpful. They were particularly wecoming of our 2 dogs. My only gripe is paying £5 per night for the car park, but otherwise perfect. All hotels should run like this.

Not crazy about location, but you can't blame the hotel for that. Looks like there's quite a few social problems in Taunton. My tip - get out of Taunton and visit some surrounding villages. There's a brilliant pub called Rising Sun in West Bagborough (but there's many others)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed for two nights to break up our journey to Cornwall and my partner had a business meeting in Taunton and Barnstaple. Our room was enormous! We stayed in 120 which I think was called the Seymour suite. As we have an 8 week old baby this was perfect, plenty of room for a travel cot and all the usual baby stuff! Some might find the hotel a little old fashioned but I think this is part of its charm. Recommend dinner at castle bow restaurant I had the grilled cod which was delicious and the pork looked good too. Great service, great staff and great location.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank LozzaWorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Fabulous hotel in a central location. Good sized, comfortable and well serviced rooms. Dining experiences were of the highest quality, particularly Gerry's breakfasts in Brazz, with his delicious breads. Staff extremely attentive and polite with a level of service sadly missing from many other hotels. We would revisit without a doubt as our brief stay was most enjoyable. Many thanks

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuncMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
3 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
5.3 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
845 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle at Taunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle at Taunton

Address: Castle Green, Taunton TA1 1NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#3 Family Hotel in Taunton
#3 Business Hotel in Taunton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
Price Range: £114 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castle at Taunton 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle at Taunton, your hotel in the heart of Somerset. Whether you are exploring the finest landscapes of England's West Country, seeking a wedding or conference venue or looking for fun and exciting holiday activities for the entire family - The Castle Hotel offers unrivaled accommodation with plenty of warm, friendly hospitality to make your West Country business or pleasure visit memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Castle at Taunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle At Taunton Hotel Taunton
The Castle Hotel Taunton
The Castle Taunton
The Castle At Taunton Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing