We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Days Inn Taunton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Days Inn Taunton
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Flackwell Heath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Located at Taunton Deane Services southbound on the M 5. Friendly reception from Jayne.
A former Premier Inn with 39 rooms. My large double family room had a comfortable 4’6” bed, plus a sofa bed. There was a long worktop and a good room heater. Very good TV with all Freeview channels. 2 night stay cost £62.
A very good quality cooked breakfast is on offer for £4.50 just 5 miles away at Tesco, Taunton, from 8 am. Head north from Junction 26 on the A 38, it is on the left at the corner of Castle Street.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radartrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicodemus11, General Manager at Days Inn Taunton, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. Its great to read that someone finds us *5 stars...it shows us that we are doing our job properly, our staff welcoming, and the facilities we provide are what guests want. Thanks again for your kind review. Hopefully you,ll stay with us again when your next in the Somerset area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    120
    98
    57
    32
See reviews for
110
126
34
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in total with a one night break in between, The hotel was being used to accommodate fire crews responding to the flooding and I know the Manager Nick and his staff were under a lot of pressure meeting numerous demands for beds from many different people. That said they were courteous, proffessional and always had a smile.The room was clean and had all the necessary facilities. Despite the worst weather with howling gale force winds I still managed 7 hours of uninterupted sleep in a very comfortable bed. If the service I received was delivered in such cicumstances I have no doubt anyone in normal times would be more than satisfied to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GimletEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicodemus11, General Manager at Days Inn Taunton, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review. Its really great to receive 5 stars. We really do appreciate it

Yes it was a very difficult time in January with all the local floods, but we were happy to help the emergency crews who had come from all over the country to assist the local community.

It was difficult at times, but we are glad you felt we did a good job in keeping you comfortable during your stay.

Thank you again, and we hope to see you again when the weather is just a little better .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

To be honest, I was never sure about staying at a motorway hotel, but after this stay, I would definitely come back. The staff were friendly and quick to book me in. Bit disconcerting with the security grill down over the reception area when you walk in, but that might just be the time of day I checked in.

The room was clean quiet and I barely heard a sound all night. The parking was close to the door (a relief in this weather) The staff booked my car into the computer so there was no worries about parking tickets.

Didn't get offered any discount vouchers for food, but was aware about them after reading up on the website. But for those who didn't know, they might have lost out and paid full price in the main eating areas.

The one thing that stopped me giving this hotel full 5 stars was the shower. The shower rail was the old fashioned straight variety and gave you very little room to have a shower without getting stuck to the curtain! A minor issue, but annoying when you're getting in late and wanting a relaxing shower.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southernyacht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicodemus11, General Manager at Days Inn Taunton, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to give a review of our hotel, its much appreciated.

Its wonderful to know we can do things right, and offer you just what you needed .

I,m glad you were aware of the discounted food voucher..its available to all who stay at the hotel, and gives you an extra £2.50 worth of food free of charge ..just a little extra .(alongside free Wi-Fi, and free parking) to offer our guests.

Hopefully we will see you again soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

A really nice place to stay. Greeted by friendly helpful staff who answered all my queries and made me feel very welcome. Good location right on the M5. Also located right next door is service station for fuel, and many food outlets and places to stock up on travel supplies. Parking is available onsite. The room was clean and bright and the bed was really comfortable so provided a good nights sleep. An welcome oasis for a weary traveller on the M5. Would stay again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you have lots of luggage ask for a ground floor room. No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicodemus11, General Manager at Days Inn Taunton, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us a 5* review, its great to know we are doing things right and have the facilities which guests require to enjoy their stay.
We hope you enjoyed your stay in the U.K, and please come and stay with us again if you visit the Southwest again, as I think you found its a great place to stop over to see the sights of Somerset, Devon, and Cornwall
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camelford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

first time staying at a Days Inn, greeted with a warm welcome, was a pleasant surprise to see mature staff! They were very helpful and friendly, my room was clean, comfortable and well equipped. the food at the service station is pricey, as expected, but you can obtain discount vouchers at reception to use in the catering outlet. Location is good- no motorway noise and close to Taunton which has good amenities. would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicodemus11, General Manager at Days Inn Taunton, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thankyou for your 5* review..it does show us we are doing things right and our facilities and customer service are what guests require for a great stay .
I,m happy you found our food voucher deals useful ..every little saving helps, and that includes with food costs at the restaurant.
Thankyou again, and we look forward to your next stay with us. Hopefully we can offer you our wyndhams loyalty card to save you even more on your stays, and offer you early checkins, late check outs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Top marks for easy to find locations,easy to park and hassle free stop overs.I have tried the newest and the not so new but can not fault them for value for money and the above points.Taunton is all of the above,friendly and helpful staff and I would say ideal for a few days or a stopover for other reasons.Clean and comfortable with all that is required for a decent night away and given their locations very peaceful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank france036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicodemus11, General Manager at Days Inn Taunton, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thanyou for your kind review, I,m so glad you found us friendly and helpful here at Days inn..we do feel we are a happy team who try their best to ensure you have a comfortable stay.
Hope fully you will pop in again when you are in the southwest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhayader
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

A superb budget stop over if you are on the way the way to a holiday destination in Devon or Cornwall. The room was spaceous, clean, tidy with all the requirements one can need. It is very quiet and you have a surprising range of food on offer at the restuarants on the service station.

Room Tip: Book with plenty of time in advance to get the best vaue
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicodemus11, General Manager at Days Inn Taunton, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thankyou for your review. Its always great when we have good feedback .
I,m glad you booked in plenty of time to obtain our best deals...always a great way of saving on the cost of a stay.
Hopefully you,ll stop with us again if your down this way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taunton
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Taunton
Travelodge Taunton
#8 of 17 in Taunton
191 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Wellington Somerset Hotel
3.0 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Taunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Taunton

Property: Days Inn Taunton
Address: Roadchef Motorway Svc Taunton Deane Motorway Services Area M5 | M5 Southbound Trullm, Taunton TA3 7PF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Taunton 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Taunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Taunton Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing