We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Tempura Prawns Ever!!!”
Review of The Globe

The Globe
Ranked #64 of 257 Restaurants in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Pokhara, Nepal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best Tempura Prawns Ever!!!”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My father lives in Milverton so we tend to eat there once a year and it is by far one of my favourite places to eat in the Taunton area. They always have a great menu (specials regularly change), get drinks and the atmosphere is lovely in there.
Adele and her family run a great little restaurant and I will definitely return for some more Tempura Prawns!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrissy112244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    37
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food and hospitality”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I have eaten in The Globe on numerous occasions and have always found the food and the service to be of an extremely high level. I particularly enjoy the 'themed' food evenings which are great value for money, where they serve delicious food in different styles from around the globe using local ingredients.

Recently I celebrated my 40th birthday there and was so impressed with how helpful and accomodating everyone was. Everyone commented afterwards on the outstanding quality of the food and the service, not to mention the organisation that must have gone into serving a perfectly cooked three course meal to such a large group of people. It really was a fantastic and memorable evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank racbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiveliscombe
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Visited here last night with 2 friends. It was very busy with a lovely warm atmosphere. The menu was very interesting service was good and the food and presentation was excellent..very good value for very good food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
97 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Dreadful Accommodation”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The restaurant is adequate but very expensive. I think it has an undeservedly high reputation because as far as I can gather, there is very little competition in the area.
Stayed overnight and would not do so again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 380Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and a warm welcome”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Four of us plus my grandson met here for lunch as it was half way between our respective homes. All in all it was a great experience. The menu was interesting, the service good and the food excellent. We will be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Empireboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Globe also viewed

Wiveliscombe, Somerset
Wiveliscombe, Somerset
 
Hillfarrance, Taunton
 

Been to The Globe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing