We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great old fashioned lunch”

County Stores Taunton
Ranked #71 of 256 Restaurants in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great old fashioned lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just love the fact you can have a pot of tea and scrambled egg on toast for lunch here if you feel like it. Cooked lunches, salads and cakes as well, but sometimes it is good to be able to get the type of lunch you might make at home. Staff are always really friendly and helpful.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loves2lunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    53
    22
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We visited in March 10th and we bought £80 worth of goods from the shop , but afterwards I Discoverd my wife , who is Russian and English teacher was purchasing fudge from a Special Fudge and sweets counter had a problem with the woman who was serving there! The shop assistant was impolite to her and when my wife asked for recommendation of sweets, as there was large choice of home nade sweets , she rudly answered that she did not know what my wife liked. My wife then explained what she liked and the reply came back look what you like in a very impolite manner.I appeard at the counter at this time and felt the manner of shop assistant, my wife at this point stopped buying rhe sweets . We bought rest of goods and had tea and myself a coffee that maybe what soured my coffee! The management should sort this assidtants problem out ! I cannot recommend for you to visit this place

Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yeovil
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lunch time blow out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Called in for lunch to find a carvery on the menu. Had a large slice of beef and another of gammon,plus a choice of 10 vegetables on an enormous plate.2 meals plus a large cream filled meringue to share and tea for two--- £21.15!! Bargain . Only drawback was that the vegetables were not piping hot but were all warm. The premises are on the upper floor of a provision store selling lots of locally sourced produce plus a gift shop,worth a visit on its own

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank magwil3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We love County Stores”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

A proper old town store, we'll worth a visit. They really do have everything, and now they have the Post Office too!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Iduna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Director tried to avoid me”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I purchased a carvery meal at lunch time on Saturday, 1st February 2014. There was one lady struggling to serve the carvery and any other food on offer and there was another lady taking the money and also serving the drinks, which entailed making teas, coffees and any other beverage requested. Making these drinks obviously take time and consequently we, together with other customers found ourselves queuing to pay whilst our food was going cold on our plates. I asked if there was anyone else to make the drinks in order to speed things up. I was told that there was nobody else available. Several other customers were complaining amongst themselves. The lady at the counter told me that the owner of the shop was in the store so I requested that he came to see me. I then went to get some cutlery but there was only one knife in the tray which I gave to my husband while I was left trying to eat a roast dinner with just a fork. the restaurant was greatly understaffed. I then spotted someone that I know who works in this restaurant and I asked him to get me the boss. In the meantime the manageress, who happened to be the lady serving the food came to me saying that the owner had asked her to sort it out. I told her that I didn't want to sort it out with her but the owner of the store. By this time the person in question was hiding in the kitchen. Next, the young man that I knew came to me explaining that he had been sent out to try and sort things out but I gave him the same reply that I wanted to speak to the top man. The next thing I discovered that the person I wanted to see had sneaked down the back way to the store downstairs. I went straight down where I found him wandering through the store. I approached him and asked him to confirm that he was the owner of the store. He sheepishly admitted that he was a director. I informed him that I was going back to eat my cold meal but would like to speak to him before I left. He informed that I could speak to the manageress when she finished carving. I told him that he was ultimately responsible for the understaffing and I wanted to speak to him, not his manageress. I am naturally quite loud speaking. He asked me to lower my voice as a lot of customers held the store in high esteem. I told him in that case they had a right to know exactly what kind of service they could expect, especially that the director tries to hide from customers with a grievance. The long and the short is that he was very uncooperative, only concerned that I was embarrassing him in front of customers. He went back in to the restaurant telling me to wait outside in order that other diners would not hear what was going on. That was like a red rag to a bull. I waited briefly, then shouted the length of the restaurant to my husband that we would get our money back and I was banned from entering the restaurant. Obviously all the customers heard. I then went in to continue my complaint with the director. I might add that at this time another customer came to ask him for cutlery, as although some fifteen minutes had passed and the cutlery had still not been replenished. I continued my argument with the director who told me to leave the premises or he would call the police. I told him that I would be the one calling the police if he did not refund my money. Eventually he did refund me for my meal and escorted me off the premises. I admit that I can be loud when aggrieved but this could have been avoided if he had come to see me in the beginning rather than trying to hide. As I told him, he is the director so the buck stops at him. I would like to say that the staff were doing their best in a very difficult condition. They were obviously very stressed, trying to cope with insufficient colleagues. They are probably on minimum wage or little more and are struggling to cope in very difficult conditions, whilst the directors are creaming off the profit. To sum up, a disgusting display by this director.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
12 Thank Nova B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed County Stores Taunton also viewed

 
Taunton, Somerset
Taunton, Somerset
 

Been to County Stores Taunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing