We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unreserved praise for this 5* B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Staplegrove Lodge

Staplegrove Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taunton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Staplegrove Lodge
Ranked #55 of 56 Taunton B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unreserved praise for this 5* B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed here for one night only and we have never felt more welcome, comfortable or better fed in a B&B. Staplegrove Lodge is a large country house, set back off the road in beautiful gardens. From the moment we checked in we felt as though we were there by invitation rather than as paying guests, such was the warmth of our welcome. Our room was large and airy, spotlessly clean, with a comfortable bed and the usual TV and tea tray. The huge bathroom was across the landing but was exclusive to us, and we neither heard nor saw anyone until breakfast. The 'Full English' was freshly cooked and delicious; all dietary requirements catered for, and we enjoyed the company of the other guests aound the breakfast table. Truly a first class stay - and the price is the greatest surprise of all.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed only one night and how we wished we could have stayed longer. Beautiful house, very pleasant & welcoming owners, outstanding location and extremely good value. The 'all english' breakfast was exceptionally good.
We recommend this establishment most heartliy and to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CARDIFF, WALES
Level Contributor
158 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed in a family room on a Saturday night and were really pleased we picked this b&b. Lovely, large room with a four poster bed and a full size single bed for our daughter. Large ensuite bathroom with a good shower and plenty of towels.
Brilliant cooked breakfast, charming, lovely garden and charming and friendly hosts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liss, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

We had a very happy stay. The service was excellent; the food good; our hostess very pleasant and helpful. It was surprisingly quiet. The bed was very comfortable - All this as a very reasonable rate. We would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed for only one night on our way down to Devon. This is a charming period property with tiled floors and period features throughout. Our room was fantastic - I was a little worried when advised our room wasn't ensuite but instead had a private bathroom across the hall - but the bathroom was enormous with a free standing bath and huge walk in shower, it was full of character. I never saw any other guests until breakfast the following morning so had no issues pottering across the corridor to the bathroom, it all felt very quiet and private.

Breakfast was fantastic, lovely full English. The only thing I am not really a fan of is one table for all guests to share at breakfast, as I feel a bit compelled in having to make chit chat with the other guests (otherwise appear rude) and as my busy job involves customer service all day long - on holiday, I like to just spend quiet time with my partner without that added pressure, but that aside our stay was very pleasurable with a lovely comfortable room, great welcoming hosts and a lovely breakfast. (and the pub just down the road is excellent for an evening meal!)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leolady1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Friendly welcome from Kim. Lovely spacious room with good selection of tea etc. Intersting old house with tiled floors and period features. Good FEB. Would certainly visit again

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

They have everything here, even down to hand tissues, and a host of teas coffees and chocolate drinks. A real must and the breakfast is superb.

Room Tip: Just a little out from the town center, ample parking, and a very nice country pub just down the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knottyjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.9 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#10 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
6.2 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel
1.2 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yallands Farmhouse
Yallands Farmhouse
#3 of 56 in Taunton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staplegrove Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staplegrove Lodge

Property: Staplegrove Lodge
Address: Staplegrove Road, Taunton TA2 6PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Taunton
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Staplegrove Lodge Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing