We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best find ever!”
Review of Blue Ball Inn

Blue Ball Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taunton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Ball Inn
Ranked #25 of 54 Taunton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Fantastic place, beautiful scenery, helpful and friendly staff who couldn't do enough for us. Every course was amazing and you were offered to try the local beer. The icing on the cake for us was Alex James' cheese! Would recommend to anyone. A****

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank WooHoo11xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Blue Ball Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

Finally got to make a overnight stay booking at this great little Quantock Pub. We have had meals here before when out walking and always promised ourselves an overnight stay which we finally got around to doing in our busy lives. We live in Somerset and this was a great place to go for a local night away.

The pub is best accessed from the main road A358 road on the South side of the Quantock Hills. Sat Navs are always best to be diverted onto the main road. Other routes are generally, along very rural track / road routes. (Suicide Lane reference in other reviews).

The pub website is a great place to see what is on offer http://www.blueballinn.info

We had the Dinner / B&B package which was great vale for money considering the level of service provided and quality of the food.

The evening meal was delicious, home cooked and prepared by hand (no microwaved warm ups here). The pub / restaurant was warm, friendly and other guests friendly. The waiter was very friendly, prompt and helpful with the menu. I have subsequently be told that he had received specific spiteful comments on Trip Advisor about his appearance (presumably his ear studs and long hair) - Well we thought we would put folk right on this - Yes he does have long hair and some ear studs but he is a very pleasant, quiet, professional young man who is well presented, and a credit to the Blue Ball.

Stag Cottage was lovely. It was warm, clean (obviously previous reviews have been acted upon - Well done), comfortable. The bedroom was on the ground floor with a half spiral staircase to the bath / shower and toilet. Very quaint.

Breakfast was top grade.

Staff all wonderful from the boss, bar staff and waiter. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

After a somewhat perilous (but scenic) journey down a road we were later informed was called 'suicide lane' we arrived at the homely looking Blue Ball Inn. Kieran the owner showed us round, and offered to drive us to the function and back later that evening- very helpful given aforementioned suicide lane. This level of service and attention continued through the whole weekend brilliantly. With great food from the pub (the ruby beef is a must), a clean and well presented room, and in a lovely part of the country, we had very little to complain about. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank JROB1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Drinks and dinner very good indeed, very high quality food and great beers, good wine selection.

Breakfast very good too, wonderful sausage, Bacon etc. cheap bread / toast only let down.

Informal but good service in the main a few minor issues but overall very good.

Stayed in Stag cottage which is great but a little bit of TLC and a damn good clean required.

That said the accommodation was comfortable and warm and the towels / bed lined very clean and crisp.

Thanks to Kieran and his team for a great stay, very likely to return at some point.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MikeEdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed over the bank holiday this is a beautiful location and a lovely pub.
The food and service was excellent great breakfast too.
I hate to be negative as we had a great weekend but there is a great need for a good cleaner.
Our room was lovely large character bathroom and big bedroom with feature fireplace beautiful in fact!
But I could not say that it was clean our bed was clean crisp bedding no complaint there, beyond that it needs a good clean so sorry but if its not dealt with soon it can only get worse.
It very easy to get complaisant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elmofud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

A converted barn?
No ground floor windows so wasnt sure if open when we pulled up. Pushing the door open and walking up the wooden stairs you walk into a beautiful ye olde pub with wooden beams and a view of the hills. Staff were nice. One girl was putting up with two extremely snobby women complaining about their spritzers.. clearly very bored ladies with nothing better to do but the lady waiting on them kept smiling! That shows very good customer service!!!

I have put the location as 'excellent' - it is not easy to get to. But once there its worth it, at the end of a country lane. The location is excellent for the atmosphere rather than easy to get to..

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nadine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We have just come back from a trip to Devon, staying for a couple of nights at the Blue Ball Inn at Triscombe, a little hamlet right in the countryside not far from Taunton. What a wonderful little gem!
A lovely room, with all the little comforts you need. The staff were welcoming, helpful, knowledgable and friendly. The restaurant had an excellent menu and the food was as good as the menu suggested it would be. It's not cheap but you definitely get what you pay for, the beer's pretty good too!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank JinkySolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taunton
6.3 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
6.4 mi away
Langaller Manor House
Langaller Manor House
#2 of 54 in Taunton
158 reviews
3.5 mi away
Yallands Farmhouse
Yallands Farmhouse
#3 of 54 in Taunton
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hartwood House
Hartwood House
#10 of 54 in Taunton
108 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fitzhead Inn
Fitzhead Inn
#6 of 54 in Taunton
131 reviews
5.6 mi away
No. 71
No. 71
#14 of 54 in Taunton
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Ball Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ball Inn

Address: High St | Triscombe, Taunton TA4 3HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Taunton
Price Range: £75 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are few pubs these days that don't serve food, but how many go the extra yard? The Blue Ball has earned an enviable reputation as one of Somerset's finest pub restaurants through a combination of traditional dishes with a modern twist, an emphasis on freshness and seasonality, and an insistance on using locally sourced ingredients from farmers, growers and merchants who care as much about the quality and welfare of their produce as we do. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Ball Inn Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing