We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent museum”

The Museum of Somerset
Ranked #1 of 42 things to do in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent museum”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Really interesting with accessible exhibits. Great for kids and free entry plus a nice cafe. Well worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachj44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    170
    16
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Something to be proud of!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Had a great couple of hours with my daughter and granddaughters. This museum is something Somerset can be truly proud of.
A well designed route takes you through the various time eras with interesting exhibits in an historic castle. The younger ones are well catered for with activities and the chance to dress up. My little divas obviously took advantage of this opportunity!
Something this good for free is exceptional these days.
I will be returning to spend some more time alone to digest more of this wonderful attraction.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chunksnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well Done Taunton”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

There are not many cultural place to visit in Taunton, and when they reopend the museum I had to take my granddaughters. There are still the things I remember from my childhood visiting the museum - the girls loved the visit and it was magical to pass this on to a future generation. A must for visitors to Somerset.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank WL29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Would have loved to have seen it....”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

However despite Taunton being the County town of Somerset, the summer holidays and a lovely day, what was the problem? Ah, a Sunday! Taunton appears to close on a Sunday so nothing was open. Really cross as we were Dragon hunting and they hadn't even put it in a place that it could be seen.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kythe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Museum of Somerset”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Free ! Nicely laid out and spacious - nice and helpful staff. Very interesting. Impressive Roman exhibition.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DougsJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Museum of Somerset also viewed

 

Been to The Museum of Somerset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing