We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends on the room !!!”
Review of Days Inn Taunton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Taunton
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed here on the way down to Cornwall to break the journey up and the room was exellent and we gave it full marks on the Days Inn survey.
BUT on the way back we stayed here again the bathroom was a real let down, the bath had very bad ground in dirt made worse by the removal of a mat they had, had in at some point.
New tiles put on totally different to the rest and pertruding out.
Grout could have done with a clean up.
We stayed at a very good price so put up with it, but if I had paid full price I would have been very unhappy.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
Thank luvhols043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
There are newer reviews for Days Inn Taunton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel on the 4th November and on our arrival we were given a very friendly greeting from the receptionist. The booking in was very efficient. Our room was quite adequate but small and we felt the bed was a little small. The room got very hot in the night but with the window open beware of the noise of traffic on the motorway. Food voucher bought from reception a good idea but beware hidden charges in Resbite outlet.Fish and chips fine but £1.00 for portion of mushy peas.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank touristgirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

We stayed here for two nights using the Daily Mirror/Days Inn 10th anniversary promotion so it only cost us £10 a night. The room was clean and tidy, beds comfortable and with lovely cotton sheet/duvet cover. The bathroom was perhaps a bit tired but absolutely fine for us to use. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Overall a good stay and we are looking forward to doing the same sort of break in August at the Oxford Days Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristabelSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

We have stayed in quite a few Premier Inns over the last year and in fact stayed in this one in Oct last year. The room we had this time was by far the most uncomfortable and dated although it was clean and warm. Also the shower was great.

The staff were very pleasant at reception but the office area itself was a mess and rather offputting but overall it was ok. We do come to Taunton infreqently and will probably stay in one of the other budget hotels next time.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graydondee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Days Inn Taunton, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2010

Thanks for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2010

Yes, I know that Premier Inn are supposed to just provide cheap, functional accomodation but did they really have to be so rude about it?!
We arrived at Bristol Airport late because of the snow and had to travel back to Penzance. There was disruption on the roads and so pulled into the Premier Inn on the A38 between Bristol Airport and the M5. They did not have any rooms but could book us into the Taunton Deane services hotel. We took the offer and paid £63 for a twin room WITHOUt breakfast.
Upon arrival (cold, tired, nervy as we had been sliding around in the ice), I cheerfully greeted the receptionist and stated my name with some triviality about the snow.
The response was a finger in the air and "one moment". We then waited at least 5-6 minutes whilst he continued clipping receipts to sheets of paper - all the while ignoring us. If he had said - "bit of a mess here, I'll be right with you" or something similar I would have thought no more about it.
Eventually he barked "Name?" at me and proceeded to make rude, unhelpful and ignorant work of checking us in.
The room was poor and terrible value for money. I was miffed because the previous week we had paid £59 for both of us at Bristol Airport in the Holiday Inn including breakfast. This was a much much nicer room and less expensive!
The only saving grace was that the lady on the receiption when we left was very nice indeed, chatting to us about the traffic congestion and giving us helpful info. Unfortunately the previous man had ruined it and I will now avoid Premier Inn at all costs.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarahpimms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Days Inn Taunton, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2010

Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn our main objective remains to deliver a high level of customer service in all our establishments. We apologise that the our hotel did not meet your expectations. Your comments have been noted and will be duly investigated by both Head Office and the Management Team at our Taunton Deane hotel. Please be assured at Premier Inn we take the service provided to all our guests very seriously and your feedback will be duly followed up. Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay we do hope that we can welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

We travelled down in torrential rain and slow roads, arriving very late and tired. Check-in took an age, and in some kind of reversion to the 1950's, we eventually agreed to pretend to be a married couple to simplify the process. At 3 in the morning, I don't need to hear about your breakfast deal - I can read the signs whilst you're waiting for your booking system to respond. However, the price was reasonable, the room OK, and very quiet. I'm a great fan of motorway service stopovers, for a quick, cheap night's sleep to break a long drive and this was one of the better ones.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fancyrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

Stayed at many Premier Inns in the last month and this was by far the worse. It's at a motorway service area so there's no food here - just nasty services food.

The room was noticeably worse than usual Premier Inn standard - dated, chairs uncomfortable, etc.

The nearby Premier Inns at Taunton Ruishton and Bridgewater are much better bets and accessible from both north and south of M5.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaunR123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taunton
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
6.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
3.0 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Taunton
Travelodge Taunton
#9 of 17 in Taunton
193 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Wellington Somerset Hotel
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Taunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Taunton

Address: Roadchef Motorway Svc Taunton Deane Motorway Services Area M5 | M5 Southbound Trullm, Taunton TA3 7PF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range: £37 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Taunton 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Days Inn Taunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Taunton Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing