We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient, shame about the wifi”
Review of Days Inn Taunton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Taunton
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Guiseley
1 review
“convenient, shame about the wifi”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Conveniently situated, beds comfortable, husband treated me to slap up meal in McDonalds - a short walk away! Staff on desk super friendly and helpful. BUT the wifi connection was terrible and I eventually gave up trying to get pages to load.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Barbara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicodemus11, General Manager at Days Inn Taunton, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hello, and thankyou for the praise you've given our hotel..we do pride ourselves on being friendly and helpful ..
I,m sorry you had problems with our free Wi-Fi..we don't usually.

Hopefully if you stay again it will be fine, we look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    118
    94
    55
    31
See reviews for
109
120
31
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Witham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here en route to Cornwall so was only looking for a cheap, clean bed for the night. It was cheap, only costing £30 for a family room and resonably clean, although the room was tired and needs updating. Would stay again if at the same price, otherwise there are better hotels in the area.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DogWeasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicodemus11, General Manager at Days Inn Taunton, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thankyou for your review,

We do like to provide affordable hotel accommodation., which with the ample free parking on site , we do our best to help keep costs down..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed for 1 night on our way to Cornwall. Excellent stop over. My husband has reduced mobility so we were given the accessibility room on ground floor. The only problem was the shower was in a bath so not accessible at all. (A shower can found in the attached service station in the disability toilet but you will still need to be able to step into it ) the beds were comfortable and the towels white and fluffy. Despite being on the motorway services there was very little disturbance from traffic. We ate at a Fresh Food cafe in the services building. This made an refreshing change from the usual junk food outlets also situated within the building.

Room Tip: Tell them what you want and if not what you wanted be polite and ask to be moved
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norden34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicodemus11, General Manager at Days Inn Taunton, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel..

I amm glad that your stay was to your requirements and that you had an excellent nights sleep.

I see you mentioned that you ate at the "Fresh food company" restaurant? I,m glad you enjoyed it and do hope that you took advantage of our special promotion meal voucher which for £7.50 allows you to have £10 worth of food! (and kids under 10 eat free of course)
Hopefully the next time you stay at our Days Inn it will be just as satisfactory for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

stayed here for 1 night although we booked for 2.
the room was clean the staff were excellent.
The problem was the heat.
We booked for 2 nights and ended up only staying for 1 night.
When we arrived the room we were given was at the front of the hotel and had the full afternoon sun shining in.
It was incredibly warm for the rest of the day and through the night, keeping the window open all night meant you were kept awake by the noise of the motorway.
The 2nd day we kept the curtains shut all day and when we returned the room felt cooler, but as soon as you opened them the heat built up again and became unbearable.
Unfortunatley this was to much and we came home.
This is in no way the hotels fault and when I stay again I will certainly ask for a room at the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: rooms at the front can become very hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen186390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicodemus11, General Manager at Days Inn Taunton, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear guest..thankyou for your review..

I,m glad to hear that we are doing things right, but due to the fantastic weather you found it uncomfortable.
Its unfortunately a hard issue to resolve, but what I can help with is the provision of fans which are available if required.

Hopefully you,ll have a more comfortable night when you stay again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hotel was spotlessly clean on entering & so it continued, the room was equally as clean , having driven East Anglia we were tired , the bed was comfortable , extra pillows available . TV tea & coffee facilities in room free wifi .. The shower & bathroom were well fitted & clean .. The location has also got McDonalds, WH Smiths , Costa etc,, can recommend .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacR56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicodemus11, General Manager at Days Inn Taunton, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thankyou for your review..Its great to hear that everything was perfect.
Good to hear that you liked the facilities on site such as Mcdonalds and Costa..hopefully you took advantage of our money saving meal vouchers to use at the Fresh food company restaurant to make your stay even more affordable.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night after seeing Rod Stewart. On arrival the reception staff,just the one, advised we could not check in until 3pm, OK we were aware of that, but the attitude was very off hand. We then asked about a taxi to Taunton, no help just handed a typed sheet. Could we have some info about leaving the car in the car park, when was told why are you not checking in. We advised we would do so after the concert so then was told to the details would have to be entered so we would be ok but so off handed.
When we arrived back around 1045,again one receptionist and really did not know what was happening. It says restaurants next door, well at that time it is a McDonald's or nothing.
Room Ok but it is looking tired

Room Tip: Try to get one away from the motorway side, less noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicodemus11, General Manager at Days Inn Taunton, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thanyou for your reveiw

I,m sorry that our checkin time is 3pm, we have to clean the rooms as our previous guests leave. We do try and accomodate guests checking in early, but on the day of your visit we had a hotel full of Rod Stewart fans who wished the same which unfortunately was impossible, our apologies.

Again the majority of guests wanted taxis (before they checked in ) as the road network was affected by road closures due to the concert,, the taxi services were at almost fully booked, and so we produced a list of all the local firms to help guests find any available, and we tried to advise all queries with helpful advice to get to the concert.

We did try our best, but on these occasions it does pay to plan in advance to avoid last minute travel problems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taunton hotels

Hereford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Although difficult to find and to access, the gentleman on reception was extremely helpful. Like all hotel family rooms we had to request bed linen, crockery, towels and tooth mug for 3rd occupant. We were disadvantaged in staying on one of the hottest nights of the year and there was no air con and impossible to sleep with noise of motorway traffic. Long queues at all service station food outlets meant no time for breakfast. Standard of room very good apart from some decoration needed in bathroom. Quality beds.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicodemus11, General Manager at Days Inn Taunton, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to review our hotel. I,m glad you found us acceptable, even on a very very busy time.
Hopefully you will stay with us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taunton
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Taunton
Travelodge Taunton
#8 of 17 in Taunton
182 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
6.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Wellington Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Taunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Taunton

Property: Days Inn Taunton
Address: Roadchef Motorway Svc Taunton Deane Motorway Services Area M5 | M5 Southbound Trullm, Taunton TA3 7PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Taunton 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Taunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Taunton Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing