We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”
Review of Days Inn Taunton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Taunton
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed 19 October 2012

A convenient stop off late at night when driving to Cornwall as it's right on the M5.
Comfortable rooms,TV and great shower pressure. Ample tea,coffee and milk,
and always more available. The noise of the motorway didn't prevent a good nights
sleep. For £25 each it's a bargain that prevents you falling asleep at the wheel.
I never eat breakfast, but the service area has a wide selection of coffee and food
available

Room Tip: No tips as to room choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oggiedan732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicodemus11, General Manager at Days Inn Taunton, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Thankyou for your comments..I,m glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    118
    94
    55
    31
See reviews for
109
120
31
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This hotel was not great. My door had a hole in it and it only had a chain on the inside - it wasn't clear if it could be opened from the outside when I was sleeping without the chain being on.
Breakfast was extra, paying £7.50 for a meal worth £10, but if you are not careful you go over the £10 cost and have to pay more as I did. The breakfast was luke warm and not very nice - I had to wait about 10 minutes for my toast which again was not hot.

I would not stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicodemus11, General Manager at Days Inn Taunton, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Sorry you did not enjoy your stay. The doors have a security spy hole for guests to see whos at the door, and an interior door chain to ensure your added security. We do offer the £7.50 food voucher at the hotel to give guests even better value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taunton hotels

Slough,Berks
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Myself,hubby,2 sons and my mum stayed here for 2 nights in May over the bank hol.We paid £50 prpn,so a total of £200 for stay.Not bad value in my opinion for a budget hotel for a busy hol weekend.
Hubby,me and youngest son shared one room (double n sofa bed),eldest son and mum had another room with 2 twin beds in.Both a good size,clean and with all the usual amenities you would find.TV,tea/coffee facilities,bath/shower room etc.,
Staff on reception very helpful and we got checked in very quickly after a long journey from Berkshire being stuck in traffic jams and the only thing that annoyed us was when we arrived near to Taunton,it took us over an hour to find the hotel.The instructions from the website were abit misleading and we got totally lost going up and down little lanes etc.,Luckily we got there eventually.
The services on the doorstep was handy to get food/drinks/newspapers and other things from and the 2 mornings we where there we used it for breakfast.We didn't use the offer from the Hotel,instead just having a light breakfast each instead of a big fry up.
We where there for a friends birthday party in Taunton which is about 6/7 miles away from the hotel,so got taxi's there and back after the party.Rest of the break we used our car to travel around in.
Overall,we had a great break and found the hotel fine for our short stay and needs.We would have prefered a hotel nearer to Taunton but this was all we could find at reasonable prices for that time of year.
I would return if the need ever arises.........Not bad at all!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesseche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicodemus11, General Manager at Days Inn Taunton, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Thankyou for your review. I,m glad you had an enjoyable stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This is a particularly rancid Days Inn. Keep away if dirty smelly cheap hotels annoy you. No-one expects much from a Days Inn, but how hard could it be to kill the mould with some bleach and a brush?

Its basically as bad as the worst travelodge you've ever stayed in

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadagain222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicodemus11, General Manager at Days Inn Taunton, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
I,m sorry you didnt enjoy your stay...we,ll make sure all our bathrooms are top notch for cleanliness
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick,
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed here for a two night break to visit Taunton, Minehead, Dunster, and other areas nearby. The hotel is situated on Taunton Deane motorway services on the M5. Our reception was friendly, the room was a good size, very clean, comfortable, and contained tea and coffee facilities, flat screen television with a good range of programmes, a good bathroom and excellent shower. The site also has normal motorway services, including a 24 hour shop and newsagent.
Despite being in sound of the motorway, the room was reasonably well sound insulated, and we slept well on both nights.
Much better than average, and much better value than other hotels offering four-star chefs, swimming pools, and various other things, if you don't want them!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracerWarwick_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicodemus11, General Manager at Days Inn Taunton, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Thankyou for your comments.. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This hotel is at best average - we stayed to break up the drive from the Northwest to Cornwall. We didn't have any issues with the decor as such, and our room was very clean (no signs of damp or fleas, like others have reported).

The reception staff were excellent, and very friendly. We arrived much later than anticipated due to the most horrific weather conditions - and the staff were most understanding.

As for other comments about waiting in reception for staff to arrive, so they could use the toilet - the hotel is sited in a motorway service station, where there are facilities at hand! I think some people like to complain for the sakes of complaining!

You can buy a voucher in reception for £7.50, which buys you £10 in value to spend in the restaurant in the service station next door! My only real complaint was, that when we went for breakfast at 7.30 the following morning, was that the restaurant was full to bursting! It is a really, really busy service stop on the M5!

Go with an open mind, as long as you don't expect the Ritz (or a decent Premier Inn), you won't be too disappointed.

Room Tip: We had the room next to reception - which was good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicodemus11, General Manager at Days Inn Taunton, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Thankyou for your comments. We are working with the catering manager at the services to make things even better at peak periods .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strood, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012 via mobile

Me, my friend and her 4 year old daughter booked a family room here for 1 night whilst visiting friends in Chard.
The room was very clean and a good size. There were plenty of teas and coffees left for us and a stack of spare bedding and towels. The bathroom was really clean too although we were disappointed that they've gone down the route of wall mounted soap and shower gel dispensers and there was no shampoo!
Considering we were in a services hotel it was very quiet and all 3 of us got a good night's sleep.
The shower was powerful enough to wake you right up but the bathroom fan was extremely noisy. We resorted to using the light from our mobile phones rather than switching the light on.
All in all, a good, clean hotel that I would definitely stay at again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicodemus11, General Manager at Days Inn Taunton, responded to this review, 10 November 2012
We are glad you enoyed your stay with us, and that it was up to your expectations..We,ll make sure theirs some shampoo next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taunton
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Taunton
Travelodge Taunton
#8 of 17 in Taunton
182 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
6.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Wellington Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Taunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Taunton

Property: Days Inn Taunton
Address: Roadchef Motorway Svc Taunton Deane Motorway Services Area M5 | M5 Southbound Trullm, Taunton TA3 7PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Taunton 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Taunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Taunton Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing