We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a place to stay if you want to sleep!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Castle at Taunton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Castle at Taunton
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a place to stay if you want to sleep!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2009

I had long wanted to stay at this hotel on one of our regular visits to the West Country but not again. There are aspects of this hotel which are very pleasing but the noise from the function suite makes sleep before midnight - at least on a Friday and especially on a Saturday night - impossible. The disco blares out with every word of every song pounding through the hotel. And the staff think this is acceptable! "It only goes on until midnight!" was their response. So this is not a place to stay if you are hoping to sleep before the early hours..

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyC26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    209
    93
    32
    27
See reviews for
99
205
49
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
italy/belgium
Level Contributor
136 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2009

We found the Castle Hotel at Taunton really very nice. It is a charming "old English style" hotel, very well kept. Rooms are very spacious and welcoming, beds are very confortable and bathrooms are big. Breakfast is absolutely high quality with very tasty food, all organic and locally produced. The home produced muesli, jams and marmelades are worth a detour. There is a beautiful garden with tables.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank claudiac67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

Chintzy overpriced stuffy hotel. Stayed there due to a recent visit to Taunton. Found service far short of what I expect from a four star hotel. Also nothing is complimentary including newspapers! Very chintzy and 1990s decor. Nothing modern. The only redeeming feature is the english breakfast which is above average.

One to avoid

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonkeyMagicLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton
Level Contributor
137 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2009

The hotel facilities are good but the restaurant and bar are very disappointing.The bar seems to have been modernised but lacks charm and atmosphere.In the restaurant one is totally in the hand of staff whose English is very limited. There was no supervision by more experienced staff. It seems that they like to seat people closely together even when the restaurant was largely empty.Again there was a lack of atmosphere. Food was good but portions tiny, very nouvelle cuisine.Car parking is difficult and there is a lot of outside noise as the hotel is in the middle of a number of pubs nearby.One senses faded glory whose owners have lost interest.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aart8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2009

I stayed one night on business. The Hotel is in the centre of Taunton and easily accessible by taxi from the train station. The reception area is small but welcoming and the staff were very accommodating, advising me on the best time to book a taxi for my morning appointment. and carrying my back up to the room.

The room as a single but it was spacious and comfortable. No hair dryer in the room though.

They are proud of their locally sourced produce and provide details in their hotel information book. I didn't eat in the restaurant but if breakfast is anything to go by then it shouldn't be a disappointment.
Their home made muesli is fantastic and their orange juice is some of the best I have had. Details of the provenance for each element of the breakfast menu is provided. Service was efficient and unobtrusive.

A short stay but one that I would definately repeat if I was in the area.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gilliemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2009

Well, where to start....

Firstly the room. We paid a discounted last minute rate of £125 b&b and at that price it was just about ok. The rack rate is £235 and if I had paid that this review would be a lot more critical. This is supposedly a top notch hotel and you'd expect decent toiletries, slippers, robes, decent coffee, safe - in fact any sign that you'd coughed up well over £200.

The staff were ok, no real issues there.

Breakfast was dull. A buffet style that was left to sit in hot trays and although you could order extras like different eggs or kippers, this wasn't obvious unless you saw someone else doing so. The eggs we ordered didn't even arrive so I couldn't tell you if the extras were any better than the buffet. Again, I go back to the earlier point - this is supposedly a top notch £200+ per night hotel.

Cocktail bar is lovely if somewhat at odds with the rest of the hotel. Modern, nicely finished and comfortable to sit in - a world away from the rest of the building which is fairly staid and much more olde worldy. Maybe that's the point and I'm just missing it!

Much as I am all for privately owned hotels, I got the real sense that a top hotel chain with some money to spend could do a fantastic job on this place. Instead what we have is a hotel which has no real competition in the town and seems to live on a past reputation which it probably can no longer deliver.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThreeMichelinStarred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2009

Having been bought up and raised in Taunton, the thought that comes to mind when thinking of The Castle is of , quality and sevice, of which it lacks both.
We have stayed in the castle many times and vowed each time was its last chance.
Our last stay was in October 2008, we were in town to celebrate my 30th birthday, and had a fabulous party at Hestercombe House. So being somewhat merry we returned to the hotel around midnight for coffee. We went to the bar area where there were people sat drinking and having waited for sometime decided to order our coffee from reception. 2 of my friends were on there way for coffee as well, having followed in the taxi behind. To start the chap behind reception was ok, and I was under no impression at all, having a drink in the hotel bar would be a problem. As soon as he found out that friends were popping in as well, he got on his high horse and told me TO GET TO MY ROOM. My other half was not merry at all in fact quite sober, after hearing how a member of staff spoke to a guest decided to come over and see what all the fuss was about. The chap was again very rude and when we asked his name, replied " I DON'T GIVE MY NAME TO NO-ONE". Eventually he did tell us his name. We should have compained but decided not too, as what was the point, we were not coming back to the hotel again. As for the food in the restaurant, i had a family meal back in August, our expectations were high, what with the reputation. My meal was overcooked, dull and bland. It was until the following week I was tlaking about the meal with my parents both of them commented on how bad the food was, but had previously said they would not say anything as it was meant to be a special get together. We have since found better hotels out of town, with better service and food. I must say one other thing, about this place, they would not let me have a coffee in the bar, but would happily let peoplein during the day that were obviously pissed out of their heads being rowdy in the bar, with no comment made whatsoever. I say BRING BACK THE COUNTY HOTEL !

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
5.3 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
3.0 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
0.4 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#10 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle at Taunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle at Taunton

Property: The Castle at Taunton
Address: Castle Green, Taunton TA1 1NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#3 Family Hotel in Taunton
#3 Business Hotel in Taunton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castle at Taunton 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle at Taunton, your hotel in the heart of Somerset. Whether you are exploring the finest landscapes of England's West Country, seeking a wedding or conference venue or looking for fun and exciting holiday activities for the entire family - The Castle Hotel offers unrivaled accommodation with plenty of warm, friendly hospitality to make your West Country business or pleasure visit memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Castle at Taunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle At Taunton Hotel Taunton
The Castle Hotel Taunton
The Castle Taunton
The Castle At Taunton Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing