We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good compared to previous visits”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Not as good compared to previous visits”
Reviewed 21 April 2011

This was our 3rd visit to this hotel, and to be honest it will more than likely be our last.

The hotel does seem to have lost its family friendliness and seems more geared to the business traveller now.

On a positive note, we booked early (as during the Easter school holidays) and got a good rate of £79 including breakfast for an executive room. The walk in rate for the same room was £179 which is probably out of most peoples reach, and the executive room is in our opinion nothing special. (room is probably in a better location away from the M5, and a flat screen tv, some water and chocolate, but that's about it.). Holiday Inn do appear to have cut back alot, with high food and drink prices, and no recognition that we were Priority Club members, which seems to be the norm these days when reading other peoples HI reviews. There was also some internal building works going on, but that didn't really affect us.

Also, to charge £5 per hour for wi-fi we feel is a bit mean, perhaps to make it free in the lobby would show some goodwill perhaps ?

The swimming pool was always good, however some areas such as the hot tub were worn, and needed replacing

The room itself was very clean, but compact. With growing children now, I would suggest that the family room would only be suitable for younger smaller children as we did notice how cramped it was on this visit.
Also, the beds were very hard, however the air con worked well.

The morning breakfast was good, with a nice choice of hot and cold foods, with good service.
Overall, a mixed review. I do believe that things at the Holiday Inn are not what they used to be, and if you are not fussed about using the pool, and travelling with family then perhaps stick to the HI Express or Premier Inn.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superhoop68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    239
    124
    51
    47
See reviews for
153
157
31
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cheadle Hulme, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Exactly what you'd expect from a Holiday Inn, clean, comfortable, and quiet. On the edge of a business park, so not a huge deal around it, but there is a Harvester nearby (average) and a well stocked Costcutter attached to a petrol station. Very cheap rooms too - we paid £45 for the night.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oafcmetty2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TNTSSGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Tuesday, 26 April 2011




Dear Very convenient for motorway

Thank you for taking the time to feed back to us following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn, Taunton. It is always a pleasure to read such kind comments.

I have been passed these comments, particularly regarding the levels of customer service you received onto my entire team as I sure they will be as proud of them as I am.

Please do let me know when you are next visiting the hotel for a business trip as it would be great to personally welcome you to the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future and if in the meantime I can be of help or assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kindest regards




Margaret Coffey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Comfortable hotel. Clean rooms improved just before I left as the old TVs were replaced with new flatscreens. Friendly reception. Only downside was the room service. Waited for over an hour. I was called several times from which I gathered that the food had been delivered to the wrong room. Then they had rung around to find who had ordered it. When it arrived it was inedible. Apart from that one night everything else was fine other than the VERY expensive cable internet connection in room.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spitfire24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2011

i liked the staff and i liked the straitforwardness. its obviously not a splurge but its clean and reliable. no problems.

Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mingvase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TNTSSGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
Dear I liked it

Thank you for taking the time to feed back to us following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn, Taunton. It is always a pleasure to read such kind comments.

I have been passed these comments, particularly regarding the levels of customer service you received onto my entire team as I sure they will be as proud of them as I am.

Please do let me know when you are next visiting the hotel for a business trip as it would be great to personally welcome you to the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future and if in the meantime I can be of help or assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kindest regards




Margaret Coffey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester UK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

I was really disappointed with this hotel,found the reception staff very stand offish almost to the point of arrogance and believe me if Holiday Inn think they can continue to rely on their former reputation then they need a wake up call because to me and judging by the Taunton Hotel they have fallen behind the standards set by Premier Travel Inns (which are over half the price less per room per night ).
It's great have HD TV in your room but I would rather have a cheery smile in reception rather than a sneer just because I arrived in a Hi Viz coat and jeans rather than a designer suit!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank china_blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TNTSSGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, 24 March 2011
Dear No Soul

I am sorry to hear about your check in experience at the Holiday Inn, Taunton. Please could you contact me direct on my mobile 07736746033 to discuss this in further details.

Kind regards

Margaret Coffey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taunton hotels

Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We stayed for one night this weekend at the Holiday Inn, having never stayed in this particular chain before.

The room was an adequate size (it was a family room, and there was plenty of room for three adults, four would have been a push, but do-able) and it was clean. In the bathroom, the shower was a lovely power shower and the usual complimentary bath foam and shampoo/shower gel were provided.

A trouser press, and an iron and ironing board were provided also. We didn't try the trouser press, but the iron was rubbish.

There is a bar downstairs in the hotel in the lobby, and there was a swimming pool, and a gym that looked well equipped.

The rooms were a bit noisy - there was scaffolding outside our window, and building work going on whilst we were there. Also, you could hear the nearby M5. Perhaps a triple glaze would have been better, given the proximity to the motorway. Also, although the mattress was a dream, the pillows were a bit hard, and the duvet was quite thin, and with the weather being so cold this weekend, I was a bit chilly during the night, so I can't recommend it for sleep quality.

Distance to Taunton town centre is good though - about ten minutes in the car. The hotel is two minutes off the M5 motorway, and a taxi into Taunton town centre at 7pm on Saturday night cost us £11, and £15 back at 12.30-1am.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzQ26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

I was pleasently surprised by the Taunton Holiday inn, having been disappointed with other hotels in the same chain. Location is good for the motorway, but without a car you'll need taxis as the hotel is about 10 minutes drive from the town centre.

Typical modern business hotel design. Large open bar / reception / meeting area, separate restarurant. Rooms fine, clean and standard Holiday Inn style. I had a quiet sleep, which is always welcome. Hotel has a leisure facility / pool, but I didn't use them this visit.

Restaurant and bar are somewhat pricy, but the food was good and served with a smile!

Staff were all very friendly and helpful - it really makes a difference.

Overall - recommended

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Border_Collie2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
2.0 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
814 reviews
4.6 mi away
Days Inn Taunton
Days Inn Taunton
#15 of 17 in Taunton
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
651 reviews
3.1 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
140 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25

Property: Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Address: Deane Gate Avenue, Taunton TA1 2UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Taunton in Somerset is ideally located for both business and leisure guests, conveniently located at J25 off the M5, on the edge of Taunton near the Somerset County Cricket Ground. Taunton, nestling on the banks of the river Tone, is the gateway to Devon and half way house to Cornwall. Bridgwater, Wellington and other parts of Somerset are all within easy reach. Nearby attractions are Dartmoor and Exmoor with 14 areas of natural beauty and over 600 miles of dramatic coastline. The Holiday Inn Taunton has a Spirit club with indoor 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, solarium and fully equipped gym.This Somerset Hotel has 99 air conditioned bedrooms including wheelchair accessible rooms and 24 hour room service. Our large lounge area, which serves a wide selection of food and beverages, is ideal for informal meetings or just relaxing. (Under 12s Stay & Eat Free) With 12 conference rooms that can accommodate from 2 - 280 delegates in purpose built air conditioned rooms with high speed internet access suitable for meetings, training, presentations, banquets, weddings, reunions & parties. We also have external team build areas. Holiday Inn Taunton has ample free parking and is suitable for coaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Taunton m5, Jct. 25 Hotel Taunton
Taunton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing