We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blissfully peaceful and lovely food”
Review of Blue Ball Inn

Blue Ball Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taunton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Ball Inn
Ranked #28 of 55 Taunton B&B and Inns
St Austell, Cornwall
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Blissfully peaceful and lovely food”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

What a great find! Although we only stayed for one night, it was well worth the ten mile drive from the motorway to this lovely, peaceful spot. We had a warm welcome and were delighted with our accommodation in "Pheasant Cottage". Dinner was a feast, with excellent food, wine and very friendly service. At breakfast we sat by the end picture window watching the wildlife, the only sound that of birds singing. A lovely stay, and we will definitely return for longer next time.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maxigran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    7
    1
    5
    1
See reviews for
11
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Witney, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We found The Blue Ball Inn by total chance from an internet search for pubs on The Quantocks - and I'm so pleased that we did. I grew up in Taunton but had never been to the Blue Ball until this trip. We were looking for a place to stay near the hills so that we could walk on the Saturday and Sunday and had just the most perfect time. We stayed in Stag Cottage and ate in the restaurant both the nights that we were in Somerset - food great - Vegetarian Husband tricky to feed but happy with menu choices. Stag Cottage fab. Most of all we liked the fact that whatever time you showed up and however hot and tired you were from walking or scrubbed-up for the evening - the welcome by all of The Blue Ball team was the same and faultless. Having found this place we plan to return as soon as we are able.

Room Tip: As the Blue Ball is located in the heart of rural Somerset any of the rooms would be perfect - no s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janpulford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stumbled upon this gem of a place and how glad we did! Superb food, great accommodation and faultless hospitality! We will most certainly be back!

Room Tip: Stag cottage has the most wonderful roll top bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed and ate here last night having travelled through quiet country lanes over the Quantocks to get there. A warm welcome greeted us plus some excellent local beer and cider. We had a very good dinner, and then joined a regular drinker at the bar for a night cap and setting the world to rights. A good combination of quality restaurant and local pub in a unique setting. Stag and Pheasant Cottages were warm and comfortable, and after a splendid breakfast overlooking the countryside, we had a lovely walk up the lane to look at the view and the lambs. We'll definately be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem equally good and well furnished although Stag is unusual as the bathroom is above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Stayed and ate here last weekend for 2 nights as a treat for my partners birthday - and what a treat it was! Stag Cottage, as mentioned by an earlier review, is gorgeous - the perfect romantic get-a-way! The bar and restaraunt superb with excellent staff and amazing food - the whole experience could not have been better! And all at a very reasonable cost - I have paid a lot more for a lot worse elsewhere!

The location and atmosphere is great with a really friendly bar of locals adding to the enjoyment

I cannot thank Kieran, Hugo and those hiding below in the kitchen enough for an amazing weekend! If you are thinking of staying here - do! You wont be disappointed! Top marks for a top weekend!

Room Tip: We stayed in Stag Cottage - could not have been better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We ate here last year, and promised ourselves that we'd come back for a stay.

The Stag Cottage room was brilliant. This and the really reasonable price meant that it surpassed our expectations.

The ale was well kept, and there is a good choice of wine.

Thinking we'd only be staying for a main, the variety and choice of the menu had us drawn into the full three courses. And the food was everything we remembered it to be.

A final mention to Hugo, whose charm and unassuming nature added to our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny80_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed here early August and I forgot to review. Used to visit The Blue Ball when it was a pub and later a restaurant and have many fond memories of family outings over the years. It was strange to stay in a room which we had once eaten dinner in but the conversion is good - albeit a small problem with the shower the weekend we stayed.
Food was really delicious - could not resist starters AND puddings - and a good well-priced wine list (plus 'dangerous' cider!) The welcome and service was delightful - and of course the setting nestled in this little corner of The Quantocks - a real treat for us city-dwellers to stay in an historic thatched cottage.
Thank you Kieran & team.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
4.0 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hartwood House
Hartwood House
#11 of 55 in Taunton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
3.5 mi away
Yallands Farmhouse
Yallands Farmhouse
#3 of 55 in Taunton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
New Barn Cottage B&B
New Barn Cottage B&B
#27 of 55 in Taunton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
11.2 mi away
Frog Street Farmhouse
Frog Street Farmhouse
#1 of 55 in Taunton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fitzhead Inn
Fitzhead Inn
#5 of 55 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Ball Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ball Inn

Property: Blue Ball Inn
Address: High St | Triscombe, Taunton TA4 3HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are few pubs these days that don't serve food, but how many go the extra yard? The Blue Ball has earned an enviable reputation as one of Somerset's finest pub restaurants through a combination of traditional dishes with a modern twist, an emphasis on freshness and seasonality, and an insistance on using locally sourced ingredients from farmers, growers and merchants who care as much about the quality and welfare of their produce as we do. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Ball Inn Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing